We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Neu Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neu Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at Neu Lodge for 1 night during our visit to Shasta and found it to be a pleasant, clean and inexpensive place. The owners were very friendly and the motel was conveniently located. I would definitely stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
1
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakehead, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

well I showed up at 11pm with my mother to drop her off and was greeted too a man with "no shirt!" really threw 2 woman off for a second, He took money but never gave a reciept let alone fill out any paperwork. The room was very nice until 8:30am when my mother was greeted by the shirtless owners wife! Who pounded at the door as if it was a bust!! She told my mom too vacate by 10:30am HOW EVER there flyer say's 11am!! We didnt tell them we had a dog as the dog wasnt going too stay but instead my mom felt better with her there, and later when she got home, the SHIRTLESS owner called my mom's personal home phone number just too ask for the "$10.00 pet fee!" AFTER she was rudely waken at 8:30 and vacated. my score is --->1

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Guy opened us a window at 2AM, let us pick the room. He has a sense of humor. We liked vintage style decor. Our room had a Cold/Hot AC, M/W, Fridge, TV, Coffee maker w coffee. Quiet place with good size pool, huge green area w BBQ setup, gazebo and the best is: no no busy town around.
A lot for $50-60. Look at my pictures.

Room Tip: Do not expect Hilton and you will be happy. For a HWY motel this one is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Number1Dock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumby, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Don't know why some people are so disgrundled with their experience. I was treated respectfully by both the man and wife. Was allowed to check out the room before paying. The room was clean. The area was very quiet compared to other more expensive motels that I have stayed in. The room was fairly spacious, clean and everythi8ng worked. A great stay. Will come back again if passing through.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonLumby_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

talked to nice wife who gave me one price and then her nasty grumpy husband processed my card for another higher price and when I mentioned his wife's quote he said "she was wrong" and that was it. I told him I would not be staying the night due to being lied to and they still charged my card which I will now have to dispute the charge

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallywilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Manager at Neu Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
While this response is 3 years late, we wanted to apologize for the experience you had with the motel pricing. Since your stay in 2010, we have changed management. Thank you for your candid review. It helped us make the necessary changes to ensure this kind of experience does not happen again. We hope you considering staying with us next time and seeing our newly remodeled rooms and friendly management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Very nice off the main drag place to stay. Very scenic and quiet.

Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrendaH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

We went up to the Shasta area for a week or so of relaxing. We stopped at the Neu lodge after reading about it online. The guy at the window/office was pretty rude. Would not let us look before paying. Said wehad already interupted his nap! I felt like we were annoying just by wanting to give the place our business.

There were nails sticking up through the carpet. Dirty. Not at all what we were expecting. I wasnt expecting first class-but really, this place is not worth it. The Lakehead Lodge down the road looked a lot better. Thankfully I didnt book the three days we were going to stay online-as they don't refund cancellations. We left after one night.

  • Liked — nice back area
  • Disliked — staff/dirty
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sillygiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Manager at Neu Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
While this response is 7 years late, we wanted to apologize for the experience you had with the motel. Since your stay in 2004, we have changed management and have remodeled our rooms. Thank you for your candid review. It helped us make the necessary changes to ensure this kind of experience does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
18.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
18.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#27 of 36 in Redding
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
1,324 reviews
18.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 36 in Redding
176 reviews
20.2 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neu Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neu Lodge Motel

Property: Neu Lodge Motel
Address: 20821 Antlers Rd, Lakehead, CA 96051-9670
Region: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neu Lodge Motel offers a quiet retreat when you're tired of the fast paced city, or just need to get away.Conveniently located, Neu Lodge Motel is the closest motel to a boat ramp on Shasta Lake (within walking distance). It's a favorite for hunting, boating and fishing trips on Shasta Lake and family reunions. Our pool is popular with the kids, and our park-like backyard hosts a picnic area with barbeque pits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neu Hotel Lakehead
Neu Lodge Motel Lakehead, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing