We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than just caves”

Lake Shasta Caverns
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lakehead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“more than just caves”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

not only do you get a Cavern tour, but also a boat and bus ride! From the gift shop , take a short hike (depending on time of year and water level) down to the waters edge, board a pontoon boat and motor across the lake very fun! we had a very knowledgeable guide through the Caverns, awesome formations. Very nice views of the lake and surrounding forests as well. worth the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    92
    22
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Natural Marvel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It's a workout from start to finish, but a natural marvel you cannot miss if you are near. You won't stop saying "Wow!". Hard to take pictures in the near dark caves, but can always buy a nice postcard at the gift shop if you don't have a good camera. Bring lots of water and grab a hold of stairway rails, it's quite slippery inside. A coupon was available online at the time we saw the caves.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank msangelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Natural Wonder”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Tour : It takes about 2 hour. 15 minute walking toward boat, 10 minute in boat, 15 minute in bus afterwards and 25 minutes in the cave. Then coming back by same route.

Ticket: Can be purchased online or at the visitor center. 24$/person

Boat Ride : Nice quick boat road in lake Shasta. Boat driver was very friendly and nice enough to give all the kids in tour 2 minutes first hand driving experience of boat. Kids were screaming with joy.

Bus Ride : Tough ride on mix of dirt/paved single lane road.

Cavern Tour : Simply amazing. Our tour guide Josh was funny and knowledgeable. Tour is basically going from one area(they call it room) of caves to another through strenuous stairs. It starts with Discovery room that has little of all types of caverns. It's really amazing to see how many centuries it takes just to form it little by little. There were about 4 rooms to check. Last room was breathtaking, especially with light effects. Cave is mostly in dark or with little light, so do adjust camera settings.

If you are in Shasta lake area, and want to see something different, this is worth a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PGogri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
278 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great detour!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were on our way from Eugene to Sacramento when we stopped in for a visit. The cost you pay gets you the boat ride, bus ride and tour. From start to finish it is about 2 hrs. Our 3 yr old did all the stairs in the cave. There are hundreds of steps. The view is beautiful and the cave tour was fun for the kids. Well worth the time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“something different”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lake Shasta Caverns was a very different experience for me. The fun doubles because of the ferry and the bus we took to reach the caverns entrance. The entrance was $24 per person, which was kind of okay. It is a one time visit. I don't think I or my wife would want to go there or any caverns again as it is not a very interesting activity. I would rather rent a boat and do some water activity in that area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gkindacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Shasta Caverns also viewed

California, United States
Shasta Lake, CA
 

Been to Lake Shasta Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing