We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget Las Vegas "This hotel treats you like a KING or Queen"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barona Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This little casino lost in the canyons of San Diego is really a special place, I see no reason to travel
all the way to vegas, when a hotel like this is so close to LA.
1. Use your players card - you will get great deals.
2. 90% of the people that work there treat with such kindness.
3. Show me one place in vegas that has people handing out cash & taking care of your food bill, if you play, your there to get lucky, and this place makes your stay, feel like, even if you lose, you win.
Non smoking areas
Excellent Food
Comfortable Beds and well cleaned rooms, with nice peaceful views.
Looking for a getaway, but don't want to go all the way to vegas, this place is in my opinion better.
One place, with fun machines and great service.
A must check out place for fun fun fun !!

Room Tip: Room on the 2000 floor are closer to the casino, less walking involved and great views. I have not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lostinthewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Today was my first trip to the Barona Resort & Casino. Living 2 hours away I was really wanting the experience to be great--I wasn't disappointed. The food, staff and "warm and friendly SLOTS" made on first day memorable to say the least. I will recommend this place to friends and family without any reservation. Go and enjoy--I DID.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I have been a member of Club Barona since 1999- I have found this casino to be the best as far as food, accomadations-friendly staff of all casinos in the San Diego area.
Some people can't understand that liquor is not sold on the floor but it makes for a friendly and no problem experience. In all the years I have never seen a fight or disruption on the floor- I would reccomend this Casino over all others in the San Diego Area. Always clean-

Room Tip: IGolf Coarse view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is one of the nicest casino hotels I've stayed in, and for business reasons I've actually stayed in quite a few, mostly in Las Vegas. What stands out most about this hotel, and it applies to the casino as well, is how very nice and truly service-oriented the people who work here are, which makes a stay here very pleasant & stress-free.

The rooms here are surprisingly nice and large. The furnishings aren't the most "modern" looking, but the important things are all taken care of. The bed is very comfortable, the (complimentary) WiFi & wired high speed internet is excellent and truly "high speed", there is a very nice flat panel TV that swivels for easy viewing from the bed or the sofa (and has a nice selection of stations including HBO), and the lighting in the room is more than adequate. There is also a nice bedside alarm clock/CD player that is easy to figure out, with a reliable alarm. Finally, rooms have a mini-fridge and Keurig coffee maker.

The pool looks lovely -- unfortunately, I didn't have the time to try it. There is a spa on the 7th floor, and a business center on the 2nd floor. I never used these services but I did confirm they're there and open.

Restaurants are in the casino, but the cafe is very close to the corridor connecting the hotel to the casino floor and the food there was also surprisingly good. (For those who care about such things, like me, note that pancakes, french toast & waffles come with REAL maple syrup!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WahineOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I take them to eat there and I loe the buffet its soo good there is mexican american you got it they got it I LOVE it.. ask my 4 year old you say barona he says food.. I can't gamble having my kids.... though... BUt all 5 boys of mine think the pool.. is great too... i and them enjoy are selfs in every thing there... BARONA>>> is like SUPER GREAT!!!! I LOVE U BARONA>>.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morena92040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

we stayed here on a mini staycation and it was great! the hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. the rooms are large and comfortable. we ate at the steakhouse for dinner and it was amazing! great getaway!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lilsnipper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We enjoyed the room, swimming pool area, and casino. Walking into the hotel from the casino quickly reminds you that you do not have to be a gambler to stay here. Hanging by the pool and eating at the great restaurants is pretty relaxing here. The rooms are clean and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
8.9 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
8.9 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
841 reviews
10.5 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
10.8 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barona Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barona Resort & Casino

Address: 1932 Wildcat Canyon Rd, Lakeside, CA 92040-1553 (Formerly Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino)
Region: United States > California > Lakeside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range: £60 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barona Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barona Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barona Valley Ranch Hotel Lakeside
Barona Valley Ranch Resort And Casino
Barona Valley Hotel
Barona Valley Resort
Barona Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing