We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confused”
Review of Lake View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“confused”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

In Lee Vining, CA there are not a lot of choices for hotel rooms. The Lake View Lodge is a nice place but a little run down. That said we stayed two nights one night in the main lodge and one night in the #9 cabin. Both accommodations were nice..
But here is where I'm confused. The rooms have little signage all over, asking guests to be environmentally conscious. "please reuse your towels and help the environment" you know that type of thing....
But a quick look around the rooms and you notice leaky plumbing? You also note that they use high capacity toilets 3 to 5 gal.per flush. There was not one energy efficient light bulb any where. The heating and AC units were the old energy wasting type - no energy stars here.

Some easy fixes and this place could be saving not only the environment but a lot of money from their utility bills.

So although I see nothing wrong asking guests to reuse the Lodges very thread bare towels, I'm thinking if you are really concerned about the environment - Energy Savings should start at home .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    248
    173
    54
    32
See reviews for
131
298
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in one of the bare bones cabin. It was perfect. It really was barebones. One bed, with a main light and a bedside light and that's about it. But you did get your own little fenced of garden with furniture and a fire pit. The bathroom was shared between us one other cabin which was next door. One male bathroom and one female bathroom. We had a great nights sleep and didn't hear any noise. We were also given a towel.
We visited mono lake which is worth a a visit. $3 charge per person and only 10 min drive away.

Room Tip: From the previous reviews I'd say the barebones cabin is where you want to stay - quiet and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3m1ly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The lake View Lodge in Lee Vining is right at the foot of the Eastern Sierra's. Outside your door you will find yourself looking out at Mono Lake and majestic mountains. The environment is peaceful and the entire place is calm.
Lee Vining is a census-designated place in Mono County, California, United States. It is located 21 miles south-southeast of Bridgeport, at an elevation of 6781 feet. Lee Vining is located on the southwest shore of Mono Lake.

The rooms are large and spacious. The air conditioners work fine and after a day of sightseeing or fishing, it is nice to see your room quickly cooling down. Because of the altitude, ask for a room on the first floor.

Plenty of space and room to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor. You are at a much higher elevation and those stairs can drain you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMan2xReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The cozy cabin was perfect for the two of us. Early June visit and very littlectraffic. Bird house on a tree next to the front deck was awesome.

The amenities are basic. Slightly small shower, but plenty of hot water.

There is a smll tv, and homestly with all the beauty atound us, we never even turned it on.
Plenty of room for a comfortable stay.

The kitchen had burners, coffeemaker, microwave and refrigerator. Stocked with plates, cups, cooking utinsils which is handy and a big plus.

Soap is there to wash the dishes too. Didn't find the broom/dustpan right off (It's in the closet).

The grounds have mature trees and plants and there is a nice deck among them where you have a pretty great view of Mono Lake.

A great place to stay on the road to Yosemite.

Highly recommend!

I will definitely stay here again. Hopefully when it is snowing! Mono lake covered in snow is spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank email4saundra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

With all that I have already mentioned above, there is more.
They were doing construction right behind our unit, digging holes, moving dirt, etc.
Also, not enough towels for everyone especially where kids are concerned, kids always need more. This may be the best hotel in the area, for me they will NOT get my repeat business. Customer service is not a priority.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDaLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

If you're staying in Lee Vining you're likely en route to Yosemite and Lee Vining is conveniently close.

The town itself is odd yet charming. It's fun to explore and mingle with the locals.

Lake View Lodge is clean and well kept. It has a mix of motel style accommodation options and cabins.

Despite what the signs say the wifi rarely worked properly and Apple products couldn't pick it up at all. Also the tv reception was very poor.

Requested early check in was unavailable

That being said for the purpose of somewhere to rest while in the area it's absolutely fine.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed there one night. Great location if you want easy access to the east side of Yosemite. In twenty minutes we went from the hotel room to climbing up to Gaylor lakes in the park. The rooms are large and clean although they were dated. As for the Lake view I never saw it. But for the price and what I was looking for (cheap place close to Tioga Pass) it was the best spot around and certainly met my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the upper level to the left side of the hotel as you face it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
247 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,387 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
199 reviews
22.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,134 reviews
13.3 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Lodge

Property: Lake View Lodge
Address: 51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Region: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Lee Vining
Lake View Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing