We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Reviewed 8 August 2008

I was looking for a place to stay in the area. Some of the reviews scared me a bit, but other nearby hotels I was considering had even more terrible reviews, so I ended up choosing this one. I think remodeling is done. The bathroom looks all new, a new tub and granite shower walls. My room was pretty spacious. No 5 star hotel, but I was pretty happy with the hotel. There are so many places to eat in 5 min drive. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jackflash777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2009

We thank you for your kind comments. Our renovations have now been completed and we welcome you to visit us again as we have made several changes to our breakfast option to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2007

My stay at the Comfort Inn Irvine was the worst hotel stay I have ever had. I arrived at the hotel at the correct check in time, but was told the room would not be ready for an hour. Two hours later, we were allowed to check in.

The bathroom was filthy. I could tell that somebody had used the restroom between the time it was cleaned and the time we checked in. The bathroom was falling apart. The air conditioner was also noisy.

There were construction workers repairing the hotel right outside of our room. They began work before 8AM and were very noisy.

I sent a detailed complaint to corporate Comfort Inn and received no response, although they decided to add me to their advertising mailing list.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank Capn_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2009

My sincere apology in regards to your stay experience. Our inn has completed its renovations and many guests are praising the look of our new rooms. Please be assured your comments are taken seriously and we have implemented steps to assure workers do not begin early in the mornings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2007

I have stayed at this hotel and agree with some of the comments. It is in a great location, the staff is friendly and they are trying to make things better. This place has been under construction for over a year. AGAIN A WHOLE YEAR. I have been a frequent visitor for the past two years and have stayed during the construction. I was just told my rate is going up by $30 thats a little too much in my opinion for the work they have done. This area is an hard on the pocket book and this place was one of the last few hotels where I could get a room for under $80 and get air miles.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank jadookissne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2009

We thank you for staying with us over the years and appreciate your business. Our renovation was to last a shorter period, however it lasted longer than expected since more was added. Our renovations are completed and we thank you for loyalty over this period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on Tuesday and Wednesday, August 22 & 23. We stayed in room 108. During the evening of Tuesday, August 22, we were out at the pool, sitting with our feet in the 'hot tub'. As we were sitting there we saw a large rat run along the inside perimeter of the main pool and jump in and then out of the pool and run back along the inside wall where it quickly scurried back into the landscaping. We notified the desk clerk the next day and then saw another rat run from underneath some stairs to the corner of the building near the ice and vending machines. We notified the hotel manager (Kevin ?) on the morning of the 24th as we checked out. He apologized but basically said the hotel sits near a creek and that 'wildlife' is to be expected in the area. I'm sorry but rats are
not considered 'wildlife'. They are rodents that should not be tolerated anywhere near the property. He also stated that they contract the Orkin company for pest control but obviously they have not been effective in rodent control.

My wife is a travel agent and has the opportunity to recommend this hotel to other travelers. Under the circumstances she will certainly not be doing that and told the manager this. I would have expected the manager to offer some sort of compensation for our disgusting experience with their other 'tenants' but he was very guarded in that respect and offered nothing. We told him we would also be giving his
hotel as low a rating as possible on the Internet in an effort to warn
other travelers of their rodent problem. Kevin should have been extremely concerned and very apologetic. He was not.

I think under these circumstances that full compensation for our 2 night's stay was in order but he obviously felt otherwise as he offered nothing. I wrote a letter of complaint to the sales manager of this particula property and have heard nothing. I noted in my letter that if there was no compensation in the offing that I would have no alternative but to forward my letter to the Choice International Hotels and the Irvine Chamber of Commerce and let them handle this situation.

I also informed them that room 108 is in dire need of renovation. The decor is stark, the stopper in the sink drain did not work properly and the towels are threadbare. I travel almost every other week and my stay in that hotel was not a pleasant one and I would never consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SAFETYGEEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2009

We thank you for your comments. We have a service that does our pest control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

I stayed here for 4 nights - on business. Many from my company also stayed here. The motel - it is a motel - is in the process of updating some of the rooms - v e r y s l o w l y -. I did not have an updated room. There is no closet - you hang your clothes by the sink. Over the tub was a light fixture with an oversized florescent or halogen light hanging out the botton. Nothing about the room is appealing to the eye or to your comfort. When I arrived the tv didn't work, but it was fixed right away. Later, the toilet stopped flushing and overflowed (thankfully I was on the ground level and the floor had a drain near the toilet ) - but it was also fixed right away. There is nothing a tourist would enjoy close to the motel - such as shops, restaurants (other than a Carl's Jr and a Coco's) so you need to have a car. The so-called breakfast was A W F U L! It has been a long time since I've seen such an unpleasant assortment of food. Yuck. We would have moved to another hotel if we could have found one in the area that had a room available.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2009

We completed an extensive makeover at the inn. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and have redesigned all guest rooms and bath areas including all public areas. Please come visit to see the new changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bakersfield
1
Reviewed 18 April 2006

Ive been visiting the area for the past five years and always stay at this place. My daughter is moving and I wanted to thank the staff for being so nice to me all the time I visit. The rooms need a little work, but the service makes up for it. They all know me by first name because I visit three times a year. I will miss my friends here and I am sure you will make new ones. Thank you so much!!

best

carol

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2009

Carol we appreciate your kind comments, many of us have been working here for years and appreciate loyal guests such as yourself. We hope you have found new friends during your travels and remember we are always here to make you feel comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 16 September 2005

Our office are around the corner from the Comfort. We have put people here for over a year and they seem know what they are doing. There rates are reasonable and the service is good. Last we hosted someone from China where he did not speak fluent english. The Comfort Inn had a staff member speak Manderine which made his staff enjoyable plus helped us out when we needed to translate some items. I have thanked them for assisting us and going above what they should do.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2009

We thank you for your comments. We have completed our make up and I assure you that your guests will enjoy our new modern conveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
1.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
661 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum

Address: 23061 Avenida de La Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly designed rooms with two queen beds and all the modern conveniences in our Laguna Hills Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Irvine Spectrum Hotel Laguna Hills
Comfort Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing