We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place But Patience Required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our time at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa with one major caveat. . . you need a lot of patience! When we arrived at 3:45 pm, we were not allowed to check-in to our room because it was not ready. We sat around in the lobby while we waited. We were told that we would receive a call from the front desk when our room was available. After waiting until 5 pm with no call to my mobile number, I re-approached the front desk to inquire and only then was I given a room.

More patience needed. . . We ate breakfast each morning in BIN 189, and that was a test in patience. Yesterday, we waited 15 minutes to be seated even though there were many empty tables in the restaurant. From the time we were seated until our food arrived, we waited 45 minutes! This morning, there was no hostess when we arrived. We waited for her for several minutes to seat us, and there were only 5 parties in the entire restaurant. Most of them left shortly after our arrival but it was 45 minutes before our food arrived! The food was good both mornings, but the service was painfully slow. The resort could use some attention to details.

Lake Arrowhead is beautiful. The weather is outstanding. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly, warm, and very helpful. The access to the lake hiking trail was a bonus. We walked the 6 mile trail this morning and loved it. The proximity of the resort to the Village is a bonus. The fitness room in the Spa met our needs with a variety of equipment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third flood with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear SDCATraveler, I am glad that you enjoyed Lake Arrowhead but I am disappointed that you were not able to enjoy the resort as it was intended to be. I have shared your comments with the staff and we are doing everything we can to make everyone's stay more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your comments and please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Obviously the location can't be beat. The service is very good, it's clean and mostly comfortable. The bed was a bit too soft and sloped to side but otherwise more than adequate. The door to the porch needs attention and oiling-moving it was like pushing a boulder. Food was okay but not great.The small coffee and gift shop were great, and Vickie went out of her way to please-opens at 6 am-even better.

Room Tip: Ask for one which was renovated in 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Phrmokda,

We can't agree with you more that the Lake Arrowhead location can't be beat! I shared your comments with Vickie and she was very enthusiastic to hear that she went above and beyond during your stay. When you are in the area, please come see us again!

Norm Santos
General Manager
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place is a gem and with a little mores management could be excellent. The staff are superb in every department from valet parking, bell boys, reception, etc. Nothing too much trouble and all done with a smile and politeness. You should however see my review on the restaurant as that was a let down.
Rooms are a bit "tired" but overall value for money and location gets over this

Room Tip: Make sure you get ones overlooking the lake and beach not the car park or the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Calvia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Calvia06,

The staff were very excited to hear your comments and we made a great impact on your last stay at the Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa. It is always great to hear that our staff was very accommodating and they provided you with a high level of service with a smile. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Norm Santos
General Manager
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Fabulous hotel in an even more fabulous location! They made us feel so welcome when we were visiting our 3 grandchildren. Our room was beautiful and the lobby, pool and beach area outstanding. Thanks for the hospitality and great service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cece4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Cece4747,

Thank you for posting the fabulous comments regarding the Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa. I am glad you loved the lobby, pool and beach. Thank you for staying with us and please come see us again soon when you visit your grandchildren again!

Norm Santos
General Manager
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have fallen in Love with Lake Arrowhead. The resort is the only Lake front resort in Lake Arrowhead. We have stayed there a few times over the past 3 years. Recently the Marriott took it over and I think it is improved although we loved it before as well. The service was good. I was worried at first because when I called the morning of our arrival I felt rushed and put off but when we arrived the front desk girls were sweet and very helpful. Melissa and I think there was a Courtney, anyhow very helpful. They were busy while we were there yet they were very accommodating at making sure our lake front room had a balcony (who knew that did not ALL have balcony's and what a shame as the view is BREATHTAKING! We asked for an upgrade and the next day they were able to move us to a suite. The suite was so beautiful but had some issues. The air conditioning did not work well in the bedroom and the TV was not working right. (we wanted to watch a movie at night and it wasn't working. The important part is though, that the staff they sent to help were so nice and tried their best to fix everything. The TV could not be fixed at that time and that was fine because of the nice attitude of everyone it was hard to get upset. we ordered room service that night (in anticipation of watching our movie..LOL) and the room service girl was the SWEETEST! I wish I could remember her name:( A couple of downsides - BREKFAST AT THE RESORT - YIKES...the blandest food (eggs totally over cooked, food cold and the SLOWEST (although polite) service. Not sure where the fall down is in that area. A good breakfast shouldn't be that hard. Lunch and dinner are good so I'm not sure of the problem. Suggestion - try the CEDAR CREEK INN for breakfast..WOW so good and inexpensive. Great!!!!!! The other down side is that check out is at 11am..one of the only hotels we have stayed in with a check out that early. usually it is noon. They were not accommodating on a late check out but they were sold out so I get it. All in all I recommend this property. I wish I had had a chance to try the spa. It looks fabulous! We are actually headed up there again tomorrow to celebrate a birthday and are hopeful for another good experience!! I also want to mention the Valet and Bell boys (Ron was one of them).. they were very nice and helpful, going out of their way with recommendations and directions and such! One more thing..try "THE MALT SHOP" that is the name of it..is it on the other side of town but well worth it. Old fashioned burgers and malts. Been around forever and has that 50's feel! SO GOOD!

Room Tip: LAKEFRONT WITH A BALCONY!!!!!! There can be trees blocking the view though so be aware of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Allymcd1,

It's great to hear that you have fallen in love with Lake Arrowhead. The mountains and surroundings are very peaceful and can make a great weekend getaway. I am so glad that Melissa and Courtney made your stay very pleasurable. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and are making constant improvements to enhance our breakfast choices. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to providing you with the highest level of quality and service for your next stay.

Norm Santos
General Manager
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a great stay at the hotel. Jeff, the bartender was very helpful. Restful time in a beautiful location. The staff even brought champagne to our room as a gift for my wife's birthday. This was a good way to finish off our summer before work starts up again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVIDguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear AVIDguy,

I spoke to Jeff last night and told him about the great response you left about him. He was very excited to hear he left such a great impression. Thank you for letting us be a part of your wife's birthday celebration. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Norm Santos
General Manager
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stay here two times a year when I take my son to camp which is about 10 minutes away and each time, the service is amazing, the food is perfect and the staff is awesome. Last time I was there, I left a VERY expensive wedding ring in the room and did not realize it until I returned home 3 days later. After speaking with Norm, the head of security, he and the head of Housekeeping inspected my room and they found it! They mailed it back to me in my home state over night and I had it the very next day! I could not believe how responsive and attentive they were to my needs both when I am there and when I had already left. I really am looking forward to returning, not only to pick up my son from camp, but to personally thank Norm for the gesture. In addition, the breathtaking views are always a refreshing pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norm S, General Manager at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Laura R,

Thank you so much for the kind comments regarding your stay at the Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa. I am glad everything worked out with your ring. Thank you for staying with us and I hope your son had a great time at camp. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Norm Santos
General Manager
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Arrowhead
0.3 mi away
Saddleback Inn
Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
149 reviews
4.8 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Crestline
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#3 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
15.9 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 27984 Highway 189, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92382
Region: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range: £138 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Arrowhead Hotel Lake Arrowhead
Lake Arrowhead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing