We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I didn't know what to expect as I don't really know the area well. I got a discounted corporate rate, so I was not certain that the quality would be there. I was happy to find the room in very nice condition, possibly fairly newly redone. The staff was VERY accommodating which I appreciate. I only ate once at the cafe, and I found it good. Parking was great and the area pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you Kathy! It's nice to know you were pleasantly surprised by us. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Laguna Hills!

Best wishes,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Hills Hotel looks great online, but is not the same in person.
I guess for the rate I should have known, but the rooms are dated, I had no hot water in the sink, and the AC is musty. I ended up sleeping with the window cracked open as far as I could push it. The rooms are spacious, but the fairfield inn nearby is more modern with free breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4MGOBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

we spent about twenty days recently. our stay met and surpassed all our expects.clean and modern rooms with fast service. special thanks from mr khadivi and the other stuffs we really spent a good time .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asal360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted to hear we surpassed all your expectations. Looking forward to your next trip to Laguna Hills!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

I was in the area for business, an stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It was clean, comfortable bed, large updated bathrooms. It was a tad run down, but nothing that was the end of the world. It was quiet and met my needs as a business traveler nicely.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi Melinda,

Thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to know you found your room clean and comfortable. We're in the process of renovating our entire interior, so we hope you have an even more pleasant experience the next time you stay with us.

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've stayed here several times with large groups who buy blocks of rooms. The rooms are marginal at best. A/C units are noisy and cycle on and off every 5 minutes all night. Bathrooms were dirty. Toilets would not flush unless you held the handle. Plus, every time you asked the staff for a favor, the first answer was no. We had a group of girls who were playing in a sports tournamanent. They had a break at 10 in the morning and wanted to get homework done. We asked if we could use a table in the bar that was empty. First Answer: no. The manager finally allowed it but there was no attempt to find an alternative. Just no. A friend got very ill and was staying in the room. When asked for a late check out, they offer 30 minutes. When they went to book for an extra night because the ill person could not travel, they wanted to charge and extra $50. The hotel was empty but there was no desire to accomodate the guest. Thne location is decent near the freeway and Starbucks, but I'll find somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfpucknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear tfpucknut,

I am terribly sorry to learn that we failed to exceed your expectations. I would like to make this right, please contact me at rtorres@thelagunahillshotel.com to discuss your concerns further.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I recently had a one night stay at the Hills Hotel with my 4 children. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out I only encountered friendly and accommodating staff. Room service was fast and when our toilet got stopped up (remember 4 kids in the room) they came immediately and took care of it. Room was very nice (we stayed in the upgraded area) but for me service is always the most important thing. Nice rooms are everywhere....but across the board friendly and accommodating staff is much harder to find.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlomuscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you experienced friendly and accommodating service from the moment you checked in. Hope you and your family get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice rooms although you could tell that the room was old and they tried to make it look more modern. Rooms roomy and clean. Beds a little too soft. They didn't clean the room and didn't replenish the toiletries during our stay. The trash wasn't taken out despite the bin being overflowing. Otherwise decent room although a little overpriced for the service received.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahyiweewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear you found your room spacious and clean. I'm sorry, though, that we didn't freshen up your room during your stay. I'll be sure to discuss this with the housekeeping staff so that we can better serve our guests going forward.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
672 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission Viejo
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
387 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Address: 25205 La Paz Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: £78 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among Orange County's top premiere hotels, offering access to some of California's most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and accommodating staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing