We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect Dordogne holiday at Le Four a Sel”
other traveller has booked this property
Le Four a Sel Farmhouse (Villa Hibiscus) in Montignac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Four a Sel Farmhouse (Villa Hibiscus) in Montignac
Bright open plan dining room with 8chairs. Behind is fully equipped kitchen Bright & airy lounge w/ settee, armchair , TV w/english satellite channels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Le Four a Sel Farmhouse (Villa Hibiscus) in Montignac
Bright open plan dining room with 8chairs. Behind is fully equipped kitchen
Bright & airy lounge w/ settee, armchair , TV w/english satellite channels
The childproof 10m x4m pool-fenced and alarmed for safety is just 50 meters away from your house
Step out of your frontdoor into the large courtyard  for Badminton &  Boules  & table tennis.
The double bedroom with ensuite bathroom and fsbuloous views of cornfields
Bedroom 2 with a double bed also has wonderful views of the pool,and cornfields
One of the bedrooms with 2 single beds, view of cornfields
The spacious groundfloor bathroom
The garden outside the 2 villas (Villa Mimosa is on the right and Villa Hibiscus on the left)
Photo of Le Four a Sel as seen in the Gloss Magazine, Irish Times( Oct,2013) 15 acres of cornfields
Stunning View of the Cornfields from the bedroom window
Table Tennis in the Covered Play area
Lots of green space
Badminton by the river, in the playground, in the garden or  courtyard- the choice is your yours
The Covered Terrace, great for chilling out with a glass of local wine
Try a game of Boules(also called Petanque) in the 350 sq. meter courtyard
Unlimited fishing from dawn to dusk on your doorstep
Enjoy picnics , alfresco dining & BBQ's beside the river w/o leaving the property ,dining al fresco
Have a picnic or BBq beside the river without leaving the property
The Outdoor Play area with swings,slide,badminton net & others
al fresco dining  in the garden outside your gite
Villa Hibiscus, view from the garden.Enjoy al fresco dining and BBQ's
The article on Gloss Magazine,Irish Times featuring Le Four a Sel as its travel choice in Oct.2013
Pick your own cherries from the cherry tree outside Villa Hibiscus
Cycling  though our  driveway on the way to Montignac
Montignac International  Festival, weeklong festivities with lots of street entertainment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Aubas, Montignac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richard G
Houston, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect Dordogne holiday at Le Four a Sel”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Although I had visited France before, I had never been to the Dordogne or the Vezere Valley. I had never stayed in a proper gite before. I had no idea what to expect. However, after staying at Le Four a Sel I am ready to go back -- again and again - and I will stay again at Le Four a Sel.
Three friends and I spent a week in September 2013 with Brenda and David, two of the most helpful and gracious hosts I've ever encountered in my travels around the world. If you are looking for a four or five-star hotel, don't stay here. But if you are looking for an incredibly comfortable and traditional French gite in an awesome setting, welcoming to adults and kids alike - near enough to a city to afford all the amenities you need, but far enough from the city to feel like you are truly in the French countryside - then this is most definitely the place for you.
Le Four a Sel is an old farm with three accommodations available for visitors. One sleeps five, one sleeps eight and the largest house can sleep approximately 15 or more. The accommodations also include covered seating areas in old barns and outbuildings and a pool. The entire complex is your storybook vision of what a French farm should be. Although all the accommodations were occupied during our visit, we hardly saw another person. It was like we had the place all to ourselves!
I loved the way our gite was furnished - comfortable living room sofas, a long great room area with furnished kitchen and large primitive dining room table offering plenty of room for casual dining and cheese and wine before dinner. There were four large bedrooms and two very very nicely appointed bathrooms. The windows in the bedrooms looked out over fields of corn and the hills in the background. I've never slept better in my life -- so quiet! The outdoor table with chairs and a large umbrella in the back garden is where we had our cheese and bread and wine most nice evenings under a canopy of fruit trees. The church bell in the tiny neighboring village of Aubas tolled every night at 7.There is a fabulous restaurant in restaurant in Aubas that you can walk to from Le Four a Sel -- and we did several times. It is just so beautiful!!
We are back home now but we've gotten together several times to share photos and talk about our trip. David and Brenda, thanks so much for giving us such a memorable trip. You know we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host and hostess were absolutely so gracious!
Liked least: Wi fi was occasionally tempermental.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey-an...
New Zealand
1 review
“Peaceful , rural setting to relax but close enough to enjoy surrounding attractions.”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This is a great rural accommodation near a lovely French village and handy to local sites. The accommodation is hosted by an English couple who willingly share their local enthusiasm and experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation and grounds were spacious and a good chance for the children to run around and enjoy the outdoors.
Liked least: It was a surprise that we needed to supply our own consumables (dishwash liquid etc) .
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Reviewed 12 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character property,pleasant garden/surroundings,fishing
Liked least: creaky floorboards,lack of power sockets,road noise
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saundersfoot, Wales
Reviewed 4 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the buildings, the land around, the river
Liked least: local restaurants not always open
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adventure...
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing