We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Pageant of the Masters in Laguna Beach, stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great room, nice decor, pleasant and helpful staff... but the ceiling in the bath was all rusty and leaking around the access panel. Water dripped when someone one floor above took a shower! Yikes! Great remodel, but hire a new plumber...otherwise a great, attractive, easily accessible hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Geoffrey, Thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback about your bathroom ceiling, and will make sure it's fixed right away. Do you mind letting me know which room you stayed in? When you get a chance, please call me at (949) 586-5000.

Thanks,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff was very helpful at the front desk and in the cafe. The room and amenities were great. My husband and I enjoyed the view of the freeway. One of the best Choice hotels we've stayed at. We definitely would return!! We hope to come back this winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd1nonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for recommending us! It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband, and I look forward to seeing you again this winter. - Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a pig with lipstick. The designer has good taste but this is an old hotel with fresh paint. If you're room is pool-side expect a lot of noise until 10pm. There is no jacuzzi at the pool and there wasn't a bath tub in the room (i.e. no way to soak sore muscles). The menu is extremely limited and there isn't a kids menu. The bed was comfortable. The shower was awkward (the controls are not optimally placed).

The staff were all courteous, professional and helpful. Thankfully, we were only there for 1 night. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Eri,

I'm shocked and disheartened to hear you think of our hotel that way. We've put in a lot of work to renovate our hotel in order to offer our guests a better experience. I'll be sure to keep your feedback in mind going forward. I'm relieved to know that at least you found our staff courteous, professional and helpful. We sincerely want our guests to enjoy their stay with us.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful getaway at the Hills. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had fun with the bartender from Austria, and enjoyed the live music. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Our only complaint was that the simple continental breakfast and coffee offered should be complimentary as with most 3-star hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Karen,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you and your husband had a wonderful stay with us. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly service as well. Hope you get a chance to visit Laguna Hills again soon!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed just one night and had a positive experience. The room was a good size, bathroom in good condition (although the shower was a bit low on pressure), free wi-fi, reasonably priced breakfast, helpful staff. The room's air con unit was a little noisy but generally the place was very quiet.

If you're happy with three star accommodation, then The Hills is a pretty good, especially at the price I paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thanks for recommending us! I'm glad to know you found your room both comfortable and affordable. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Laguna Hills!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Got there late, so didn't check out any amenities. The room was good sized, but there was an abundance of mold in the bathtub which was pretty disconcerting. Convenient location came with loud traffic but it was drowned out by the air conditioner. The elevators were dilapidated and plain scary. This place is decades over due for a real update and is way overpriced. But then again this IS Orange County. Mea culpa, we were so tired, we didn't complain.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first and check out the bath/shower. Or BYOB (bring your own bleach).
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Melinda,

I'm shocked to hear there was an abundance of mold in your tub. We normally put much more thought and care into the upkeep of our rooms. Do you mind letting me know what room you stayed in? I want to make sure we fix the problem right away. When you get a chance, please call me at (949) 586-5000.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Iove the hotel... Only thing I would change is the temperature f the room when u first get there...talk about sauna ... Other than that great hotel great staff . Beautiful ball rooms area. Atm available. Inexpensive breakfast available. Drinks at night time.

Room Tip: Microwave only in select rooms FYI
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hi Ashley,

Thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their service, and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
649 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
643 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Address: 25205 La Paz Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among Orange County's top premiere hotels, offering access to some of California's most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and accommodating staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing