We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly atmosphere”
Review of The Tavern at Lark Creek - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tavern at Lark Creek
Price range: US$31 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Baltimore
Description: The Tavern at Lark Creek represents the next chapter in the life of the historic, circa 1888 Victorian Murphy House; a Larkspur landmark. Designed to appeal to diners looking for value, fun and great ambiance, The Tavern at Lark Creek seeks to capture the more casual feel diners look for today. High-backed cherry chairs and period oak tables surround a grand Carrera marble-topped table beneath a giant skylight, providing lots of great seating options for parties both large and small in the main dining room. Oak tables fill the cozy bar, which offers artisanal cocktails and wines from our proprietary tap system. The wood oven has been renewed, along with the garden. A dramatic lighted display case in the entryway welcomes diners. Chef Aaron Wright and Culinary Director Adrian Hoffman’s menu focuses on value, while remaining true to farm-to-table sensibilities.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Mostly atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Food was okay but not outstanding. A little under seasoned. Butterscotch pudding dessert was uninspiring although claimed as house special.
Service was hit or miss, a little too informal, and very young.
The setting and ambiance are special, but let down by the rest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good dinner, ambiance”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Without reservations our party of four was accommodated on a Friday night. Our California casual but perky waitress was ok. The meal was delicious. Rainbow trout was perfectly deboned then folded back into a trout. I wondered if I was going to spend hours looking for bones, but never found one. It was delicious with a light caper covering. The thin veggie curls of zucchini and squash were a perfect addition. If you go, get the butterscotch pudding for dessert. Best I ever ate anywhere. Light, sweet, hint of smoke. Perfect. The restaurant is set inside a redwood grove, adding to its charm and ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not quite right…actually, not right at all”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Tried this after not having been for a while (and having been to the Yankee Pier, in the same group, recently), but the experience was the same one.
During half-price the overly bubbly waitress did not know anything about the wine – after asking for some descriptions the usual “this one is popular” came back, and then something, a bit later via the waitress, from the sommelier (if there was one could he/she not have answered our questions).
Asked how many oysters there were in the starter – half a dozen was the answer after checking in the kitchen – and three arrived. Removed for the check when we queried this (she had not noticed her mistake).
The Ahi tuna tartare, toasted almonds, chives, meyer lemon aioli, lettuce cups
was excellent – and that was it. The rest was mediocre, including the deep fried oysters - heavy, almost burnt batter.
Atmosphere okay.
Conclusion: there is better value, service and food in the area – see review on Yankee Pier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newbay415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brunch on Sunday”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

On a very pretty day, we were exploring this small, quaint town on a Sunday morning, and thought we would try the "world famous" Tavern at Larkspur mentioned on the town 's website. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is located on the edge of town in a pretty wooded setting. We saw a lovely outdoor seating area that had been reserved for a special event. We did not have a reservation, and fortunately, were seated immediately inside the main dining room. I ordered Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and my husband enjoyed Pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream. Both were beautifully presented and delicious. Definitely recommend - thumbs up from us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrific Meal”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We entertained guests at Tavern earlier this week. This is our preferred local restaurant, so we are frequent diners. Our dinner Tuesday night was probably the best we ever had there. Every dish was excellent, and our friends, who have extensive Michelin *** experience, thought the sweetbreads were the best they have ever had. The main dining room is charming and the service excellent. For Bay Area visitors who would like to spend a day in Marin and end up at a reasonably priced venue that serves fine food in a pleasant atmosphere, this is a great way to end the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern at Lark Creek also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing