We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch on Sunday”
Review of The Tavern at Lark Creek - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tavern at Lark Creek
Price range: US$31 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Baltimore
Description: The Tavern at Lark Creek represents the next chapter in the life of the historic, circa 1888 Victorian Murphy House; a Larkspur landmark. Designed to appeal to diners looking for value, fun and great ambiance, The Tavern at Lark Creek seeks to capture the more casual feel diners look for today. High-backed cherry chairs and period oak tables surround a grand Carrera marble-topped table beneath a giant skylight, providing lots of great seating options for parties both large and small in the main dining room. Oak tables fill the cozy bar, which offers artisanal cocktails and wines from our proprietary tap system. The wood oven has been renewed, along with the garden. A dramatic lighted display case in the entryway welcomes diners. Chef Aaron Wright and Culinary Director Adrian Hoffman’s menu focuses on value, while remaining true to farm-to-table sensibilities.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brunch on Sunday”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

On a very pretty day, we were exploring this small, quaint town on a Sunday morning, and thought we would try the "world famous" Tavern at Larkspur mentioned on the town 's website. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is located on the edge of town in a pretty wooded setting. We saw a lovely outdoor seating area that had been reserved for a special event. We did not have a reservation, and fortunately, were seated immediately inside the main dining room. I ordered Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and my husband enjoyed Pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream. Both were beautifully presented and delicious. Definitely recommend - thumbs up from us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrific Meal”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We entertained guests at Tavern earlier this week. This is our preferred local restaurant, so we are frequent diners. Our dinner Tuesday night was probably the best we ever had there. Every dish was excellent, and our friends, who have extensive Michelin *** experience, thought the sweetbreads were the best they have ever had. The main dining room is charming and the service excellent. For Bay Area visitors who would like to spend a day in Marin and end up at a reasonably priced venue that serves fine food in a pleasant atmosphere, this is a great way to end the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost there”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I go to Lark Creek and enjoy some of the long time favorites.. There fish is fresh and salads good.
Have always loved the house that holds this restaurant.. Of course, in the days past Lark Creek was an amazing restaurant..Special
One thing that I don't understand is why they are not up to date with their Customers that need Gluten free food.. It's one of the few restaurants in Marin that does not understand the importance of eating Gluten free and pretend too. They have a separate menu for Gluten Free but all they do have is take off all items that are Gluten without Adding Anything that we can eat to our meals.. It would be better and more honest if they just said No we don't cater to our customers diet..instead of pretending they do..
Please go read about why people need this diet and start adding really food for your customers
Business will probably flourish

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyplaces7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Food is reasonable value, but the place is very noisy, regardless of the day you are dining. Courtesy parking is very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiburon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great for family”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Good comfort food, good prices. very good wine list. Our server Benjamin was excellent.
The building is old and stunning. TOO bad they let kids in. Noise sure kills the ambience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern at Lark Creek also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing