We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottages at Little River Cove
Nearby Hotels
Little River Inn(Little River)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
US$111
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel and Gardens(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Dolphin Inn & Mini Golf(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
214
31
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
31
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfull kitchenelk cottagefire pitliving roompoop bagsbbq areakitchen utensilsocean viewtwo storylawn areadog friendly cottagemendocino coastget awayshort drivea great place to staysister property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2008

I was organizing my pictures this morning and remembered what an AMAZING weekend at The Cottages in August so I decided to write a review after all this time. Our room was perfect. Updated features and peaceful views. I had plenty of room to stretch out without getting in my husband's way. The staff was warm and friendly. In fact, my husband asked them to assist him in creating an early 5th Anniversary surprise for me. They were really great!! The housekeepers were wonderful people.

I wish the team at The Little Cottages all the best and we will return soon with all of my family and their dogs. This is a great space for our family getaway!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hotelgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We were really surprised to see the good reviews for this place. Our experience was just the opposite.

The view? The motel is on the inland side of the road so you’re looking at the ocean in the far distance across a highway. The only unobstructed views are the first two cabins. Otherwise you’re looking around the other cabins – kind of an urban view of nature.

The noise? It’s right on the highway and on a curve so you constantly hear road noise, including logging trucks accelerating up the hill.

The management? We told the manager we would arrive between 4 and 5 p.m. When we got there at 4:10, there was no one in the office. The housekeepers (who spoke only Spanish) didn’t know anything and didn’t even know how to contact the manager. He finally got back about an hour later and was very unapologetic saying, “there’s no guarantee there will be management on site 24/7”.

We had reserved one of the cabins on the end with the unobstructed view. We were given a cabin further back – with the urban view. The manager tried to tell us that the people in the cabin we’d reserved had decided to stay longer, but the housekeepers had shown us the cabin. The manager had used it for big birthday blowout for his wife the night before and tit was still full of dirty dishes.

This might be a good place for a large group of people or family reunions, but it sure wasn’t the experience we were hoping for. This was a splurge for us. If it’s a splurge for you, we definitely wouldn’t recommend it. If it isn’t a splurge, I’m sure you already know better places to go with a real view of the ocean, the sound of the wind rather than traffic, and management that takes care of their clients before their personal needs.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv2TravelNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samirjt, Owner at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2008

We are very sorry that this guest apparently did not enjoy her stay. We are, however, puzzled by her comments. She says "we were given a cabin further back" but, in fact, she was given the cabin closest to the ocean, which is the one she had reserved. What's more, there was no "we" -- this guest was traveling alone. Finally, the guest refers to having "an urban view", but as anyone who has been to Little River (population: 410) knows, there are no urban views from anywhere in Little River! So our sense is there is some confusion here. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and are pleased that so many other guests have greatly enjoyed their stay with us at the Cottages at Little River Cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

This will be our new first choice for travel to Mendo with our dogs. (and without!) Clean, very well equipped, first rate hillside rooms. Dogs were welcomed with their own beds, dishes and treats, and supply of doggie poop bags. A flashlight also provided for those evening walks and cleaning up after pets is a personal must, and the owners make it easy. Area is so lovely, keep it that way. Also thoughtful ammenities like binnoculars in the room. Could not find a thing that was not thought of to make our stay complete. Lovely gas fireplace and flatscreen tv made us drool. Nice outside patio off the bedroom for afternoon reading. Community bar-b-que and picnic table, overlooking spectacular views (next time we will bring something to grill) Luxury bedding and towels. Nothing scatchy or cheap. Coffee/tea/creamer and sugar supplied, so no immediate shopping required. Brought our food from home for breakfast and lunches and hit Mendo Bistro (Fort Bragg) and Little River Inn for dinners..then leftovers and local wine on our 3rd night in front of the fire watching the fog roll in. Other favorite dining: Mooses downtown Mendo and Le Petite Rive by Little River Post office for dinner, but only open Thurs-Sunday. Small store in Little River closed, so bring your food or plan to go to Fort Bragg for shopping. ( go to Carole Hall jelly store...Peach Cobbler Jam, made locally, is yummy, great take home gift) Mendocino not a grocery store mecca, but charming and don't miss the white chocolate raspberry at the chocolate store on the main street. Be prepared, no cell phone access in Little River.

I would recommend bringing an old towel to wipe your dogs feet after beach walks and meadow romps.

Great facilities and wild turkeys abound. Easy access to Mendocino and within walking distance of the Little River Inn (chef Marc Dym). Pride of new ownership is reflected in these lovely cottages. Thanks Tony, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lrksprldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Excellent place. I joined TripAdvisor to review this place.

My wife used TripAdvisor to find a honeymoon spot in Mendocino. After extensive research we chose the Cottages. We had a great time. Very clean and well appointed cottages. We were impressed. We did a little video to show the place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PSlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

No Lace or Chintz in sight...my kind of clean modern digs! View of the water, out door deck, 5 Min. drive into Mendo. LR was spacious enough for 8 to hang out (we rented 2 cottages). Kitchen well stocks with dishes, pans and appliances (no need to go out to breakfast). Beds were comfy with down comforters and hi thread count sheets. Bathroom was big with lots of soft towels, even robes to lounge in. I will go back again and would highly recommend! A great value!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MillValleyluv2travL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews