We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, peaceful sleep, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, peaceful sleep, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a wedding held at the same venue. The staff are friendly and professional. Merci beaucoup Stéphane pour un accueil chaleureux.

Breakfast is good, there's a variety of pastries/scones. However, I would have preferred simple plain sliced bread or croissants as what was on offer was too sweet for me.

The food served at the wedding was fantastic.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozjaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks so much for recommending us! I'm so glad to hear you had such a relaxing and peaceful stay. I'll be sure to let the entire team know you appreciated their friendly and professional service. Hope you get a chance to visit Laguna Hills again soon!

Best wishes,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    97
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
94
66
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was calm and pleasant. We arrived on a Friday evening we had the opportunity to listen to jazz music while we sat on the 2nd floor where they have couches to sit and have drinks. I thought they where going to say something to us and they didnt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks Elsa! I'm glad you had a calm and pleasant experience. Next time you're in the mood for cocktails and jazz, be sure to visit!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A little more upscale than other Choice hotels brands. You can tell they have been completing upgrades since acquiring the property. Staff was friendly and attended to our needs and didn't just show a map to our room but actually came out from behind the desk and directed us where to park and where the door was to the hallway for our room.

Rooms were nice and clean and the restaurant was clean and friendly and the food was good. Service was a little slow in the restaurant but that could be because there were alot of room service requests and we were not in a hurry.

Only complaint was that since there were only double beds and not a queen size bed (at least) for rooms that slept 4 people. The beds were comfy but there was plenty of room for the queens in the room.

Room Tip: some rooms may have freeway noise since the hotel is adjacent to interstate 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeahawkFan226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks so much for recommending us! We've put in a lot of work renovating our entire interior, so it's nice to know you recognize and appreciate it. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly and helpful service as well. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very happy with The Hills Hotel. Our room was spotless. Front desk staff and every employee we encountered couldn't have been nicer. We had a recently renovated room that was perfect. Would definitely recommend The Hills Hotel and we will be staying there on future visits to Laguna Hills.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room if available! It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoiet6002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for the five-star recommendation! We work hard to ensure your entire visit is enjoyable, so I look forward to passing along your compliments to the team — flattering to know all our hard work had paid off. Until next time, take care!

Best wishes,

Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Unfortunately this wasn't a business or pleasure trip, but our stay at the Hills was wonderful. It made the trip a lot easier to handle.
All your staff were pleasant and your cleaning staff was excellent. If I had one complaint it was the lack of drainage in the bath tub when we took our showers. No we didn't complaint because after we got ready the only thing on our minds was getting back to our family member with cancer and his family.
The only other small thing was the clock/radio. Some of the digits were missing so telling time was funny. Which we both needed.

Room Tip: The perks to the Hills Hotel was that it was easy on/off the fwy, there was a Starbucks right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
I hope you and your family are doing well since you visited. Even though you were in Laguna Hills under less than ideal circumstances, I'm really glad we were able to make your visit a wonderful experience. I appreciate your feedback about our showers, and will make sure the drainage issue is corrected. I wish you and your family all the best.

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2014 with family of 5. The newly renovated rooms were beautiful. The guys at the front desk were very friendly and attentive at check in. We also decided to eat at the hotel instead of search for a restaurant. Glad we did! The food and service was also excellent. Book with confidence...

Room Tip: Request a room on the interior to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks Matt! I'm thrilled to hear you and your family had such a fantastic stay. It's nice to know you appreciate our new renovations, and I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciate their friendly and attentive service. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver , CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

his use to be a Holiday Inn. The outside may look dated but the rooms have been updated. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are modern. It has a modern look with nice lighting. The staff is friendly. The rooms are large. The staff is friendly. Good rates can be found on line. I did not try the restaurant. The Restaurant has limited hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Frankie,

I know we already wrote to each other on Yelp, but I wanted to thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor as well. As a small independent hotel, your support really means a lot. Hope you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
637 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
#1 of 4 in Mission Viejo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Property: The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Address: 25205 La Paz Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among Orange County's top premiere hotels, offering access to some of California's most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and accommodating staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing