We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True the grounds are gorgeous but the view is limited and so is the cell service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #3 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 May 2013

PROS...The grounds are superior especially if you are into botanical garden settings. The cottage is spacious and decorated nicely. The bed was big and cozy. The village is so quiet. There is an ocean view.

CONS... There are a few pretty big spots on the carpet. The security is minimal, just one button lock on the front door. The ocean view is slight but nice, I thought it would be closer with a larger view. My 2 biggest issues... 1) zero cell service. Little River is a complete DEADZONE, and to make things worse there are no landlines is the cottages. So, I have no phone for emergencies, no phone to call room service or call the front office. They said there was a way that they could add our phone to micro cell enhancer or something and we would have phones but no, didnt work. 2) no tv in the bedroom upstairs and the sliding glass door going out to the patio has a broken lock and very difficult to open and close.
I guess I thought all the kinks would be worked out after all these years of business.

Bottom line it is nice but I next time is will stay in Mendocino and avoid some of this.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreesiaSMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilaProperties, Owner at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write, your feedback matters to us!

We carefully chose the photographs that are on our website making sure that we correctly represent our property and our views.

The security of our guests is of utmost importance, even in an area like this where there is an extremely low crime rate, Although we have never had issues with regard to doors and locks, in response to your review, we are double checking making sure that all of our doors are in sound repair and working order.

It is unfortunate that we have less than perfect communication services in this area, but we are on the edge of the continent here and make adjustments along with everyone else who lives here. We offer the office phone to our guests at all times, both while the office is open and by leaving it in an accessible location for any emergency or just for their convenience, such as ordering room service, when the office closes. We offer to make reservations for all of our guests for any restaurant or local activity as well.

While we make every effort to anticipate the needs of our guests and any repair that may be needed, there are always unexpected issues that need to be addressed, just as there would be in your own home. Please remember the next time you join us that all you have to do is ask and we will try to make your stay as perfect as possible.

We look forward to your return. Sandy VanderBes, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

These cottages are well-appointed with a nice living area and fireplace, large kitchen and great views. We brought our dog and he enjoyed looking out the windows onto the property, and playing with other dogs on the lawn. Each cottage seems to have an ocean view - the property is up the hill and across HWY 128 from the ocean. To get to the beach, we did have to walk down HWY 128, and at times there was no shoulder, which I didn't love...
There is a shop and restaurant nearby. The property is about 45 mins north of Point Arena and about 10 mins south of Mendocino town and the beautiful Headlands. There are so many places for an active dog to roam and play and many restaurants with an outdoor area where pets are welcome - we loved the Mendocino coast and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Cottages fulfiled all of our expectations. Beginning with an early check in at 1 to the moment we checked out we almost hated living the cottage to explore Mendocino and Ft. Bragg. The innkeepers are beyond friendly and helpful. Whatever we asked for arrived at our door immediately. A great joy and plus is that every cabin has a view of the ocean thanks to the clever placement of the cottages. Beautiful grounds complement the surroundings. We took advantage of the full kitchen (everything you could possibly need) for breakfast and lunch. I can still imagine myself sitting on the couch, looking out the window at the ocean and being mesmorized. This is truly what a getaway is all about! We loved our 3-night stay and we will definitely be back! We were in Mendocino cottage, which has been newly updated, but I would recommend any of them for view and comfort.

Room Tip: Farallon and Elk probably have the best views, but I think Mendocino was best for layout, bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

These cottages are the perfect home base when exploring the Mendocino coast. They are comfy and clean and run by incredibly nice people. We stayed in the Caspar cottage and loved our view. Each cottage has a slightly varied view of the one of the most beautiful coast lines around and comes equipped with many of the comfortable amenities that home offers. Also when they say they are pet friendly, they really mean they love your pet!! Our dogs accompanied us on our trip and were treated so kindly by the staff at the inn. They even provided them with there own beds and bowls and treats. I really can not wait to visit this special place again, highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

These cottages are super comfortable and very well equipped. The front desk was very helpful, and even called me about my request to check in early and they accomodated us. The cottages are very well layed out, with nice views, comfortable living area and furniture. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rm94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

As others have noted, the Cottages at Little River are spacious, comfortable, and clean. We had a great trip in just last week (January 2013) and the Cottages had a lot to do with that. We were greeted warmly by the inn keeper and found them all to be kind and helpful. We stayed in Farallon, which is the cottage closest to the office, but also no other cottage in between it and the ocean view (attached a pic from the deck of our cottage). The cottage consisted of a large room that had the kitchen and dining table, couch, reading chair, tv, and fireplace. The bedroom was a separate room off of the main room. We stayed for five nights. The cottages are perfect for longer stays given the space and well-appointed kitchens -- nice GE appliances and good kitchen utensils. Location is great too as the Cottages are only 2 miles south of the Village of Mendocino. Picked up groceries a couple times at Harvest market there. Also a number of good restaurants there. All in all, a great trip and would highly recommend the Cottages for those looking on the North Coast. We plan on being back, but probably not as quickly as we would like.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

What can I say? I needed to recuperate from the holiday rush. I love hiking, the ocean, fireplaces and lounging around... I looked at the reviews for the Cottages and thought - why not? Surprisingly, It exceeded my expectations. The grounds are lovely with an herb garden. The cottage area is quaint and quiet cottage. The cottage is stocked with just about everything we needed (minus the food items), extra blankets, towels, paper goods including paper towels in the kitchenette, and a throw blanket on the sofa. and it is immaculate. We arrived 90 minutes early and the cottage was ready. The Inn Keeper made sure the room was perfect, the fireplace was on and a parking spot was available before she led us to our cottage. The common area was larger than I had expected and the view was beautiful. It's convenient to the hiking trails across he street and to the town of Mendocino. There is an outdoor fire pit where we sipped morning coffee and had hot Chocolate at night, I suggest they sell Smore kits for the fire pit... :) We can't wait to return and highly recommend it...... Bring your pets - it's perfect for them too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Albion which doesn't have a door to he bedroom, but it is separate from the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngdebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
10.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#4 of 8 in Little River
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
488 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: £107 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing