We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Neu Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neu Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
lafayette, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 17 June 2006

Do not stay here! Whatever you do just do not. NO service, dirty....

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mshab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Manager at Neu Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
While this response is 7 years late, we wanted to apologize for the experience you had with the motel. Since your stay in 2004, we have changed management and have remodeled our rooms. Thank you for your candid review. It helped us make the necessary changes to ensure this kind of experience does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
1
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2005

Reading the horror story the other customer wrote was not the experience I had when staying at this motel. Not only were the rates very reasonable, the quality you received for them was excellent. For just a few dollars more than you would spend at a Motel 6, you received a spacious room with many extra perks. I was pleased with the refridgerators, microwaves, and coffee pots that were included and the surroundings were just beautiful! I like to take walks in the evening and did so as usual. After walking just a few hundred yards I was at the lake! It was so refreshing to look up at the surrounding mountains and feel the fresh air. It's nice to know places like this exist. I would definately recommend this motel to any traveler!

  • Stayed August 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2005

I read the previous review of the Neu Lodge Motel on this website and was deterred from staying there on my last trip to Shasta. So, I stayed at another motel in Lakehead, and what an awful experience that was. Not thinking that my stay on Shasta Lake could get worse, the next day I went to the Neu Lodge and told the manager about the bad review and that I'd like to inspect the rooms before I would agree to stay. Well, I was surprised to say the least. The Neu Lodge is certainly not the Hilton, nor was I expecting it to be, but the room I inspected and stayed in was clean, quiet and nothing more or less than typical rustic accomodations so common to "small town" hotels. An occassional spider or grasshopper in Mountain environments is nothing to be alarmed about. I slept well that night, and would recommend this property to anyone who loves beauty, nature and simplicity. And by the way, I asked the Manager about the "higher" rate charged to the previous reviewer, and his reply was that most hotels have seasonal rates which are usually associated with Holiday's. Therefore, if you plan on traveling over the Holiday, prepare to spend a little more for lodging wherever you are.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2004

I reserved a room at this property for the Memorial Day Weekend this year. When I got to the motel on Saturday the management had raised the price, 20 dollars per night, from the price quoted to me at the time of the reservation. Being as all the motels in the area are filled on this weekend, I was left with no option but to pay. When I walked into the room I was apalled. The carpet was dirty and looked as if it had not been cleaned in a long time, if ever. I also found a cricket right inside the door to my room and had to usher him outside. There were cobwebs everywhere and actually spiders inside the room too. I killed two of them right away. I pulled back the bedspreads to check the sheets and found a live spider under the sheets on one of the beds. The curtains did not fit the windows well and were old and dirty. The walls were dirty and needed a good painting. I happen to travel with Raid and Clorox Wipes so I brought them into the room and did a good once over. My friend and I were too nervous to sleep in the beds, so we brought our sleeping bags in from the car and slept on top of the beds in our sleeping bags. Needless to say neither one of us slept very well that night and the next morning we left the motel. Since I only stayed one night instead of two, the owner did reimburse my credit card for the unused night, with no hassel. His excuse for the spiders were that there were too many of them to spray for them and they just had to learn to live with them. I did not want any confrontation and did not mention how disgustingly dirty the room was. I just wanted to get as far away from that place as possible. I definately would not recommend that anyone stay at this motel.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Manager at Neu Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
While this response is 8 years late, we wanted to apologize for the experience you had with the motel. Since your stay in 2004, we have changed management and have remodeled our rooms. Thank you for your candid review. It helped us make the necessary changes to ensure this kind of experience does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
18.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
18.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#26 of 37 in Redding
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
70 reviews
22.0 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
102 reviews
18.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 37 in Redding
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neu Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neu Lodge Motel

Property: Neu Lodge Motel
Address: 20821 Antlers Rd, Lakehead, CA 96051-9670
Region: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neu Lodge Motel offers a quiet retreat when you're tired of the fast paced city, or just need to get away.Conveniently located, Neu Lodge Motel is the closest motel to a boat ramp on Shasta Lake (within walking distance). It's a favorite for hunting, boating and fishing trips on Shasta Lake and family reunions. Our pool is popular with the kids, and our park-like backyard hosts a picnic area with barbeque pits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neu Hotel Lakehead
Neu Lodge Motel Lakehead, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing