We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price point is a bit high.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The price point is a bit high.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here in a 2 queen room with our 2 kids for two nights.At this price point, I would expect more. It will be a nice motel if the price is around $100 bucks.
Our younger one still sleep in crib, but we were told they are not allowed to carry cribs. I dont know why, but it is ok. I can always try to move one bed against the wall to have her sleep by my side with the wall against her on the other side. But it turns out the bed frame is hard to move, I have to remove the box and mattress first to move the frame and so that I have the opportunity to see the cheap frame.
They dont carry the dryer in the room which is quite a suprise to us. I have to turn on the heater to dry my trail pants. They do offer room service though. There is a big parking lot in front of our room, but we can still peek a corner of the mono lake from our window.
Overall it is a nice and cozy motel, but a bit overpirced for what it offered. I will try to stay in other places next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theTiogaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    84
    84
    31
    37
See reviews for
63
100
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Yosemite Gateway Motel during our trip from Bryce Canyon to Yosemite.

The motel is old and expensive but the staff when we checked in were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are basic and comfortable and quiet at night despite being right next to the highway. The air-con unit was fairly loud but not too bad.

The view from the room of Mono Lake was spectacular.

If you want the luxuries of a top hotel with a gym and all that stuff, don't stay here. If you want a nice place to stay for a couple of nights in a spectacular part of the world close to Bodie, Mono Lake and Yosemite, this would be my choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had travelled over the Tioga Pass wanted to visit Bodie & Mono Lake & wanted to stay somewhere where we could walk to dinner & breakfast the next morning. Yosemite Gateway Motel fulfilled our needs.
We had made our booking some months previously & felt we paid a fair price. Our room was on the lower level, with a partial view of the lake. The room was small & dated but was clean & the bed comfortable.
There was no traffic noise & we heard no noise from neighbouring rooms.
We had no problems getting the Wifi to work.
For a one night stay this motel served it's purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The one positive is that it's close to Bodie and Mono Lake. That's it. We booked three months in advance because we knew it woould be crowded. We were expected to pay IN FULL, with a 25% penalty if we cancelled at any time. In general anything we asked of management was eventually done, but we shouldn't have had to ask for such basic things for such an expensive room. The buildings are old, shabby, and poorly maintained. Our room had a broken outlet at the only place to use a computer, so I had to ask for an extension cord. When I pointed out that the outlet was a fire hazard, the reply was "You don't have to stay here." If all other motels weren't fully booked (which they knew) we would have left. The room was freezing cold, and the heater had an old sign that read "Do not use." They had a panel heater instead that I was told would heat the room in eight hours if we kept the bathroom door and drapes closed at all times. They offered a tiny space heater, but we wouldn't be able to use it while any other electrical device (likethe TV) was on. All the light bulbs were 25 watt, and they had to search find a brighter bulb. Being able to actually SEE the room was a mistake. The carpet was torn and worn, the walls were dingy and badly needed painting, and the curtains hung crooked and were ripped. Also, the shower was cold with little water pressure, and the room had an "old" building smell.
The owner/managementis clearly taking advantage of location and the lack of many other choices. They are making little effort if any in maintaining even basic safety necessities, let alone any amenities.
I absolutely would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay any where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We planned our trip last minute and there was not much choice so we stayed 3 nights in this motel.
It was close to end of the season but still a way too expensive for what it is. The internet connection was extremly slow. It was clean and one could hardly hear people in neighbouring rooms (which is usually not the case in motels).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruehnudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area, ca
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently stayed here one night for a road trip to the Eastern Sierras to see Fall Colors.

DH and I shared the DELUXE 2-ROOM FAMILY SUITE with DB and his wife and we had plenty of room. There are two sinks which made getting ready really easy when someone was using the shower or the toilet.

The room was quiet and had great view of Mono Lake. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was also updated [ glass shower ]. Room temps were good, no issue with heating at all.

Would stay here again. Bonus was getting to meet Ozzy the friendly cat who lounges in the lobby area. Front desk also friendly.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, many of the rooms are well appointed with nice views. If you have the optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipnchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August. The room was yes on the small side, but really cosy, pretty and immaculately clean. We were in the room directly next to the office with an amazing view of Mono Lake from the shared outside patio. Really comfortable bed- didn't want to get out of it!The only thing that made me give four rather than five stars is the busy road noise. This actually wasn't as disturbing as I thought it might be and it certainly didn't disturb our night's sleep( we live in a really quiet place and I am hyper- sensitive to traffic noise)- and the road noise would apply to anywhere in Lee Vining. The lady at reception was charming, helpful and friendly. This was our second stay- and would love to come back and would definitely recommend (we have stayed in other hotels in Lee Vining- this is our favourite).

Room Tip: When we stayed a few years ago we were in room 11 or 12, which are much further away from the road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
593 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,394 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
200 reviews
13.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Gateway Motel

Property: Yosemite Gateway Motel
Address: 51340 Highway 395, PO Box 250, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Region: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Yosemite Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Gateway Hotel Lee Vining
Yosemite Gateway Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing