We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, friendly owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leggett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redwoods River Resort & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, friendly owners”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I really can't say enough about Redwood River Resort. They bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy your stay.

Jack and his oh-so-kind mother are excellent hosts. This is a great way to enjoy the giant redwoods of Northern California without forgoing the standard amenities.

Room Tip: Paul Revere cabin has two decks and an outside kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dmstoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHarrisonMngmnt2013, Guest Relations Manager at Redwoods River Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Wow! What kind words! Sounds like you've maybe been coming here for a while. We LOVE IT when our guests feel at home here and we have so many that do. It means a lot that you took your time to share your thoughts about The Resort. We are working very hard this Off-Season to continue to make this a better place and welcome any suggestions. If you like Paul Revere, you'll LOVE the new 2 bedroom rental, The Redwood that sleeps 6. You can see new pictures on our Facebook and if you "like" us, you'll be among the first to see new specials and follow along with the new remodel of the Recreation Room as we turn it into an English Pub themed Great Room. Hope you'll come back this winter and take advantage of our new 2 night specials. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    76
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
185
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here it was peaceful and quiet. We only stayed one night but we enjoyed the beauty. In the morning the office helped us with a map and some ideas on going through the Avenue of the Giants. Very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHarrisonMngmnt2013, Front Office Manager at Redwoods River Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we appreciate you sharing your experience here with others. We hope that you come back and stay a little longer next time to enjoy the real beauty of this area. Helping our guests is always important to us, so I am very happy that we were able to assist you & hope you had a great day on The Avenue. Thank you for choosing Redwoods River Resort and we hope that you'll come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feildbrook ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

very clean friendly campground in the redwoods
i stay every year and always have a good experience the pool is great and very convenient to have a store on the grounds the cabin i stayed in was awesome

Room Tip: the cabin is so cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fogdogb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHarrisonMngmnt2013, Guest Relations Manager at Redwoods River Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at the Resort. It is so nice to know that you keep coming back. We LOVE to hear that from our guests and are thrilled to be a place that you chose to come back to year after year! We hope you keep up that tradition. We are working hard all Winter long to improve this special place...one project at a time. Look forward to seeing you next year! Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been coming here for years with a big group. We ways book rooms in the lodge and campsites. We love the karaoke, ice cream social and walk down to the river. We will keep the tradition going for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo3jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHarrisonMngmnt2013, Guest Relations Manager at Redwoods River Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
So awesome to know that you've made coming to The Resort a family tradition. We are truly honored! As you know this magical place is the perfect spot to gather friends and relatives and spend quality time together. You'll be please to know we are turning our Recreation Room into a fabulous English Pub themed Great Room complete with bar and fireplace, which we hope will add to your experience here. We also have a Clubhouse in case you weren't aware that you can rent for private use. Thanks for sharing your experience here, we look forward to seeing you & your group again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeport, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Greatly enjoyed my stay here and look forward to staying here again in the future. Stayed in one of the rooms which was great; comfortable bed and a great little kitchen! I recommend this place to everyone! The staff were all very helpful and super friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHarrisonMngmnt2013, Guest Relations Manager at Redwoods River Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us a review, and a WONDERFUL one at that! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and plan on coming back. We really appreciate the kinds words and that you tell your friends about us means a lot. We really try to make people feel at home and help in whatever way we can. We'd love to have you come back in the Off-Season when we are running some great specials at discounted rates. We are working hard to get the word out and working on some unique packages like Cooking Classes, Yoga, & Wine Tasting weekends. Like us on Facebook to keep updated if you wish. Thanks again and hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nice staff, larger RV sites could use some gravel. We were told to look for the large graveled site just around the corner. Ahhhhh....what gravel? Bring a matt unless you want lots of dirt in the RV. The mosquitos are terrible! The moderate walk to the river is worth it, but it is a little more than moderate. Those not in shape should not try it. We are avid hikers, but the people with us struggled with the trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkies08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed four nights in our 27' travel trailer. We were quite pleased with the resort, with a couple of annoyances. The mosquitos are horrible. One evening, we couldn't use our campfire or go outside, even after using repellant. The store has dozens of cans of repellant on their shelves, so it must be a common problem. I mentioned it to the clerk, and he said "Yep! They'll carry you away if you don't watch it! The resort is aimed towards families with younger children, with many activities, games, and equipment for them. We are in our seventies, and like a little solitude, which we found in our space at the back of the park. I don't think we would have been able to cope with the front area, being open and full of tent campers, and kids. Saturday evenings are bonkers, with Karaoke until 10 PM. We could hear it, but it wasn't too bad where we were. Also, they don't warn you about the activities across the road at Confusion Hill. Saturdays, they have train robberies for the tourists! I was relaxing in camp, when a series of LOUD gunshots rang out. Not a good thing for a veteran! I got down and called the office, and they said it was just the show across the road. Nice! At least they should tell you when you check in.
The people manning the office seemed to be friendly enough. The park is kept very clean. I noticed that some of the overhead wiring in the park was not up to code...not even close! Our part of the park had underground electrical, and had no problems.
Nice swimming area down a very steep 350 yard trail. Watch out for the wood steps at the bottom, they are broken.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay. We wouldn't go there on a Holiday, or during festivities due to crowding. We also would have to have our space at the back.

Room Tip: We stayed in our trailer, and don't know about the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsmith42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leggett
10.3 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
15.5 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
23.7 mi away
The Inn at Newport Ranch
The Inn at Newport Ranch
#3 of 12 in Fort Bragg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwoods River Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwoods River Resort & Campground

Property: Redwoods River Resort & Campground
Address: 75000 Highway 101 N, Leggett, CA 95585-8910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Leggett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Leggett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Redwoods River Resort, your place for family, friends and fun in the Northern California Redwoods. Our Resort features a motel & cozy cabins both with kitchenettes and BBQ's. You'll love our 2 bedroom, 2 bath + bunk room vacation rental with gas BBQ and fire ring. In addition to the rooms and cabins we have RV sites with full hookups, tent camping sites & 1 beautiful group site with brick BBQ. We offer a Clubhouse with full kitchen that is also available for rent. In the summer of 2015 we added a beautiful Beer, Wine & Espresso bar that also serves hot food. There are two TV's so you don't have to miss your favorite sports event! It is located adjacent to the Recreation Room for kids and adults. We also have a small store to supply you with most items you might need. We offer a variety of free fun activities for guests of all ages. Our Recreation Room has air hockey, foosball, ping pong, pool table, and satellite television. There are outdoor games such as shuffleboard, volleyball, badminton and horseshoes. Younger guests will enjoy their choice of our two playgrounds, Camp Jordan (toddler playground) and Fort McCaffison. Summer visitors will appreciate our heated pool and private access to the Eel River, which has two wonderful swimming holes. You also might love the Friday Night Movie's in the Clubhouse, Rock Painting, or Saturday night Ice Cream Social and Karaoke by the Campfire! (May-Sept) We offer visitors a wide variety of accommodations as well as indoor and outdoor activities, which makes our place a wonderful get-a-way for Family Reunions, Weddings, Retreats or Corporate events. With our prime location on the Eel River, our proximity to several state parks, Confusion Hill, hiking and biking trails, and the abundance of our ancient giant Redwoods, we hope to be your next destination in the Northern California Redwoods! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing