We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly represented”
Review of Mallard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallard House
Ranked #4 of 8 Lakeport B&B and Inns
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“poorly represented”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

very disappointing experience. I booked a one bedroom suite. Their definition of a suite was one small room with a bathroom. There was a small kitchenette, but the fridge was right next to the bed and the kitchen sink (pardon the pun) was flush with the bathroom door. varnish pealing off cabinets. a small table with 2 chairs to eat at, but really only room for 1 chair. no other chairs or place to sit and relax except the bed. no dresser, only an approx 1X3 ft bedside cabinet for clothing. curtains closed with clothes pins. can't lock front door from the outside. have to turn the button from the inside and slam the door shut. Old TV on a rolling cart. power strip on the floor for plug ins. very crowed space. hardly room to turn around. old trailer park on one side in the back of unit. tacky plastic chairs by the lake. paper thin walls . can hear talking and Tv next door. extremely outdated. sagging mattress, uncomfortable bed. could tolerate for one night but no longer

Room Tip: no amenities except free wifi. There is NO public transportation. No buses, trains or shuttle servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lctravelrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
8
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My sister made reservations for us to stay here 6/3 and 6/4/2014 while we went to our grandfather's funeral. I had traveled 2,300 miles away (and 2 planes, one delayed, and a rented car later) to get there. She had called the manager the day before to indicate that we'd be getting there late--as late as 11pm or midnight (due to my travel). The manager, a man, indicted that he would leave the room unlocked with the key inside and that she should also check in with the office.

When we arrived that evening (late), the manager did not answer the doorbell or our knocking. My sister finally called and the manager was very nasty and claimed that she should have not checked in, but just entered the room. He was in error.

The room itself was one of several "half-cottages." I say half because since the place was built, the owners have cut each cottage in half to maximize the number of guests. Unfortunately, whoever did the work was clearly unaware of codes for electricity, water, etc. The places are shockingly poorly set up (with electrical extension cords running all over the place), and our half cottage had a makeshift shower with thin plastic sheets glued together at the seams and a temporary floor and drain on the bottom.

Here's the thing. This place was SO DIRTY and broken down that I wanted to immediately leave. Had it not been so late (and my sister so tired), I would have insisted that she get her money back and we would have stayed in another hotel. Even the Skylark Shores (which is run down and tacky) was a huge jump above the Mallard House Inn. Claiming it was air-conditioned, the place actually just had one old, rattling unit in the back--which meant that the bed in the front (separated by a partial wall) was hot and uncomfortable. When my sister opened up the windows (and brought the old blinds up), the room was sheeted in floating dirt. It was DISGUSTING. I have asthma and this place was so dirty that I later had an asthma attack and had to go to urgent care.

That's how dirty this place was.

The bathroom was horrible. Pieces of caulking and flooring were TAPED to the makeshift shower stall. I couldn't believe my eyes. I littered the floor with towels, hoping that we wouldn't get athlete's foot. The "bed" in the front of the half cottage was a makeshift futon that was unfolded (which we were not told about when making our reservations). The hard, uncomfortable futon mattress was humped up where it crossed over a beam and then sloped down to the front. Whoever was unlucky enough to sleep there would slowly slide off all night.

If you're interested in having a small, dirty fridge and microwave with a tangle of extension cords, this place is for you. Decades ago, someone had taped contact paper and placemats on all the furniture--I suppose this was an attempt to keep the surface of the furniture safe. Of course, this was furniture that would be hauled to the dump if you tried to donate it to the Goodwill... so putting a long strand of office tape on each side is kind of silly.

The next day, I realized that I had accidentally left my funeral clothes in the broken down closet there. When I returned, the "housekeeper" was talking with the manager (a woman this time). I was shocked to find that there was a person who cleaned who worked there since the place was so unclean and unsafe. The manager walked me to a shed behind the hotel. My blouse and outfit was balled up and shoved into a plastic grocery bag and tossed on top of something else. I thought, "Really?" This was the best they could do. I took my balled up, rumpled clothes and drove back where I had to change for my grandfather's funeral. I was so upset, I cried. They were such awful people, it never occurred to them to allow me to change in my old hotel room.

I'm actually contacting the department of public health to report this place. It's far past unsavory.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dubliners099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I find the Mallard House about the best place in regards to motels in Lakeport. Perhaps this is because they are really connected cottages. I think there is 13 of them and only 2 do not have a kitchen area. I stay in #6 and it is like a studio. It tends to be bright and airy although other cottages are even more so. They planned well with mirrors so it seems even more spacious. I love the bathroom because it is a tub and shower (not just a dark shower like the Skylark resort) and everything tends to be white. The manager (Lucy) is very helpful. Of course, there are some glitches (my heater went out but they brought in a portable one) but they clean the places very well. Something I could not get from the Skylark. Actually the atmosphere is very relaxing. Outback they have lawn chairs, outdoor sauna and a deck for Bar B Que and then the dock for boats. It tends to be small and intimate. I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were looking for a reasonable, clean place to stay when visiting with our daughter and her family in Lakeport and we found it. There are no frills but the beds are comfortable, the shower has good water pressure and they put Famous Amos cookies on the pillows! There is also a dock overlooking the lake which is a good place to enjoy your morning coffee. This is our go to place in Lakeport!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We came with a couple of friends and stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean. The managers were very friendly and helpful and recommended a beautiful winery across
the lake (Ceago), where we had a fun afternoon of wine tasting. It was a comfortable place to stay and the rates were a good value. We will be coming back in 2 of months and have already made our reservations to stay again for a couple of days.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a little different so ask for one with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caumont-sur-Durance
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Mallard House Inn. It is a basic inn, with basic deco and comfort. Very little information given by the owner on what to do and where to eat at Lakeport. A drawer was missing on the chest of drawers. Little phonic insulation which means you can benefit from the neighbor's television.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

After being disappointed several times we have made it a point to always stay at the Mallard House in Lakeport. The property in located next to the lake and is a few blocks away from Safeway and CVS pharmacy. Across the street is Renee's, a breakfast and lunch restauraunt favored by the locals. Every room that we've stayed in has an adequately supplied full kitchen. There is a dock on the property leading to a raised platform overlooking the lake.

The price at $79 to $119 is an excellent value and there are usually rooms available on fairly short notice. All the rooms are "cottages" which are primarily duplexes, but older and made of wood. There are small sitting porches outside of most of the rooms with chairs for enjoying the morning or evening hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave7373737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeport
0.0 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#4 of 7 in Lakeport
28 reviews
13.9 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
18 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
252 reviews
15.6 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Lakeport
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard House

Property: Mallard House
Address: 970 N Main St, Lakeport, CA 95453-4306
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Lakeport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeport
Hotel Class:2 star — Mallard House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Mallard House Lakeport, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing