We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Tier”

Left Bank - Larkspur
Reserve with OpenTable
Left Bank - Larkspur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Larkspur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ward St.
Transit: Golden Gate Transit across the street. 5 minute cab ride from the Larskpur Ferry Terminal.
Description: Left Bank is an authentic Parisian-style brasserie located in the historic Blue Rock Inn in charming downtown Larkspur. Built in 1895 during the railroad era, The Blue Rock Inn was a popular weekend destination for San Franciscans to come dance and picnic under the stars. Open since 1994, Left Bank continues to be a destination for folks from all over the Bay Area to enjoy a casual snack on the sunny terrace, a glass of wine or hand crafted cocktail at the lively bar, or an elegant dining experience near the fireplace. At Left Bank, you are sure to capture the true feeling of the Rive Gauche in Paris. Nineteen years of working with local organic farms allows us to bring you the best seasonal ingredients available. Chef de Cuisine Fabrice Marcon offers an often changing, French brasserie menu of hearty, rustic, and authentic dishes featuring a diverse selection of natural meats, sustainable seafood, fresh local vegetables, salads and sumptuous desserts.
Napa, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Top Tier”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Since I live in Napa it has been several years that I have had lunch here. It was just as good as I remember. My friend and I both had the Salad Nicoise Ahi Tuna salad which was great. The service was very good and they went with our slow pace. After lunch we shared the les Profiteroles which we divided on the 2 plates that were provided.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    66
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“French it is but modern Parisienne bistro food would be more descriptive”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Always a pleasant experience. We find the atmosphere to be very Parisienne, especially at night since the front dinning room is much more open and light compared to most comparable restaurants in Paris. But the layout of the restaurant including the bar, dinning rooms and sidewalk cafe style outside dinning are all tastefully done and very comfortable.

We particularly enjoy Paris (but I prefer the food in Italy) and travel about 100 miles to Larkspur from the Central Valley just for a taste of Paris. We have never been disappointed.

Everything about this restaurant can be described as a class act. You are met with a pleasant greeting at the door (but no one offers a cheerful "Bon jour" which is a mistake--one grows so fond of this greeting in France). We have always been seated promptly and the service starts immediately with water, great bread (two distinctive types of French), room temperature butter and a subtle but enthusiastic review of specials. After a reasonable time to make our decisions our waitress returned as if reading our thoughts.

On this visit Anne enjoyed escargot which were served without the shell in a wonderful herb/garlic butter sauce laced with Pernod and not cognac. They were as good as any we have enjoyed in France and better than most. I ordered oysters which were served on ice and seaweed with two great sauces and additional cream horseradish. Outstanding, but I wish the oysters had been somewhat larger.

For her lunch entree Anne had the Salade Nicoise which she described in superlative terms. She asked if she could have the seared tuna cooked to medium which was accommodated without a snide remark or facial gesture as one might experience in some Paris bistros--the only comment was "certainly, but it will take a little longer."

I had the asparagus and fire roasted tomato omelette which was prepared somewhat differently than any I had before. Rather than folded or rolled it was served flat and somewhat thick, more like a frittata or Spanish tortilla. Nevertheless it was very good, subtly seasoned and with the rich scent and the distinctive taste of butter . . . but not greasy. Just right for my taste.

Small touches impressed us. Out waitress was most attentive without being overbearing or artificially courteous--just nice, prompt and efficient. After just a few bites a managerial type stopped by our table to determine if everything was to our liking. All too often in comparably priced U.S. restaurants today this happens only towards the end of the meal when it is too late to correct a problem. Some very good Sancerre added to our dining enjoyment . . . and our mood and memory.

As for dessert? Pas du tout! We enjoyed too much bread and butter to even consider it but the selection was outstanding.

Unless you are really into traditional French regional cooking (organ meats, frog leggs, rabbit dishes, whipped salt cod, etc.) we strongly suggest you experience this particular Left Bank for an outstanding taste of Paris without spending hours and hours in airports and in a plane. Bon appetit!.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food French style”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very friendly waiters. Beautiful little town to visit with lots of interesting shops. Parking lot right in front of the restaurant. Terrace for out door eating.

Visited February 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Greasy spoon by another name”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great location, wonderful sitting outside on a beautiful day but the food was so oily/greasy we couldn't eat it. I got the lamb sandwich my partner tried the gnocci with rock shrimp and the individual pieces were good but the overuse of oil ruined it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I have never had a bad meal here. It's great eat outside. I have the chicken and the stake and veggies instead of freets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Left Bank - Larkspur also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing