We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Ranked #1 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After reading all these raving review, I was hoping to be smitten, but I was not.
The grounds were beautiful, indeed, and very well kept. We stayed in the Garden room. This is the least expensive room on the property. However, the photos on the site did not reflect the fact that the windows looked out onto the parking lot. I did not expect an ocean view, but I was hoping for a garden view. Had I known that it overlooked the parking lot, I would not have booked this room. In addition, the matrass was very uncomfortable. By the time we figured out it was the pillow top, we had to leave.
I was not enamored with their breakfast either. The first day we were served an egg (practically hard-boiled) on a piece of ham inside the thinnest of crust, no bread of any sort. I ran after the woman who brought the breakfast and asked for any kind of bread. She said it was not available today. I can’t eat eggs without bread, the thin crust does not count. They could not give me a piece of toast?!!! The next day the egg was scrambled and came with zucchini bread, which was sweet and filled with some dried fruit. I’d have really liked a roll or a piece of toast instead, but I did not ask this time. There was also a little cereal with yogurt and OJ. OJ was very good.
Basically, the breakfast was very limited and if you did not like what they served, you went hungry, as I did.
In the afternoon they serve wine (white only) and an appetizer. The first day we received a little salad and two small and delicious canapés, the second day it was, what appeared to be, store-bought raita, green chutney and flat Indian crackers.
So overall, I felt disappointed, with my hopes up too high from the posted reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichenhof, Owner at Glendeven Inn Mendocino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write to us as you did personally and also publically here. We believe in all of our review sites and take feedback very seriously. It is our policy to correct all correctable issues.

We always try and post room descriptions and information that is accurate, not overstated, and give guests a sense of what they will experience when they are here. To that end, I would like to respond to a few of these comments.

The Garden Room is our most economical room. The variables for pricing of rooms are whether or not there is an ocean view, and outside porch or deck, and a fireplace or not. The Garden Room is priced the lowest because it has none of these amenities -- it is a very comfortable room with a sitting area for breakfast, reading chairs and lamps, and a queen feather bed with a shower/tub combination bathroom. Another nice thing about the room its proximity to the ocean-view living room where guests can take their breakfast trays in the morning if they choose. The Garden Room has windows on two sides. One side faces a large garden, and the others face north where the parking lot is located. There are large bushes there, and a view of the water tower as well. We have not ever heard that guests feel any sense of lack of privacy here. There is a review of the Garden Romo written just one day prior where the guests stated in part "Our room (the Garden Room) was cozy and extremely comfortable, and we took advantage of the nearby library/sitting room to enjoy the ocean view... Breakfast is served in your room (again, we took advantage of the library) and was excellent."

Regarding the bed, we know that it is hard to find beds that are 100% comfortable for 100% of people because firmness is an individual preference. We are committed to keeping our mattresses up to date, to remove feather beds when requested, and to keep our linens always new.

Regarding breakfast, our menus change daily and we provide an egg dish using only our own chicken eggs, a fruit dish - every other day is either hot or cold -- and a fresh baked item. On the days that we do our Eggs Benedict en Croute, as was served to this guest, we found that having a baked item as well as the puff pastry (en croute) is too much bread. So on this day the menu is as follows: Eggs Benedict en Croute with our homemade hollandaise, European style yogurt with a layer of local honey and toasted almonds, and the fruit was melons with honey lime syrup. We also provide fresh squeezed organic OJ and locally roasted coffee, and an assortment of teas.

We ask guests both online and when booking live if they have food restrictions or things we should be aware of. We accommodate things like "no runny eggs" and other specifics daily. We would be happy to provide bread or toast if it is important to a person and have noted this guests folio in case of a future return stay, which of course is always our goal!

For our appetizer hour we try and do a different ethnicity of appetizers to keep it interesting. Everything is made in house, mostly from our gardens. We don't usually publish this or make a big deal out of it, but all or our apps are gluten free and always vegetarian so that we don't have to make something special on any day, and everyone can eat each day's treat! On the day this guest was here it was "Indian Day" and we offered papadums (an Indian cracker made from chickpeas with fennel) with homemade raita - a yogurt, jalapeno, and fresh cucumber sauce, and the chutney was made with mint, also from the garden. We are so glad they liked the "French Day's" canapes! At least we were able to please on that day, which always makes us happy.

Thanks for reading and we hope to see you soon! - John, Glendeven Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at Gleneven Inn. A lovely holiday inn with an amazing breakfast that catered to my needing gluten free bread. The grounds were lovely and feeding the chooks a treat. Pity our bed was uncomfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back where you can enjoy the farm and forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SorrelliAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichenhof, Owner at Glendeven Inn Mendocino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review! We are so glad you liked breakfast and the chickens. We always do our best to accommodate special dietary needs and preferences when we are told in advance -- so you're welcome! And regarding the bed, we certainly like to correct any correctable issues when brought to our attention, and we would like to know in which room this guest stayed. All of our beds are new hotel quality mattresses, and we have feather toppers. For a handful of people, the toppers are too soft and so we remove them. No problem. So for future guests, please let us know if that is your preference. Thanks for reading and hope to see you soon. -- John, Glendeven owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I stopped in Mendocino on our way down the coast to the Bay Area, and we could not have been happier with our stay at Glendeven. We were provided with a small bottle of local Mendocino County wine upon check-in, which was lovely. Our room (the Garden Room) was cozy and extremely comfortable, and we took advantage of the nearby library/sitting room to enjoy the ocean view and the llamas wandering around in the nearby farm. Breakfast is served in your room (again, we took advantage of the library) and was excellent. Coffee, tea, and port are always available in the library, as are brownies, cookies, and other snacks. We would be happy to stay there again and see more of the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We left the car by the reception hoping to take the luggage with us. To our surprise, and several minutes on the highway, we found our Ridge Cottage - 3 miles away on top of the hill, hidden after a barn and a red truck!
The cottage came with a jacuzzi which were eager to try, only to find ourselves boiled in the 102degrees Farenheight.  The instructions included many dont's (no oil, no dirt) under punishment of paying cleaning fees, but not temperature control. 
We have also received an invitation to join for a dinner with no price tag on it, scheduled at 6:00 PM sharp, and it appear we had  to share the table with other guests, we also had to choose our entrees one day before. The wine serving felt like we were on a tasting, but the water topping came pouring in before we even put the glass down. 
The main dish which was the catch of the day, was served in a very spicy sauce, as a Mexican myself felt they were on Jalapeños. Unfortunately the soft Pinot Grigio (which accompanied the dish) could not come to the rescue, nor could our palette taste any wine. At the end of the dinner I don't know if I felt sorry for the colleague student who praise the food (she had a rough cafeteria) or us being ripped off.  I guess, this must have been the fastest $100 dinner.
The good side was that we felt quite safe driving back our 3 miles back as no  alcohol meter could have found alcohol trace in our bloodstream - not with those wine servings. 
Got to stop here, as we have to leave before 11:00 AM or we are charge $20 per 15 min - no joke. 

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zknowyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichenhof, Owner at Glendeven Inn Mendocino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review the Sea Ridge Cottage, one of Glendeven's vacation rental homes. For future travelers, the Sea Ridge Cottage is six miles (not 3, to be clear) south of the main inn on a sea-view ridge. That information is on the website in the cottage's descriptions, and in the two email confirmations that are sent to each guest. We are not sure how to make it more clear, but hopefully writing it here will help as well.

Regarding the hot tub, standard safe temperatures for jetted hot tubs is 103 and we set ours at 102. There is a digital thermometer with an up and down arrow next to it where a person can adjust the temperature. Unlike many other vacation rentals we do not charge for its use -- we include it in the price of the house. Current summer prices are $247 weekday and $260 weekend when this guest stayed with us, which we think is very fair in our market for a modern, ocean-view stand alone house with the privacy, views and amenities provided.

Regarding dinner, our dinner invitations include the fact that it is a shared table -- and that information is even bolded in the email because we want to be sure people are not surprised by the seating format. There is also a link to the menu which -- of course -- includes pricing for dinner. For future guests, the four course dinner is $65 per person, and the wine options are listed like this: $25 for wine pairing. (Each person gets five 3-oz pours -- this is written on the menus -- and additional pours for purchase are welcomed by request -- also listed on the menu.) So for $25 there are five wines poured including the local Roederer sparkling on arrival.

Guests can also choose to purchase wine from the dinner menu by the glass, purchase a bottle at our Wine Bar[n] and have no corkage fee, or they can bring their own bottle for a $25 corkage. We try to remain as flexible as possible, and feel that the prices are fair.

The current monthly dinner menu stated that the market fish's description is as follows: "seasonal market catch of the day with a fresh Thai curry chive roasted butterball potatoes + carrot-jicama salad with sweet-corn lobster cream." So guests can expect some "heat" from the curry. I will talk with chef about being careful not to over-spice.

Regarding our policies -- I have yet to charge anyone the fee for staying past the posted check-out times. This note was initiated because we reserve the right to do so after other guests left the housekeeper waiting for an hour and half, and we needed to get house ready for a check in at 3:00. We always appreciate when guests respect our need to turn over our inn rooms and cottages. It's the only way we can ensure the positive experiences that we try and provide for all of our guests. Thanks for reading and we hope to see you soon! -- John, Glendeven owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Glendeven Inn celebrating his 40th birthday. This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and we couldn't be more happy that we chose this place. From the moment we walked in until checkout we had superb and attentive customer service. The property is amazing and it was a joy to walk with the llamas. We were especially impressed with the breakfasts. Our only regret was that we did not have the Farm to Table dinner. They went above and beyond our expectations and we are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Beautiful, comfortable and inviting! A wonderful stay in a quaint town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsbevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Glendeven. Etta's Suite is a wonderful room with a private deck with 2 wooden arm chairs overlooking the llama pasture and ocean in the distance. We loved the adjoining living area which was perfect for the breakfast delivered to our door at 9:00 (no choice on time I believe). Food was fantastic then and at the Farm to Table dinner we signed up for. As mentioned before, not huge servings, but everything was delicious and the other diners at our table were great.

Also took advantage of the free wine and cheese hour in the Barn building.

There are a couple of nice short walks from the property that take you down to the water - a headland trail and a beach trail. Mendocino is a short drive. We had a great lunch at the Mendocino Cafe.

I'd say the only negative was some road noise from Rt. 1, but our suite was the closest to the road so others may be quieter. Having said that I'd go back and stay at the same place, in the same room. Loved it.

Room Tip: Loved Etta's Suite, but it is closest to Rt. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmass15584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
10.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
0 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
738 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendeven Inn Mendocino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Address: 8205 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9518
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: £176 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn Mendocino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This stylish inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Glendeven Inn Mendocino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing