We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottages at Little River Cove
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Little River Inn(Little River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
214
31
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
31
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfull kitchenelk cottagefire pitliving roompoop bagsbbq areakitchen utensilsocean viewtwo storylawn areadog friendly cottagemendocino coastget awayshort drivea great place to staysister property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Jenner cottage which is a two story one at the back. It has a fold out couch downstairs for our son and a nice bedroom upstairs. The deck upstairs is great and we enjoyed sitting in the nice chairs and soaking in the view and the warm weather. Our son had a TV downstairs, DVDs you can borrow, and internet connection, as well as a kitchen and private bathroom - perfect for a teenager ;-)
The upstairs has decent room to walk around, its own nice bathroom, and multiple skylights.
We loved the location and access. You can order room service which comes from next door (LIttle River Inn), but we just walked over and had a very enjoyable dinner there twice. We made our own breakfast in the fully equipped kitchen.
It is a short drive to the beach and to Mendocino (3 minutes or so) as well as the State park.
This place was really perfect for us and we will be back.

Room Tip: You do select the rooms, so you can pick what fits. Jenner and the one across from it are 2 stories and perfect for families.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

No more Little River Inn for my family...... A group of my friends and their families took to the Mendo Coast to escape the heat of the East Bay. How fortunate for us that the Little River Inn was booked and that there were vacancies at the Cottages. Each cottage that our group inhabited, 5, were spacious and decorated nicely. For families with infants and pre-teens, the full gourmet kitchens were ideal. The grounds have a nice grassy area to relax or toss a ball around, a grilling area and a fire pit with a view. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Whether it is a dive trip with my buddies or a family vacation, The Cottages are my new Go To place........

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I sneaked away from the heat of the valley and ended up finding a new favorite (Sorry Schoolhouse Creek) since our old favorite was full because of a wedding and this was a spur of the moment kind of trip. The innkeeper pointed us to the Cottages at Little River a mile down the road. Our disappointment was quickly erased by Gail and the Farallon cottage.

The cottage has a great view of the ocean and a the deck with the Adirondack chairs was my favorite spot for the weekend. There is no restaurant for breakfast here, but there was a full kitchen with everything for me to make Mrs breakfast in bed.

By the way - Gail is a hoot! She is new to the Cottages and made us feel right at home and at check out she was joined by one of the owners and they both sent us on our way with tears in our eyes - not from the bill but from the laughter. We cant wait to get back!

Room Tip: Farallon has a deck that has an amazing view of the cove and the cottages gardens
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Blkbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

PROS...The grounds are superior especially if you are into botanical garden settings. The cottage is spacious and decorated nicely. The bed was big and cozy. The village is so quiet. There is an ocean view.

CONS... There are a few pretty big spots on the carpet. The security is minimal, just one button lock on the front door. The ocean view is slight but nice, I thought it would be closer with a larger view. My 2 biggest issues... 1) zero cell service. Little River is a complete DEADZONE, and to make things worse there are no landlines is the cottages. So, I have no phone for emergencies, no phone to call room service or call the front office. They said there was a way that they could add our phone to micro cell enhancer or something and we would have phones but no, didnt work. 2) no tv in the bedroom upstairs and the sliding glass door going out to the patio has a broken lock and very difficult to open and close.
I guess I thought all the kinks would be worked out after all these years of business.

Bottom line it is nice but I next time is will stay in Mendocino and avoid some of this.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreesiaSMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilaProperties, Owner at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write, your feedback matters to us!

We carefully chose the photographs that are on our website making sure that we correctly represent our property and our views.

The security of our guests is of utmost importance, even in an area like this where there is an extremely low crime rate, Although we have never had issues with regard to doors and locks, in response to your review, we are double checking making sure that all of our doors are in sound repair and working order.

It is unfortunate that we have less than perfect communication services in this area, but we are on the edge of the continent here and make adjustments along with everyone else who lives here. We offer the office phone to our guests at all times, both while the office is open and by leaving it in an accessible location for any emergency or just for their convenience, such as ordering room service, when the office closes. We offer to make reservations for all of our guests for any restaurant or local activity as well.

While we make every effort to anticipate the needs of our guests and any repair that may be needed, there are always unexpected issues that need to be addressed, just as there would be in your own home. Please remember the next time you join us that all you have to do is ask and we will try to make your stay as perfect as possible.

We look forward to your return. Sandy VanderBes, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

These cottages are well-appointed with a nice living area and fireplace, large kitchen and great views. We brought our dog and he enjoyed looking out the windows onto the property, and playing with other dogs on the lawn. Each cottage seems to have an ocean view - the property is up the hill and across HWY 128 from the ocean. To get to the beach, we did have to walk down HWY 128, and at times there was no shoulder, which I didn't love...
There is a shop and restaurant nearby. The property is about 45 mins north of Point Arena and about 10 mins south of Mendocino town and the beautiful Headlands. There are so many places for an active dog to roam and play and many restaurants with an outdoor area where pets are welcome - we loved the Mendocino coast and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews