We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good nights sleep but had one issue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good nights sleep but had one issue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is your standard Courtyard. However, since I am an elite member, I was upgraded to their corner room that is a one bedroom suite. The lobby area has been renovated to meet the new Courtyard standards.

The issue I had was I left my Bluetooth headset in the room when I checked out. I called the next evening when I realized I left my headset to see if it was found. I called back on Monday and was told my headset was not found. I know for a fact, I left it on the lamp stand next to the couch, but somehow it was not found.

I guess it is partly my fault, but this is not the first time I have stayed at a Marriott and left a Bluetooth headset behind that was not found.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSquar3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Please know that I have passed along your comments about your bluetooth to our lost and found. They are looking again through their items and we will contact you back if the until is found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
41
28
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was a bad experience before I could even check in. I booked it on line and made my reservation under the Federal Government rate which according to Marriott policy, covers active duty military and their dependents on leisure travel. Upon check in the manager was looking over the clerks shoulder as we checked in and proceeded to take my military dependent ID, look it over, then tell me I did not qualify for the rate. She sat there at 9pm arguing with me while my children stood and watched and waited to get in the room after a long day of cross country travel. The manager continued to argue with me and was downright rude before finally letting me have the rate. I would have left if not for my tired children. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again and will warn others away from it. There is no reason a manager should ever argue with a guest, especially when we got to our room and it smelled bad and was dingy. The hotel did not have Disney channel like every other Marriott property I have stayed at and like since I know what I am going to get when traveling with my children. It is hard enough being a military family, but when I travel with my children when my husband in deployed and serving this country, I don't expect to be so disrespected by a hotel manager.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Wendy,

I am so sorry for the experience that you had while at our hotel. Please know that we have both active and retired military associates on our staff and we are very proud of that. I would very much appreciate it if you could call me directly so that we can discuss this personally and to also go over Marriott's policy regarding the eligability for use of the government rate. I look forward to speaking with you and to getting this issue corrected to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laguna Hills hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A nice stay considering the cost of the room in the area you are in. If you have a car, and are ok with driving 10-15 mins to get to where ever you need to get to, it is perfect. It's not a hotel that you would have a romantic stay at, but I assume that's obvious if you are at a Courtyard Marriott. Price is the key factor for satisfaction here.

Smaller room but recently updated in that Courtyard Marriott fashion. Can't complain, when the parking and internet is free this close to Irvine, Costa Mesa, and Laguna Hills.

One downside is location right off of the freeway. Ask for a room facing away from the freeway. The 5 freeway can get noisy at times. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the 5 freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EP348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I tried to stay at this property. When I checked in, the room wasn't clean. I was offered a second, and then third room. These weren't up to standard either. I was upset with the poor housekeeping. I then requested to checkout, and cancel my stay. The hotel refused to refund me for the night, even though I didn't spend the night!
There are no managers on the property on the weekends or during the evening hours. If a problem occurs, you are left to deal with a front desk employee.
I spoke to the General Manager on the next available business day. He mentioned that he went to check the rooms (two days later after it was obviously cleaned!) and didn't find anything. Apparently that means that I was wrong.
I'm a platinum member with Marriott and this was an upsetting experience. The staff at this property are rude. They have no problem ripping off customers or Marriott platinum members.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frquentravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
486 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent two nights at the Courtyard over the Thanksgiving weekend. The last time we were at this hotel, the first floor was undergoing a complete renovation and it was a real mess. The lobby area is now complete and very nice!! There are computers for guest use and a café, with lots of seating if you just want to hang out.

Our room was very nice and extremely clean. We had a two room suite that was very comfortable with a tv in each room. The internet worked great. Unfortunately there are no restaurants close enough to walk to, but the hotel is just down the street from the Laguna Hills Mall which has many restaurants nearby.

Next time in the area we would definitely stay at the Courtyard again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We hope you had a great Thanksgiving and we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed there overnight while attending the Laguna Beach Festival of the Arts, which is about a 15 minute ride down the road. We liked it because it's out of the summer crowds in Laguna Beach. Nice accommodations; the beds were comfortable, rooms clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope you had a great time at the Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 days for work. Room was clean, bed was comfortable had 4 pillows and wifi worked great. Lobby has a small Bristo to get coffee and an egg sandwich which is all I need.

Service was good, just enough so I would stay here again for work.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I am happy to hear we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
0.9 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
#4 of 4 in Laguna Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Property: Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Address: 23175 Avenida de La Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-1530
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the intersection of the 5 and 405 Freeways, the Courtyard Laguna Hills Hotel is right in the heart of the Orange County business center. We are perfectly situated minutes from dining and entertainment at the Irvine Spectrum and Irvine Meadows Amphitheater, as well as only 50 miles from both Los Angeles and San Diego. At our hotel near the Irvine Spectrum, experience our reinvented lobby, featuring The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which serves Starbucks coffee and where you can enjoy a full meal with cocktails in the evening, or grab something light to go. Stay connected in our Laguna Hills hotel lobby with free Wi-Fi and our interactive GoBoard(R) technology, providing up-to-date news, weather and local information. Guests at our hotel near Irvine, CA appreciate our smartly redesigned rooms that provide the optimal mix of relaxation and flexible functionality. When downtime arises, soak up the sun at our outdoor pool and whirlpool. Guests can also enjoy free parking at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County Hotel
Courtyard Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Marriott
Laguna Hills Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing