We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Lemon Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This bed & breakfast was very charming. I'll start with the good stuff: very nicely decorated, LOVED the Gone with the Wind theme, nice pool & grounds, great location, very clean, hosts were nice, good morning glory muffins at breakfast. The things that weren't as good were: I could always clearly hear the neighbors in the next room even when they were talking in normal voices. Usually we have the TV on when we stay in bed & breakfasts to buffer the sound but there wasn't one. The lack of TV is our fault though as we should have checked that out before we booked. The wi-fi went in and out alot and the breakfast didn't have much selection. The first day we were there, the only choices besides yogurt & fruit were salsa muffins and chile relienos (not sure of spelling). I don't really like spicy things for breakfast so I would have liked to have had some other choices. Also, we had the Scarlett room and the quality of the bed could have been better. I thought it was a little pricey compared to what we've paid for B&B's in the past. In general though, I thought this place was very nice and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorilscsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived late afternoon without a booking and was welcomed by Marie. She gave us a tour and selection of the rooms available. She also may a recommendation for dinner which were spot on! Breakfast was delicious with homemade granola and baked fritata. Breakfast is served between 8.30 - 9.30 which might be a bit restricitive if wanting to head off up the mountain early however perhaps something could be arranged. The price was higher than we would normally pay though. Air con was noisy. Otherwise, the rooms have a charming Gone With the Wind theme and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosvark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Today was Marie's birthday and she was still at the kitchen serving breakfast. Happy birthday. Family run b&b with great atmosphere. 24 Hour swimming pool and hot tub was an unexpected bonus and choice for breakfast homemade with a gourmet aubergine omlette option. No tv in room ( bonus) but there was use of wifi . Never seen humming birds before. Enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kremmen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great stay quite expensive but room was gorgeous and hosts charming.Would liked a little more choice of cooked breakfast but it all was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane13CheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

but then isn't everything. One of the great things about Plantation is that the owners know that they serve best when they are rested themselves and so they do not wear themselves out chasing the guests around. Our keys were waiting for us with some simple instructions. The room was quiet comfortable and quiet, the Tub was deep and the water was hot! I particularly loved walking in the grounds, bot in the early morning and at twilight.

Room Tip: ask upon reserving about which rooms are upstairs, if this is a consideration for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikingfuneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed there a few years back. What I remember the most is the food, being the foodie that I am. Chef Marie (I belive that's her name) made some fabulously exquisite dishes for breakfast. To this day, I even remember a wonderful granola mixture she made..something that sounds so simple, but had such a gourmet twist to it! There was a wonderful quiche..just wonderful.

The "back yard" is so spacious and not yard looking at all. It was like a mini getaway forrested park with trees and green lawn that stretched out back..rather big and nice if you want to sit out or walk around..it was huge so a few people could walk around back there and still feel some sense of privacy. The rooms were very old hollywood style (in my opinion)..we liked it a lot. A nice get away and I would recommend it!

Room Tip: The smaller room has a full bed which my husband and i thought was too small once we got there. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent a couple of nights during our fly drive to Calfornia. This place was magical and fun. We were made very welcome. The breakfasts were the best on the whole trip (and some of the others were pretty good!). Sitting outside, with the views and watching the humming birds made it a place to remember.
The advice given on the best routes and priorities to see made it a brilliant choice. Thanks

Room Tip: We liked the one with the library bathroom. Makes sense when you get there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lemon Cove
9.4 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
22.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,429 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33038 Sierra Dr, Lemon Cove, CA 93244-1700
Region: United States > California > Lemon Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Cove
Price Range: £106 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from the main entrance of SEQUOIA National Park, with seven romantic "GONE WITH THE WIND" theme rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub open 24 hours. A full gourmet breakfast is prepared by Chef Marie and served outside in the garden courtyard. AAA 3 diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Plantation Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing