We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Retreat in Mendocino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Ranked #1 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Concord, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat in Mendocino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent one night at the Glendeven Inn where attention to detail was impeccable. Our room, the East Farmington,had a fireplace and sitting area, faced the garden and you could see a little of the ocean from one window. Clean, beautiful and so peaceful. I was looking forward to seeing the llamas but did not see them. We did feed the chickens with the chicken feed provided. Hot breakfast included and delivered to our room at 9 am. Coffee, fresh-squeezed orange juice, muffin with honey and a small chili quiche, absolutely delicious. They also have a kitchenette in the building for the use of the rooms.
Need to reserve very early. Ours was a month ahead and the East Farmington was all they had left. They have a wonderful restaurant but were booked and had to have dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeIsMyGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
513
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the Bay View Suite at Glendeven during the Fourth of July holiday. It was cool in the Mendocino area so the fireplace in the suite was perfect and we lit a fire every evening. Each morning from one of the bedroom windows I looked to the Pacific and out over the grounds, waiting for the llamas to be let out of their pen. And at 9A a knock on the door with two breakfast trays. Each day something different and wonderful. We never used the deck because it was too cool. The Inn is immaculate and there's a free wine tasting each evening for the guests. It's well located and easy to go either to Mendocino or down the coast and to Route 128 and the wineries. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2atthebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July with another couple. The inn had come highly recommended to us, and we weren't disappointed. We had the Bay View suite in the main building. We indeed had a great view of the water from our balcony. (Furniture on the balcony was rather ramshackle, and we moved it with great care.) Our suite was spacious with a wood burning fireplace in the sitting area. There was plenty of firewood and a new fire was set by housekeeping each day. The area is cool enough to warrant a fire, even in July. Breakfast was great, with an egg dish (from the inn's chickens), a baked item like a scone, and a cooked fruit item, like a baked pear. Also freshly squeezed orange juice. There also is a wine hour in the late afternoon with a hot appetizer and several kinds of cookies are always available. We did use the little bag of chicken feed to feed the chickens and we enjoyed wandering in the vegetable garden. We did not take advantage of other amenities, like having a fire in the common area of our building and playing something at the game table, but that's because the weather was good. We did the two shorter hikes that leave from the inn's property, and they were lovely. The innkeepers pay a lot of attention to details which is generally an upside. On the other hand, when they say they are available only certain hours, they mean it. Don't think about trying to check in at 3:59, because check in is at 4.
The one thing we regretted was not being able to walk to Little River because Rte. 1 is really narrow and there was little shoulder for safe walking. But that's a small price to pay for being in what is otherwise a great location. And speaking of price, we thought this was a fair price for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaiabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pen Argyl, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Glendeven is a lovely Inn. If you looking for a country setting close to the Pacific Ocean this is it. Our room was located in the building directly behind the guest check-in building, He room had a large king siE bed with a table and 2 chairs in the corner with a quiet view of the well kept landscape in the backyar. The rest of the room included 2 large chairs by the wood burning fireplace which makes for a relaxing romantic evening. Next to the living area is the large bathroom which included a stall shower. Breakfast is brought to your room in a basket including some of the farm fresh eggs from the chickens that are located on the property. Games, books and cookies are always available for your enjoyment. Wine tasting and bottles can also be purchased at the Inn in the check-in area. The Glendeven Inn is an excellent relaxing place to getaway too.

Room Tip: Pick any of the rooms in the back area. Very quiet and picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

All the positive reviews of Glendeven are well deserved. The grounds were immaculate, the staff was extremely attentive, positive and pleasant, and the breakfast was fantastic. We stayed in the Eastlin suite which has the hidden door that breakfast is served through and it was spotless and charming.

We also chose the meal served across the road at Bistro 150 with wine pairing which was very reasonably priced and delicious. All the food prepared has to be sourced from within 150 miles of the restaurant, hence the name. we were seated farmhouse style with 10 other people and had a wonderful couple of hours chatting and eating a wonderful meal.

The area around the inn has lots of different trails that you can explore and there are plenty of other activities to keep you busy as you want to be.

We are already thinking of when we can return to the Glendeven but the next time will be for more than one night.

Fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great time staying at the Glendeven. We stayed in the Carriage House, and enjoyed the spaciousness and privacy. Dinner at Bistro 150 was delicious, although we would have preferred a private table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaLMB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had the most perfect weekend here. We stayed in the Bayview suite which was extraordinary. Staff is friendly, breakfast is delicious, and the grounds are awesome. The location could not be better as there are amazing state parks and the beautiful little town of Mendocino all minutes away. There are wonderful hikes, short or long, all nearby. We live in faraway New Jersey so we are not around the corner but can't wait to return someday!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.0 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
10.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendeven Inn Mendocino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Property: Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Address: 8205 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9518
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn Mendocino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This stylish inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendeven Inn Mendocino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing