We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small motel”
Review of El Mono Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Mono Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

There is a warm feel about the place; the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The coffee shop attached to the motel is cozy with excellent coffee and baked goods. There is a beautiful garden where you can enjoy the morning coffee.

The rooms are rather small though.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I arrived in Lee Vining after a 7 hour drive from L.A. We were going into the Park at Yosemite the next day. We stayed at El Mono. This is an old place that has been recently refurbished. The current owners have really done a nice job. Flowers were in bloom everywhere on the outside. On the inside, new paint and new caulk in the bathrooms -- definitely signs of folks who care a great deal about their property. The rooms are smaller by the standards of most today, but ours was cut up so that it was really a two-room suite. The weather was wonderful, so we slept with the windows open. We sat out on the porch in front of our room in some nice chairs. We had a peaceful and wonderful stay. Try the owner's baked goods, too, especially the pumpkin spice bread!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReadyAllredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We love the El Mono and the Latte Da, and have looked forward to our visits for almost 10 years. Yes, the rooms are small, and it is an older property, but it is lovingly cared for. Since visiting Lee Vining and the surrounding Yosemite area is not about the room, but about the outdoors, we don't mind the small rooms. Sitting in the garden, having a coffee is refreshing and relaxing. The wifi is good, so we don't need TV. Besides, in summer the sun is out until late, so more time to enjoy outside. The nearby Mobil has live music weekly, and the Lee Vining Chamber of Commerce has interesting activities as well. Kelly is a lovely host.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms are tiny. I mean really small. I knew the bathrooms and showers were down the hall, but I didn't realize you share them with patrons of the coffee shop, too. The shower area was unacceptably tiny. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielNNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 1 night here.
Stuff was friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very clean and cozy + furniture has an awesome old-school design.
And a good bonus for any morning - they make a great coffee at the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siarhei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ok for its price. Our room was very small. Location near to Yosemite is convenient. We took a room with shared bathroom. But ok for a couple And one night. Everything is expensive near to Yosemite. Had wifi but no Tv.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

They don't have TV, but do have internet. Simple but funky decor. Most rooms share a bathroom. No drab, look alike rooms, in room coffee machines or (god forbid!) snack bars. Very pleasant, well lit, homey rooms, extremely friendly staff and simple but delicious cafe food define this place. have a good cup of coffee in relaxing chairs in the garden. Very reasonable too.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have views of Mono Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
261 reviews
21.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
21.5 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
218 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Motel

Address: 51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Region: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
El Mono Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing