We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking but worth it.”
Review of El Mono Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Mono Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We didn't have a place to stay near Mono Lake and picked El Mono in Lee Vining. It didn't disappoint, it was small but very clean, quiet and friendly. They don't have TV or air conditioning but it really didn't seem to matter.
The coffee shop makes great coffee for first thing in the morning plus a good selection of baked goods and sandwiches.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

After several days camping in the dusty wilderness of Masonic, I was thankful just to get a room at this reasonably-priced motel during 4th of July weekend. So when my family arrived to a lovely garden, cozy cafe, delicious pastries (including several gluten-free ones!) and friendly folks, we felt like we hit the jackpot. Sure, the rooms are small (we had a room with beds and a sink only, sharing bathrooms like in a dorm), but who wants to hang out inside when you're in Mono County? Even just sitting in the chairs outside our room was relaxing, and well worth vacation time spent. We would come back here in a heartbeat, even if it wasn't in such a beautiful scenic area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sloejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been staying at the El Mono for the past 10 years or so. While the rooms are small, they are perfect for our activities, which is to head up to Tuolumne meadows or East Sierra trails and spend the long summer days hiking or hanging out by the streams. We come home (the hotel) and take a shower and collapse in bed to sleep like stunned Ox till the next morning. Then there is the fabulous Latte Da Cafe in the morning and a foccacia breakfast sandwich that is all homemade, connected to the hotel. I get up in my pj's and grab a double latte to get us going.
There are no frills in the room, little room for anyone with extensive luggage and the majority of rooms do not have a private bath, but there are several rooms that do. There are also several rooms that have family size accommodations, especially the #11 upstairs that has a King bed and two twins, sharing the bath with only one other room upstairs.
One does have to be tolerant of noise because the sound travels between walls. Though I have to say that most of the guests are usually in bed by 10pm, so it really isn't an issue until the early risers start getting up at 5:30. The mattresses are excellent, and pillow and comforters. One thing that I really like is that unlike many other hotels, the comforter covers are washed often. Linens are high quality. All this leads to a really good sleep experience.

Room Tip: Take what you can get, as each room as its own personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nubra_Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Friendly staff, a wonderful coffeehouse frontage and queues for coffee from 7am - so you know it's good! Small functional rooms in a row beside a beautiful garden with lots of seating outside and under the eaves. Our room was en suite. Quiet as off the main road. Amazing value. Stay there & get a coffee in the morning. Eating places in town average but folk raved about the petrol station restaurant where chef gets rave reviews. It's back up the Tioga Road a little.from the Tioga Pass/Lee Vining corner so driving there probably best. Area good for exploring Tufa beds at Lake Mono and weird volcanic landscape; excellent visitor centre in Lee Vining.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank djdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

There is a warm feel about the place; the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The coffee shop attached to the motel is cozy with excellent coffee and baked goods. There is a beautiful garden where you can enjoy the morning coffee.

The rooms are rather small though.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I arrived in Lee Vining after a 7 hour drive from L.A. We were going into the Park at Yosemite the next day. We stayed at El Mono. This is an old place that has been recently refurbished. The current owners have really done a nice job. Flowers were in bloom everywhere on the outside. On the inside, new paint and new caulk in the bathrooms -- definitely signs of folks who care a great deal about their property. The rooms are smaller by the standards of most today, but ours was cut up so that it was really a two-room suite. The weather was wonderful, so we slept with the windows open. We sat out on the porch in front of our room in some nice chairs. We had a peaceful and wonderful stay. Try the owner's baked goods, too, especially the pumpkin spice bread!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReadyAllredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We love the El Mono and the Latte Da, and have looked forward to our visits for almost 10 years. Yes, the rooms are small, and it is an older property, but it is lovingly cared for. Since visiting Lee Vining and the surrounding Yosemite area is not about the room, but about the outdoors, we don't mind the small rooms. Sitting in the garden, having a coffee is refreshing and relaxing. The wifi is good, so we don't need TV. Besides, in summer the sun is out until late, so more time to enjoy outside. The nearby Mobil has live music weekly, and the Lee Vining Chamber of Commerce has interesting activities as well. Kelly is a lovely host.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
261 reviews
21.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
21.5 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
218 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Motel

Address: 51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Region: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
El Mono Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing