We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Lemon Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2007

This property is particularly easy to recommend. The rooms are decorated with a "Gone With the Wind" theme. There are a great pool and sauna and, oh, the _breakfasts_ - deliciously different daily, with fresh squeezed orange juice. Chef Marie and Scott are very gracious and helpful. Go no where else, if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank plugjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2007

My wife and I have stayed at The Plantation several times in the last 5 years. When we would go up to see our son at Cal State Fresno, we would sometimes stay the 45 minute drive away at the B&B instead of staying in Fresno. We have stayed in several rooms and have enjoyed all of them. The house is an old style that fits the name The Plantation. Scott and Marie are wonderful people as well as great cooks. We have met many nice people staying with us. I've enjoyed the hot tub late at night, or a hammock in the back yark in the morning, just reading and enjoying the sights and sounds. I've sat on the vernada overlooking the highway in the early evening and watched the sun set behind the orange tree covered hill, with an occasional car or truck passing by. Quiet at night. Comfortable beds. We're going again over Spring Break for three nights. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MikeR714ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fairfiled, Ca
13
Reviewed 31 August 2004

I would not recommend staying at the plantation bed and breakfast. We had reservations for two nights and stayed in Melanie. The room had squeeky floors and had NO privacy being that your bathroom was basically down the hall. The room was so small and was right up against two other rooms where you could hear everything that was going on in either rooms. If you are looking for privacy by any means, then don't stay here. Thankfully we had to leave early because my husbands job required us to be in California a day early, but we were still charged for two nights which was extremely dissapointing. The only reason I didn't rate it terrible was because the breakfast in the morning was very good and the only thing that wasn't bad about the whole experience.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2004

We had a perfectly relaxing 2 night getaway at the plantation earlier this week and adored the place. We enjoyed all the amenities of hot tub, pool and beautiful lawn. The casual-formal approach of the innkeepers, Scott and Marie, definitely works here. Nothing is uptight, but everything is just right. Thanks for your special touches! Lynn & Victor

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, England
11
Reviewed 21 July 2004

We stayed here for one night in September 2003 and couldn't fault the place! We stayed in the Mammy room which had a large bed, TV/VCR in the room and a small shower room. The room was downstairs and lead out onto a small patio and then onto the pool. The B&B is set in fantastic gardens with a hot tub, hamocks, chairs, longers and tables dotted around for you to use. Scott & Marie were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fabulous. We would certainly recommend this as a place to stay if visiting Sequoia & Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2004

We found the Plantation B&B to be a delight. The innkeepers were very gracious, the breakfasts were superb, and the atmosphere very relaxing.
I don't feel the previous review writer did their homework before booking a room - the website describes each room in detail. The innkeeper Marie gave us a tour of the inn and all of the rooms looked very inviting to me. Some of the rooms do have antique claw-foot tubs in the rooms (as described on the website) which are quite quaint. Some rooms do list tv's in the rooms, others do not. Our room was not overly spacious but comfortable with a gas fireplace that was very inviting during the cool evenings. We did not need any additional space in the room as there was a large social room with fireplace (& excellant library of videos) as well as wonderful places to relax in the tropical gardens out back or by the pool. Every morning before breakfast we took a private soak in the hot tub surrounded by orange trees and palms with a view of the mountains as a backdrop. Scott served fresh squeezed orange juice (from his own trees) and Marie's granola is to die for.

2  Thank PattyinMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
El Segundo, CA
14
Reviewed 29 August 2003

We made last minute reservations at this bed and breakfast. It sounded wonderful over the phone, but we were very disappointed we we arrived. It is an older house with squeaky floors and low ceilings and a very steep staircase to the upper floor. Although the house was air conditioned and we had an overhead fan it was still very warm inside. Our room was dark, the bathroom was very small and provided no storage area for overnight articles, and the antique tub was out in the room. The room also had no sitting area for relaxing or reading. Their website states there is a TV/VCR in the rooms, but our room did not have one.We had made reservations for three nights, but an emergency came up at my husbands work which necessitated us leaving after one evening, but we were charged the full three days, which we felt was unfair.I certainly would not recommend this bed and breakfast. It was not up to our standards.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lemon Cove
9.4 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
22.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,432 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33038 Sierra Dr, Lemon Cove, CA 93244-1700
Region: United States > California > Lemon Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Cove
Price Range: £107 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from the main entrance of SEQUOIA National Park, with seven romantic "GONE WITH THE WIND" theme rooms. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi hot tub open 24 hours. A full gourmet breakfast is prepared by Chef Marie and served outside in the garden courtyard. AAA 3 diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Plantation Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing