We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay, Friendly Staff, Altercation outside room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Decent Stay, Friendly Staff, Altercation outside room”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as we were seeing a concert at the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater nearby. Hotel is in a decent area, easy on and off access to Fwy. Staff at front desk were extremely friendly both during check-in and check-out. The room was comfortable, not overly spacious, but they've remodeled them to be nice, with crown mouldings, etc. A separate living room area with TV with a couch and chair, and then we had two queens in bedroom area. Bathroom is very small with a shower and toilet only. There is then a bowl sink that sits on dresser in front of the beds. This is an awkward set up, but one that was "ok" for a one night stay.

There was a group of teens/young adults loitering by the elevators when we arrived back to the hotel after the concert. Later, as I was laying in bed, I could hear loud talking and horsing around, then about 30 minutes later a major altercation between what sounded like a male and a female started with screaming and yelling, cursing and horrible name calling. I am unsure if it was the same group of young people, but I was just getting ready to call the front desk when it stopped. It scared me enough that I got up and checked the locks on our room door to make sure ours was locked, as I was traveling without my husband this time and just my two daughters. Otherwise, the beds were comfortable, bedding decent and it was an overall comfortable stay for an inexpensive last minute hotel booking.

Breakfast looked unappealing and we did not stay for the food, but we rarely do these days. Coffee was also disappointing. Within a few exits of South Coast Plaza for some upscale shopping and one exit away from the Irvine Spectrum for additional shopping.

If you're looking for a no frills, clean and inexpensive place to stay, this will work fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Tammy B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay at the Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly service. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    110
    58
    21
    24
See reviews for
175
44
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everything at this hotel exceeded my expectations! The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good, except they had turkey bacon instead of real bacon. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Joe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests.

Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Orange County your best vacation yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went to Laguna Beach for PAGEANT OF THE MASTERS...& this hotel was very close. Good breakfast ... traveled with friends who stayed in another room. Only problem: our room had noise from the air conditioner (not ours, we turn it off at night) probably next to our room..... People at the front desk very helpful and friendly.... Would recommend this hotel.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SRfolkdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear SRfolkdancer,

We are glad that you chose us for your recent trip to Orange County. We hope that you enjoyed your time at the Pageant of The Masters.

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for your kind words. Our staff and management take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Orange County vacation a pleasant experience. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service.

Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Lake Forest, CA a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent property. I have stayed on numerous occasions and have been extremely satisfied with physical accommodation and, helpfulness of hotel staff. Location is freeway close, near a multitude of restaurants, in a nice neighborhood and convenient to shopping. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest! And thank you as well for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoy coming back to our hotel. We are glad to hear that our accommodations, service and location are always ideal for your needs. Our staff works hard to ensure that we take care of our most valuable guests by providing excellent service at all times.

We hope to see you again soon. Our entire staff is ready to welcome you once again so that we can make your next visit the best one yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was having a hard time finding a place in Southern Caliornia. The selection seemed minimal. Prices were high and the reviews were awful. My father's caregiver recommended the Best Western Plus because a friend worked there. The location was ideal. I called up and found out not only were rooms available but the price reasonable. I believe it had not been showing up on some sites because of limited availability. The room was great. It was a suite with two flat screen TVs. The furnishings were nice. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. And parking was indoors. A great place. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 57allenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear 57allenc,

Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate the time you took to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests.

Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Orange County your best experience yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Clean, spacious, well kept, nice staff and good location make this a place of choice. BUT their internet sucks. Drops off all the time, slow, doesn't work in the rooms very well. They need to fix this. We use Wi-Fi for our personal communications and are tired of constantly dealing with the problems at this hotel. If not for this problem we would stay there anytime and recommended it highly other than this one issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you very much for your words on your experience at our hotel. We do our best to provide all our guests with comfortable accommodations.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that our Wi-Fi created for you. We are definitely addressing this issue by updating our equipment and increasing our bandwidth, which should have it corrected right away.

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's cleanliness, location and facilities. We would like to invite you to give us a try again on your next trip to Orange County so we can have a chance to impress you with the high standards of service which we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reseda, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We could not have searched out a nicer or more accommodating hotel. It was convenient to everything we wanted to see, quiet, staff was pleasant and extremely professional. The hot breakfast was an added perk that I was not expecting. The pool and jacuzzi were well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Donna,

We truly appreciate your nice compliments. Our staff and management work hard every day to make our guests feel special when they stay with us. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service.

It's a pleasure to see that you were able to enjoy our accommodations and amenities. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Lake Forest, CA a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
0.9 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
#4 of 4 in Laguna Hills
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
Address: 23192 Lake Center Dr, Lake Forest, CA 92630-2837 (Formerly Irvine Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Forest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Forest
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Orange County, the perfect hotel in Lake Forest awaits your arrival! Set among the palms of sunny Southern California, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel is perfect for the leisure and business traveler. Service, amenities and locations make this the perfect hotel choice in Irvine. Hotel guests will be centrally located to many of Orange County's most popular attractions including Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach and the Orange County Great Park. Shopping, eateries and entertainment at South Coast Plaza, Fashion Island and Irvine Spectrum Center are within minutes of the hotel. Other guest favorites include the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, Saddleback Ministries, University of California Irvine, Chapman University. Our corporate guests appreciate being close to more than 100 corporate offices, John Wayne Airport (SNA) and the Irvine Spectrum. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel offer spacious, well-appointed guest suites. Each of our guests rooms are designed with your comfort in mind: microwave, refrigerator, complimentary high speed Internet access. Our amenities include all the comforts of home: complimentary hot breakfast; fitness center, guest laundry, outdoor pool and spa...Just to name a few! Corporate Travelers appreciate the onsite business services such as our fully equipped business center as well as meeting facilities. And of course, where would you be without your furry best friend? Pets are always welcome! Whether business or leisure travel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel is a perfect choice for your next trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irvine Hotel Lake Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing