We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Mendocino!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #4 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We stayed at the Cottages at Little River Cove (formerly the Fools Rush Inn, and now completely remodeled) the weekend after Thanksgiving. It was absolutely one of the best experiences we have had in a long time! Tony and Julie, the onsite managers, greeted us warmly when we arrived, and we were shown to our cabin, Gualala. It was a perfect set up for us and our 7 year old son. The living room was spacious and had lovely ocean views, a flat screen TV and cozy fireplace. The kitchen was fully and thoughtfully stocked with utensils, pots, plates, etc. In fact, that's what made staying at the Cottages so special. It was obvious that the innkeepers/owners were going out of their way to anticipate what a guest might need and already have it waiting. We brought food with us (but the inn will do the grocery shopping for you upon request) and cooked dinner in our kitchen when we arrived. The comfortable sofa opened out into an even more comfortable bed for our son, and my husband and I had a cozy queen bed in the next room. We also dined next door at the Little River Inn, which will provide its excellent food via room service to the Cottages if you don't want to go out. We borrowed a DVD from the hotel's extensive library, as well as a Scrabble game to play in front of the fireplace. The hotel has a large grass area perfect for romping with pets or throwing the football around. It was so peaceful to wake up and see the ocean from the living room and hear the gentle ring of the buoy in the cove. I'd highly recommend the Cottages, and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank add52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Cottages at Little River Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2008

Our cottage was spacious, clean, and very well equipped. We have four boys, so it was nice to have the extra room (the DVD and LCD HDTV, was a great bonus) and the fully functional kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, oven, utensils, dishes/bowls...). The cottages are located only minutes from the Big River Beach and downtown Mendocino, which made it convenient to get to meals and recreation.

We went for an hour and half kayak ride up the river (rented at the rental store right next to the river - the owner and instructor were both very friendly and helpful) with our two older boys and they loved it. Dad is a bit sore from paddling, but you could not ask for a more beautiful setting. We took advantage of an unusually warm December and had sunshine all weekend. We would highly recommend these cottages for a family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2DaysOfSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

My Wife and I went to a wedding in Mendocino in July. We made reservations at this place and I have to admit it was more then we expected. The sun was actually out and the view from our room was really nice. You could the see the ocean! In the morning we saw deer and wild turkey roaming the grounds. Our dog especially like the huge lawn where he could run around and play. The managers were very friendly and knew the area quite well. We plan on coming back sometime next summer. We love this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

I was organizing my pictures this morning and remembered what an AMAZING weekend at The Cottages in August so I decided to write a review after all this time. Our room was perfect. Updated features and peaceful views. I had plenty of room to stretch out without getting in my husband's way. The staff was warm and friendly. In fact, my husband asked them to assist him in creating an early 5th Anniversary surprise for me. They were really great!! The housekeepers were wonderful people.

I wish the team at The Little Cottages all the best and we will return soon with all of my family and their dogs. This is a great space for our family getaway!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hotelgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We were really surprised to see the good reviews for this place. Our experience was just the opposite.

The view? The motel is on the inland side of the road so you’re looking at the ocean in the far distance across a highway. The only unobstructed views are the first two cabins. Otherwise you’re looking around the other cabins – kind of an urban view of nature.

The noise? It’s right on the highway and on a curve so you constantly hear road noise, including logging trucks accelerating up the hill.

The management? We told the manager we would arrive between 4 and 5 p.m. When we got there at 4:10, there was no one in the office. The housekeepers (who spoke only Spanish) didn’t know anything and didn’t even know how to contact the manager. He finally got back about an hour later and was very unapologetic saying, “there’s no guarantee there will be management on site 24/7”.

We had reserved one of the cabins on the end with the unobstructed view. We were given a cabin further back – with the urban view. The manager tried to tell us that the people in the cabin we’d reserved had decided to stay longer, but the housekeepers had shown us the cabin. The manager had used it for big birthday blowout for his wife the night before and tit was still full of dirty dishes.

This might be a good place for a large group of people or family reunions, but it sure wasn’t the experience we were hoping for. This was a splurge for us. If it’s a splurge for you, we definitely wouldn’t recommend it. If it isn’t a splurge, I’m sure you already know better places to go with a real view of the ocean, the sound of the wind rather than traffic, and management that takes care of their clients before their personal needs.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv2TravelNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samirjt, Owner at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2008

We are very sorry that this guest apparently did not enjoy her stay. We are, however, puzzled by her comments. She says "we were given a cabin further back" but, in fact, she was given the cabin closest to the ocean, which is the one she had reserved. What's more, there was no "we" -- this guest was traveling alone. Finally, the guest refers to having "an urban view", but as anyone who has been to Little River (population: 410) knows, there are no urban views from anywhere in Little River! So our sense is there is some confusion here. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and are pleased that so many other guests have greatly enjoyed their stay with us at the Cottages at Little River Cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

This will be our new first choice for travel to Mendo with our dogs. (and without!) Clean, very well equipped, first rate hillside rooms. Dogs were welcomed with their own beds, dishes and treats, and supply of doggie poop bags. A flashlight also provided for those evening walks and cleaning up after pets is a personal must, and the owners make it easy. Area is so lovely, keep it that way. Also thoughtful ammenities like binnoculars in the room. Could not find a thing that was not thought of to make our stay complete. Lovely gas fireplace and flatscreen tv made us drool. Nice outside patio off the bedroom for afternoon reading. Community bar-b-que and picnic table, overlooking spectacular views (next time we will bring something to grill) Luxury bedding and towels. Nothing scatchy or cheap. Coffee/tea/creamer and sugar supplied, so no immediate shopping required. Brought our food from home for breakfast and lunches and hit Mendo Bistro (Fort Bragg) and Little River Inn for dinners..then leftovers and local wine on our 3rd night in front of the fire watching the fog roll in. Other favorite dining: Mooses downtown Mendo and Le Petite Rive by Little River Post office for dinner, but only open Thurs-Sunday. Small store in Little River closed, so bring your food or plan to go to Fort Bragg for shopping. ( go to Carole Hall jelly store...Peach Cobbler Jam, made locally, is yummy, great take home gift) Mendocino not a grocery store mecca, but charming and don't miss the white chocolate raspberry at the chocolate store on the main street. Be prepared, no cell phone access in Little River.

I would recommend bringing an old towel to wipe your dogs feet after beach walks and meadow romps.

Great facilities and wild turkeys abound. Easy access to Mendocino and within walking distance of the Little River Inn (chef Marc Dym). Pride of new ownership is reflected in these lovely cottages. Thanks Tony, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lrksprldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Excellent place. I joined TripAdvisor to review this place.

My wife used TripAdvisor to find a honeymoon spot in Mendocino. After extensive research we chose the Cottages. We had a great time. Very clean and well appointed cottages. We were impressed. We did a little video to show the place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PSlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
717 reviews
2.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: £176 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing