We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever”
Review of Shasta Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shasta Lake Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst ever”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our family recently stayed 2 nights at Shasta Lake Motel. We had a total of 3 rooms, and all members of our group were very disappointed with their rooms. Specifically, the list of negatives is as follows: No Wi-Fi in the rooms, although there it supposedly works down by the pool. However, there are not facilities there, such as a table and chair, the refrigerator in our did not work, there is no phone in the rooms, the cobwebs were frightening when I looked behind the TV to see if there was a HDMI connection available, the wall air conditioner was filthy with dust bunnies, there was just one chair in the room and no table, there were no facilities in the bathroom to put anything down, such as shelf or something, the beds were so bad that we decided to go home (2.5 hr trip) rather than suffer the pain of another night. There was no ice machine available. We got the feeling from the owners that we really needed to deal with the discrepancies. I'm 70 years old, so I've seen a few motels in my day, but this place would only be acceptable IF the price was in the $35-$40 range. Unbelievably bad overall.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JERRY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
26
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Jay & Stephanie were very accommodating! Friendly staff including Zeek & Slate. Swimming pool a super plus! Close to Lake & mini store. Close by fun & entertaining restaurant called Lakeshore Inn. Great place to have your Family Reunion. Big Thanks, The Clarks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This next week will be our third year coming to this wonderful family owned motel. The owners are couldn't be nicer, personable and accomodating. The rooms are clean and quaint. The property is well kept, with plenty of spots to sit outside and play games or picnic. The property is close to the lake, local convenience stores, gas stations, restaurants, hiking areas, and a laundromat. This trip has become an annual family event and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Room smelled a bit like smoke. Top lock would not lock had to get owner to simply remove the inner lock catch for it to close at all. Place was clean but very worn out. WiFi did not work in our room. Air conditioning was good but super breezy due to layout. Better for more hearty folks who want to fish and be right near the lake. Not at all good for a vacation. I understand why places are triple a rated. Very shocked at how high the reviews here are. We feel let down by tripadvisor, A sign reading 'no fish heads down the toilet' says it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spenser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Went to Shasta Lake to stay in at the Railroad Park for our 34th anniversary. Had our granddaughter with us. Stayed the night there. Next night, we stayed at the Shasta Lake Motel. The people were super friendly, treating us almost like we were family or old friends. We totally enjoyed the stay. There is a pool, horseshoes, basketball, tetherball. A market and a couple of restaurants are right next door. Shasta Lake is within walking distance. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. A couple do have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the location and the swimming pool. We also went swimming in the lake nearby, although getting into the water is tricky, steep border. The rooms look used, but they are clean. They look like wood cabins.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edisteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My family and I just enjoyed a week at the Shasta Lake Motel and it was excellent! The motel is very "kid friendly" with lots of room on site for playing. There is very good boat parking. The rooms are very clean and the daily service was great. The place has a very cozy feel and the owners make you feel like family. There are places to eat and a market within easy walking distance and the launch ramp is less than 2 miles. Overall a great place and we will for sure be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
18.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
18.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
18.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
21.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Shasta Lake
The Inn at Shasta Lake
#1 of 2 in Lakehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Lake Motel

Property: Shasta Lake Motel
Address: 20714 Lakeshore Dr, Lakehead, CA 96051-9522
Region: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer and Winter vacationers, Fishermen, Sportsmen, Workers and Travelers ... Welcome to our scenic retreat, within walking distance of Shasta Lake. A warm cabin like room awaits you, at our ten-room motel, situated on almost two acres of land. All our rooms are smoke free. We are just off the I-5 freeway situated among the pines and oaks. We welcome family reunions, week end getaways and overnighters to our family operated business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Lake Hotel Lakehead
Shasta Lake Lakehead
Shasta Lake Motel Lakehead, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing