We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner is incredibly rude to younger guests”
Review of Tsasdi Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tsasdi Resort
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The resort owner is incredibly aggressive and rude. We arrived after a very long drive from Oregon and were greeted with an insulting and condescending lecture about check-in times. It took us a good ten minutes of getting yelled at to deduce that he wanted us to leave, and then he refused to let some of the younger people in our party to even use a restroom. We were there an hour before check-in, which isn't posted or clearly communicated. He was borderline obsequious with a party of older guests, so it appears to be an age thing. He was aggressively unpleasant to us for the duration of our stay, and in general seemed angry that people were coming to stay on his property. In sharp contrast, the folks from the nearby Antlers resort were unfailingly polite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Tsasdi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Although we all have "bad days" my ultimate goal is for everyone to enjoy their stay to the fullest. Meeting my guests expectations is and will remain my highest priority. Please take time to read the many other positive guest comments and reviews. I think you'll see the overwhelming satisfaction that make Tsasdi all it is. A great experience!

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Tsasdi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We really enjoyed our experience at the intimate Tsasdi Resort. Our 1-bedroom cabin (with a double bed in the living room and in the bedroom) was cozy, I loved the high ceilings, wood paneling, kitchen, and private porch with picnic table. The area is surrounded by trees and right on the lake, a truly lovely setting. Fishing or boating from the private dock is a breeze, though there's no beach area for swimming. The overall location is excellent, with short drives to Dunsmuir and Redding, and restaurants and a market only a couple minutes down the road.

Unfortunately, the walls in the cabins don't have much sound insulation. People in the pool were easily intelligible while we were trying to nap. (Though I do hope "Carl," whoever he is, manages to kick that pneumonia with his fourth round of antibiotics!) If quiet is important, take a look at the map on the website and be sure to choose a cabin on the perimeter. The pool is spotlessly clean (bring your own pool towels) and gently warmed with a solar heating system. Being near the pool is convenient if you want to use the WiFi, though, as it is (deliberately) only available in the main building and adjoining pool and patio areas. There is no phone service, either in the rooms or cellular, due to the secluded location.

Maid service is not included, but all linens are provided (including towel exchange for a period each morning), and the only requirement is to clean and put away the kitchen items before you leave. The manager of the property was extremely helpful and friendly, be sure to ask him if you have any questions. When you go to book, probably best just to call, because while the inventory is viewable online, it's all subject to confirmation by phone, and the online quote I received was a few dollars off.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wnissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My family just stayed at the resort for five nights. The kitchen had everything we needed to get set up. The barbecues needs briquettes but there is a gas barbecue on the main deck that people share. Unit was clean, garbage removed daily, pool was clean and warm, kids loved the games room. We thought the boat launch was right at the resort, it is down the hill, across the street and the down some stairs. Lake Sheriff says you can't swim off the dock so we were disappointed with that. If walking is a porblem for you then this may be hard for you with the hill and the stairs. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunscreen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a wonderful time. The cabins are fully equipped and very clean. Very quiet and peaceful setting. The owner was very nice. The fishing was great. We would definately go back to stay. Great place for families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationmom704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My teenage daughter and I ended up staying here for a couple of nights while we were on a girl's weekend. Being the off-season it was very quiet and peaceful. The cabins are situated on a hill overlooking the lake and a large dock and the view is quite charming. Our cabin was clean and tidy, with nice wooden walls and composite flooring. One potential concern may be that there was no cell phone service, and the wireless signal was weak to non-existent. For me this was a plus, but my daughter was another story. The resort is meticulously managed by its owner, David Grey, who is also a wealth of information about the area and its attractions. We intend to return with the rest of the family to take advantage of the excellent boating and fishing the area offers.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackieV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at this resort. We have been impressed both times by how well kept the cabins and grounds are. The cabin was clean and felt welcoming. The grounds are well kept, neat and clean as are the docks. The staff was friendly and eager to accomodate us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol32837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our stay at Tsasdi resort was superb. We stayed at Cabin # 19. It was very huge and very clean. It has all the things that we look for when we go out for a nice family vacation. We had great fun at his deck, volleyball court and the swimming pool. The owner David Grey is very friendly and helpful. During our stay he helped us a lot. When we were depressed with most of boat rental reservation, he helped us out to get a boat at with a great deal. You can knock on his door any time of the day and he does his best to help you out. I will strongly recommend you to choose Tsasdi resort for your next family vacation at Lake Shasta.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dineshhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
16.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
16.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#25 of 37 in Redding
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,374 reviews
23.9 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
105 reviews
16.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 37 in Redding
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsasdi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsasdi Resort

Address: 19990 Lakeshore Dr, Lakehead, CA 96051-9520
Region: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Known as the best resort" on Shasta Lake. In addition to our cabins, we have incredible venue space for weddings, retreats, & reunions. Located on 20 forested lakefront acres, 20 cabins, incredible 230 ft concrete dock, solar heated swimming pool, game room, satellite TV and more... Enjoy this family resort all year. Off-season, take pleasure in a gas fireplace and embrace the beauty and serenity of this very special location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tsasdi Resort Lakehead, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing