We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Hills Hotel is conveniently located right off the 5 freeway. We stayed here the night before the Jingle Bell 5k. We booked it last minute for a great price and were very pleased with our stay. The front desk staff was very welcoming and polite. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only negative was we were the first room inside the door and heard it opening and slamming all night and had smoke come in our room a few times from people propping the door open and smoking outside. I would just make sure to request not to stay by the door next time, but we will definitely consider The Hills the next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the doors that go outside. It's too noisy inside the room otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Nicole! I'll be sure to pass along your message to the front desk staff. They're truly dedicated to their work, so they'll be thrilled to hear you found their service welcoming and polite. I appreciate your feedback about the smoke and noise getting in your room, and will make sure it's better insulated for future guests. It was a pleasure having you, and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    98
    49
    26
    16
See reviews for
98
66
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Unfortunately when my wife and I booked this Hotel for 1 night, they had a wedding with approximately 150 people and the parking lot was loaded making it impossible to find parking once we returned. So if you plan to stay at this hotel, you may want to ask if they are having a wedding on the night you are going. The hotel staff should have told us in advance that there was going to be a wedding and that the hotel was going to be full. If they are having a wedding, DO NOT STAY HERE. They actually roped off the stairs so you could not go down to the lobby level via the carpeted stairway forcing you to use an elevator that is outdated and slow. The bathrooms showed tremendous wear and tear.

The other thing - this hotel need a renovation - BADLY. The elevator wood is badly scarred, the windows in the room have gaps so that air and rain come in and the it has a general appearance of just not being kept up. We were in room 308 and there was a 1/2 inch gap between the sliding window and the permanently fixed window that you could not close.

I would have rather paid another $20.00 and stayed at the Ayres Suites. Looking at the other reviews, it makes me wonder who is actually writing a positive review of this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Mike,

I'm truly sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The last thing I want is for any of our guests to feel inconvenienced. I'll definitely take your feedback to heart and work with the staff to make sure all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay, regardless of whether a wedding is taking place.

As for our interior, we are currently renovating all our rooms. I'll make sure the sliding window in room 308 is fixed as soon as possible.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Hills Hotel is conveniently located right off the 5. We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. We booked it last minute for a great price, and were very pleased with our stay. First off, the front desk staff were very welcoming and polite. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The ambience has a "modern-chic" feel. Overall, the hotel was a great experience. Next time we are in town, we will definitely consider The Hills.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Josh,

Thanks for staying with us during Thanksgiving. I'm happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and thought your room was clean and comfortable. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their welcoming and polite service as well.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My company uses this hotel regularly for our out of town clients and also meeting space for corporate functions. Use to be a Holiday Inn and is an older building but now has a modern, fresh feel and we really don't have anything like it here is South Orange County. The meeting rooms range from upscale boardroom to a grand ball room upstairs. You could have a simple company meeting, wedding reception, anniversary party, or a sweet 16 - something for every budget. I recently stayed the night myself for the first time because of plumbing issues at home and it was a great little get-a-way! The food and wine in the bar and restaurant was excellent. Home made fresh salsa with the pulled pork tacos and my breakfast of eggs benedict was yummy! Everything about the room has been remodeled. Large rainforest showerheads, beds were dressed like the "heavenly beds" at the big resorts and I slept great. It's a unique property, neighborhood type hotel for visiting family and all sorts of functions. Ronnie gets my highest praises for customer service - he is unsurpassed in this industry. And really the entire staff is friendly and helpful....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for keeping us in mind whenever out of town clients are visiting Laguna Hills. It's really nice to know you appreciate our hotel's fresh and modern atmosphere. As you mentioned, we've recently remodeled our entire interior.

Thanks also for your kind words about me personally. The credit for our customer service really belongs to the entire team. I'm lucky to work with such a hardworking and dedicated group of people. It's been a pleasure hosting you and your clients, and I look forward to hearing from you again soon.

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been staying at this hotel two nights a week for a few months now. I feel it is way above the usual business accommodations available in this area for the same price. I have found the staff to be very courteous and responsive to my needs. The hotel is very accessible, parking is convenient, the lobby is pleasant and the rooms clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good ( try the salmon dinner) and the wait staff excellent. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone needing to be in this area on business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, oms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us over the past few months. It's really nice to know you've found our hotel comfortable and convenient and think our service is courteous and responsive. That's the goal! I sincerely appreciate all your support.

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at The Hills Hotel in Laguna Hills on a recent business travel. You can tell that the building itself is very old, but they do a decent job of making it look trendy by playing with the decor. In terms of other patrons at this hotel, I saw an eclectic group of people, everyone from business travelers, tourists, to retired couple ( I didn't see many kids).

What really stood out to me about this hotel was how friendly, and professional the staff were. Upon check in, we received a coupon for a free glass of wine/beer at the bar.When my colleague needed to make copies of material for work the next day, the front desk staff were more than happy to help. When I needed a cab in the morning, again, the staff was very helpful.

The room was very clean and spacious. And despite my room facing the freeway side ( I-5 I think), it was surprisingly quiet. There is a very small gym in the back of the hotel. (Apparently there is a 4 mile walk/jog trail around the hotel, too) I had breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and it was reasonably priced and delicious.

I would recommend this hotel to those who might be looking for a place to stay in Laguna Hills/Mission Viejo area.

Little side note for those looking to have lunch/dinner in the area: There is a very small mexican food restaurant called Perla's Taqueria about 10 minuets away in Mission Viejo. They have, quite possibly, the best tacos I have ever had in my life!! I'm from the Pacifc Northwest :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikimas202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I Have been to this hotel three times in the last few years. It is convenient when I visit my grandparents or we would have never been back a second time let alone a third. This hotel is falling apart and instead of fixing the necessities they focus and trying (poorly) to dress it up. The pluming in two rooms in our party was broken. The windows were nearly impossible to get open and when you did they didn't have stops do the kids could easily have fallen out. One room in the party smelled seriously like urine and mold. The fixtures in the bathroom were loose and the rooms were lightly and poorly cleaned. The restaurant was overpriced and mediocre and had no kids menu.

I have worked in hotels in just about every position. Sometimes older ones take work. If Management has their priorities straight this work can be done and leave guests with a positive experience. That is just not the case here. I will not be back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pearlmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I'm alarmed to hear you had such a negative experience with us. We definitely don't try to cover up necessary repairs with mere cosmetic fixes. In fact, over the past year we've committed ourselves to renovating and modernizing our entire interior. As such, I'm shocked that one room in your party smelled so unpleasant. Do you mind calling me at (949) 586-5000 with the room number? I want to make sure the plumbing in that room is completely functional. Also, since you're also experienced in the hotel industry, I would appreciate any constructive suggestions to improve.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
638 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Property: The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Address: 25205 La Paz Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among Orange County's top premiere hotels, offering access to some of California's most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and accommodating staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing