We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hungry Gulch Campground
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Motel(Mountain Mesa)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barewood Inn & Suites(Wofford Heights)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kernville Inn(Kernville)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River View Lodge(Kernville)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Kern Lodge(Kernville)(Great Value!)
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sequoia Lodge(Kernville)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
4
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
4
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The campground was spacious, enough space between each site. Some shade during the day, beautifully nestled among the mountains. Nice hike starting at the campsite. We had one night with noisy neighbors but the rest of the time was quiet where we were. Big families with music but never after hours. The bathrooms/showers left a lot to be desired, though, with cobwebs and critters, toilet paper on the floor and a very old and decrepit shower that could not be turned off when there was still money left in the machine. Trashcan that attracts rodents as door opener! The easy access to the lake through Boulder gulch was a definite plus though. Nothing for sale on campsite, the nearest store is about 1 mile down the road. All in all it was a great trip, everyone had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank c1domrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our first camping trip of the year so we were really looking forward to it. The campground was packed, there was no privacy at all and people next to us had a generator going the entire day and night. They had an inflatable bouncy castle, an inflatable huge projector screen where they played movies the entire night and rock concert speakers so the entire campground had to listen to their music. Their dog was barking the entire night and when we asked the camp hosts to do something about it they did absolutely NOTHING. Despite all of this, we had a nice time at the lake Isabella. However, we would never go back to this campground.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TRAV1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We definitely lucked out when we decided to camp here for memorial day weekend. Hungry Gulch turned out to be one of the best camp sites that we have ever been too. It smelled amazing and it was clean. We got the most incredible site, secluded from all other campers. It was higher then the other sites, which gave us breath taking views and our site seemed larger than most of other sites. If you walk closer towards the entrace of the park, you can find a fantastic view of Lake Isabella.

I posted 7 Pictures of hungry gulch, including our site, views from our site, views of lake isabella, and the kern river

The bathrooms were decent, but there always seemed to be crowds of girls waiting in line to take showers; at least 9 girls standing there every single time I went to the bathroom, which was annoying. There were HUGE spiders in the corners of the stalls, but the rangers came by and killed them each day, which was good.

The sites themselves were great. There were scattered pine trees all over, flat surfaces, with great views of the mountains, and a ton of blue jays.

Overall our experience was excellent. We will be coming back for sure.

Best of all the Kern river was close by, and we were able to hike to some amazing spots and cool off in the water.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Jewhoodlum18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The campground itself is really good. Very clean. The sites are good size and the campground itself has a lot of space so if it is not a busy weekend you can have some privacy. The bathrooms were campground bathrooms but better than a lot I have seen. The hot water never ran out and we never had to wait in line. There were little critters in the bathrooms (scorpions) so I wouldn't let the kids in alone. The caretaker allowed us to pick our spot and then came around to check us in. Not sure if that is typical but according to website it didn't seem to be so. There are spots along the road that will be noisy early am. We didn't realize that the road is a pretty major secondary highway. Nearby town has Vons, Rite Aid, various fast food places. In the other direction is Kernville with smaller grocery store and much more pictureseque town. The Kern River is beautiful and there are also campgrounds that follow the river. Those seem pretty popular but don't have bathrooms (portapotties & bring your own shower). To get to the Trail of One Hundred Giants it is about 45 minutes from Hungry Gulch. Well worth the drive. Lake Isabella is a good place to cool off with lots of inlets/beaches to choose from. You can drive into most and park beachside. The fish were biting and the kids had a blast. Not sure how clean the lake is though.
All in all it was a great weekend. Hungry Gulch is a great campground for families. Just be sure that you are aware of the locals--rattlesnakes and Mtn. Lions. Luckily, we just missed Mama Mtn. Lion (she was sniffing around 2 days prior) and with 2 families with young children we must be pretty loud because we never saw a snake either. Whew!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamas_got_to_getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancaster, Ca
157
Reviewed 26 August 2003

Lake Isabella, Ca nestled in the southern part of the Sequoia National Forest is an awsome beauty to partake. The outstanding views from any where on or around the lake and the Kern River are so breathtaking! The State campgrounds there are so accomodating! Hungry Gulch was the BEST! Hot water showers close by and I've Never been to a campground where the bathrooms were so clean! On top of that we didn't even have reservations but we were able to pick not just one but two great tenting sites. There were plenty of trees and shade and peace and quiet. There's grocery stores and gas stations.....even motels available all within 5 miles in either direction. This entire region is such a vacation paradise if you love the great outdoors....boating..(rentals available) plenty of campgrounds to choose from and lots of great spots to drive down by the water side to......!!! Hungry Gulch closes on Sept 15th but there's a few more campgrounds just up the road that stay open later in the year and year round! Totally awesome! Our party of 12 enjoyed all three nights we stayed!

57  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews