We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So, so......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Aspen
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So, so......”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Best part of visit was the airport shuttle. Can't figure out why they call the Best Western Plus,
pluses? This property was an older one, though clean, my tub stopper did not work and the
low flow toilet ran for minutes after it was flushed.

Breakfast was ok, but why do they bother serving boiled eggs that taste like rubber. Otherwise
it was suitable..nothing special. Room was nice, having been a restaurant prior to being their breakfast area.

Phone service in the lobby was a joke, as I had to be out of my room long before it was time to catch a flight. Computers and service was a bit antiquated, but fortunately I had my own computer that worked fine in comparison.

Front desk help was efficient, but was a bit disappointed with the young man who seemed
somewhat new to the task. He obviously did not have guest training and was a bit disturbed
when one asked questions which he had no answers for.

Room Tip: My room was on the side next door to a hotel that obviously had long-term guests with loud children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    95
    84
    30
    30
See reviews for
86
105
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Decent hotel in decent area. close to freeways, beach cities and downtown LA. A very convenient location for business. Good fast food joints fairly close to the hotel but I was not able to find a "really" good restaurant in close proximity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Since I couldn't see any non smoking rooms on the web I call to reserve a non smoking room if available. I was told they did have one n would b my reservation email never got it show up n my non smoking wasn't available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lawndale hotels

Benicia, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from an extended weekend trip to Los Angeles. This motel is what I would consider the typical Best Western motel. It's been here several years. We used to come here years ago for the Japanese buffet that was in what is now the breakfast area. They are in the process of renewing some of the rooms. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The bathroom fan didn't work - no switch, nor did it come on with the motion control light switch. Also, the in room coffee maker would only heat a portion of the water thus requiring multiple cycles to make a cup. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. It had a small refrigerator, but, no microwave. Breakfast was good with hot scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausages, and waffles. Parking is adequate, but, if you get back late, you end up parking a ways down the lot where it's not well lighted - the lot as a whole could be better lighted. We had a pleasant stay and would come back again. Rates are on the lower end for the area and it's in a decent neighborhood with reasonable access to the freeways, but, without the noise.

Room Tip: They have smoking and non-smoking rooms. The desk clerk said they plan on converting to non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeniciaPoiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our room was dingy. The air conditioner/heater unit was extremely loud and did not blow any air. You'd think the cleaning crew or front desk staff would be aware of the fan situation and notify maintenance prior to guests checking in. Lack of air circulation resulted in a very stuffy and warm room. We kept the window open as long as possible, but closed and locked it when we tried to go go sleep. Had to turn on the radio for white noise. The toilet ran long after it was flushed. Bed was ok, but didn't make up for the rest of the room, overstuffed pillows, or the poor night's sleep we had. We didn't even bother with the breakfast.

Here's the kicker. There were motion sensors on the switches that control the lights in the room. When one of us got up in the middle of the night, all of the lights in the room and bathroom turned on. What's with that??

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the airport and we got a "good deal" by pre-paying through a website. I'd gladly pay double for a decent room elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestmama_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my husband had a paid reservation for 2 nights in this hotel. We arrived at 10 PM and the receptionist said there is a flood in some in the rooms and he doesn't know which rooms are empty (and this happened in the morning so the knew whole day but nobody called us or was thinking of relocating us before we arrive). So he was giving keys for different rooms to a hispanic guy to "check" - and I mean he really entered rooms one by one at 11 PM to check if there is person inside! After waiting for more than 2 hours and being a crowd of about 10 more guests (one of them a family with a baby) it turned out the hotel is full and there is nowhere for us to go. We made a huge scandal and by 2 AM we were relocated in another Best Western but they said we can stay only one night and after that we will be relocated again! After a lot of discussions they returned us the money for the second night and we paid the second night in the other hotel. There was no real apologies or anything. We are so pissed we are thinking about suing them. And by the way the receptionist is lazy, slow, stupid and very very rude!

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel ever! You may need to book another one at 1 or 2 AM even if they have confirm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preslava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was booked here when weather canceled my flight. To be fair to the property I was only there like 6 hours. The shuttle driver was efficient, friendly and safe. The property was clean and well maintained. Everything I used worked. It's an older property and the bed was not very comfortable. I was tired, I slept well, but I don't know if I would prefer it for multiple nights. The pool looked nice but didn't have time to use it. They have WIFI and a desktop with internet in the lobby. It was ideal for my very short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawndale
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Lax/Lawndale
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Gardena Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airpark Hotel
BEST WESTERN Airpark Hotel
#5 of 32 in Inglewood
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel
Address: 15000 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, CA 90260-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California located midway between Disneyland and Universal Studios offers comfortable and affordable accommodations including a complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet access, free airport shuttle service, a swimming pool and an exercise facility. The Best Western South Bay Hotel provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television, ample desk space and a refrigerator. Every morning guests at this Los Angeles area hotel are greeted with a complimentary continental breakfast. After a busy day, guests can enjoy a dip in the swimming pool or a workout at the on-site fitness center. Lawndale, California Hotel Location. The hotel is conveniently located 2 to 5 miles from Southern California beaches, midway between Disneyland(R) and Universal Studios(R). Come experience the hospitality and professional service at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California. Visitors to the Los Angeles Area find well-appointed accommodations at this upgraded, Lawndale hotel, only two miles from the beach. This Best Western hotel offers easy access to all the great attractions in the L.A. area including the Hollywood Racetrack and Casino, South Coast Botanical Gardens, the Los Angeles Zoo, Little Tokyo and China Town. Travelers will also find the hotel near the University of California and the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawndale
Lawndale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing