We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barona Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“smoke”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have stay in the room and they are nice, however, the smoke on busy day can be bad. you must walk through smoking to get to none smoking then your room. I have gotten sick from the massive smoke from cigarette, cigars, and all other smoking device. I wear a mask to save my lungs.

Room Tip: pool side so you can have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    64
    15
    15
    13
See reviews for
45
87
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Received two complimentary nights at Barona, even though I live in TX. Used those nights while visiting San Diego. Every staff member, from bellman, to front desk , to casino staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. It was a wonderful stay and I even won money. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxMap1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a review of the hotel and events center only. We were invited to a 40th anniversary to be held in the events center. Upon check in everyone was super friendly and helpful. We checked into our room and was pleasantly surprised at how big the rooms were and very clean. We went to our event and were amazed at the facility. It was beautiful and large. The staff again were so attentive and friendly. We had an open bar and a buffet style meal that was outstanding! After a long night of eating, drinking and dancing we fell into our ultra comfortable bed with crisp sheets and loads of pillows. It was so comfortable that we almost slept to 10! If you want a great getaway with good restaurants and ambiance this is a nice treat. Also, I would definitely hold a wedding or special occasion at this venue.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My friend and I needed a little R&R.... I also had a gift certificate from my fab son to use. We have been to many spas and consider ourselves connoisseurs of personal attention:}
The checkin area was upscale and welcoming w/ a fireplace, leather sofas snacks, etc. Also some accessories products to peruse while we waited. However, there was no separation from the reception area,,, less privacy for customers ( they should change this) When we were called for our appt......... the masseuse was fab! the room was well appointed I had the hot stone massage, they massaged w/ the hot stones in addition to resting them on the back. This is the first time i dozed during a treatment!! So GOOD!! My friend had the facial and paraffin hand & foot treatment and echoes my sentiments!! This spa second only to the La Costa spa. We plan to return on a regular basis

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a7j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Signed up to become a Club member just before Christmas & while on vacation in San Diego. The staff were friendly & very accommodating! I'm new to 'comped' stuff but the hosts were offered a free(comped) room for the night. We enjoyed our stay. The staff in the casino, food areas & Resort were all so helpful & ready to assist. We also received comped hotel rooms for 2 nights just before the New Year. We experienced the count down into the New Year - free bubbly was on offer until the event, lots of balloons and confetti were released - Great experience! We tried the buffet & the food was super delicious & top notch! Gambled a bit, ate alot of food(even experienced food on a trolley served & eaten while at a gaming machine!) & didnt sleep much lol. The landscape around the resort & pond is beautiful and relaxing. The fish are beautiful to watch swimming around. I'm from NZ so never experienced anything like this before, especially at a Casino lol. Thank you for a great experience to the Super friendly team at Barona Resort & Casino!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bring_1t_0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went to Barona for my birthday with my husband and my brother's family (total of 7). Spent time in the casino. Nice large non-smoking area. Since it was our first time, they actually came up personally to welcome us as we were playing. There is an ice cream vendor in the food court that is to die for. LARGE scoop is just $0.50!!! We went to dinner at The Steakhouse. Fantastic service and the steaks were so delicious. We didn't stay at the resort but will the next time we go. All staff were extremely friendly. Even the gardeners were waving and welcoming us to the property.
Important to drinkers: Alcohol is only served in eating establishments because they don't want patrons to over indulge. Road out is pretty steep and winding.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddgolf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

It is always a good time here! We came in from a week of post holiday SoCal traveling to relax. Friendly staff, little chocolates, and I like the in-room Keurig machine. I love the food court. Especially, the burritos. Plus, winning makes it even sweeter! Don't forget to ask for your comps (free play, points, money for food court)!!! If you don't ask, they won't give it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ren12317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
157 reviews
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Carlton Oaks
#2 of 3 in Santee
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barona Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barona Resort & Casino

Property: Barona Resort & Casino
Address: 1932 Wildcat Canyon Rd, Lakeside, CA 92040-1553 (Formerly Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino)
Region: United States > California > Lakeside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barona Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Barona Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barona Valley Ranch Hotel Lakeside
Barona Valley Ranch Resort And Casino
Barona Valley Hotel
Barona Valley Resort
Barona Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing