We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro-Recycled-Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I were on a weeklong motorcycle cruise down the coast from Washington. We carefully planned our stops along the way prior to commencing on our adventure. I read dozens of tripadvisor reviews while determining where we would settle each day- the Andiron did not disappoint.

The property sits on a hillside, and the cabins are scattered on the hill. The Andiron is across the street from the ocean- and you catch beautiful glimpses through the trees as you lounge on your perfectly situated wooden patios located outside the sliding door. Each room is a bit different- we stayed in the Nature room- which was also cabin #1- and closest to the ocean view. The room was retro looking- sort of early 70 style. There were old boy scout books and campfire girl books- and even a 12 string guitar! This particular cabin had a kitchenette- and the cups and plates were vintage melmac dishes- really took me back! There is a flatscreen tv- and a wood burning potbelly stove in this unit also. Bed was very comfy- and a king size. The bathroom was standard- but the lavender scented bath products were heavenly. No waste here- supplies were in pump containers. Eco thrifty.There is a picnic table- and bbq for use outside of the unit, not sure if charcoal is available at the office or not.

The office is located at the top of the hill- with a couple of goats, PButter n Jelly standing guard. The office offers numerous dvds for checkout- as well as games. Many people have written about the happy hour.....sadly, we were not guests on the weekend- so we missed this opportunity- however, having read about it, I telephoned Scott, one of the owners, and asked if it would be possible to have a mini happy hour set up in our cabin for arrival. He was very accomodating and said, yes, for a small fee- he'd see to it we had a 'happy hour' set up. Was so cute! They had an ice bucket- Owl- with a local bottle of wine and a couple of local brews- plus cheeses, crackers, nuts, and candy all placed in recycled containers (for instance, the crackers were in a marshmellow creme jar) with hand made labels. Simple- yet so very thoughtful- you could tell plenty of conscious care went into not only what we were given- but into how it was presented. Did not get to meet the owners- but it is obvious that hospitality is their game!

Last but not least, there is a sunken hot tub hidden in the trees! Twinkling lights decorate your own piece of paradise- in paradise. There are big fat towels provided in the room for use- and you should definitely use them and the hot tub if you go! We had the tub to ourselves.....and as we were leaving ran into a newlywed couple going to use the tub. Perfection!

Definitely want to return.....maybe try a different room, although ours was cozy and completely fit our bill.

Room Tip: The website shows tidbits about each room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foolstwist, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi! We are so so sad we didn't get to meet you! You sound great - and not just cuz you gave our place such a lovely and perfect review. I am especially glad you dug our little happy hour package. I never know if people appreciate all our recycled touches and it made my day to hear that you did.

Really, actually, this whole review made our day. Thank you, thank you. Your words mean the world to us.

Madeline, Scott, and all of us here at The Andiron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I found this place in a Sunset Magazine article a year ago and it has since become my home away from home. The cabins are cozy and have super cute, and quirky decorations. There is a hot tub under trees surrounded with twinkle lights. There is also a large DVD library. The owners Scott and Madeline are super fun and have lots of advice to share about the surrounding area. The newest addition is the goats; Peanut Butter and Jelly. They are an attraction themselves. Too freaking cute. Make sure you go on a weekend since they have a wonderful happy hour in the evening and toast bar in the am. I believe they also offer homemade soup and wine dinner on the weekends, which I had once and would highly recommend. During the week is lovely too but there aren't food & wine perks. I believe there are better rates during the week but definitely try to have one weekend night at the Andiron. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: "There" is my favorite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our Andiron experience was fantastic. It was our first stop (for 3 nights) on a 2 week vacation in northern CA, and it was the perfect start to our trip. The setting was beautiful, the "Write" cabin was charming (very comfy bed!), Madeline and Scott were gracious and informative. We were lucky to enjoy both the Happy Hour and the toast bar. A wonderful stay, and the next time we're in the area, I hope we will be have the chance to stay at the Andiron!

Amanda and Trevor

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We LOVED this place. Our favorite place to stay on our road trip. We had the Nurture cabin which was decorated with a beauty school drop-out theme...including a working magic fingers bed! The owners have invested a lot of love, time and money in the place and it shows. We saw a family of deer grazing in the field right in front of our cabin as we sat on the deck at sunset. We only stayed one night and we wish we could have stayed longer. Would visit again, just for the cabins alone...but the area is also worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utripmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This place is relaxing, clean and a lot of fun. The decor is a wonderful mix of vintage items, each matching the personality of the cabin's theme. We stayed in Nature and there were various camping references including the boy scout handbook by the bedside. So much moree fun an a hotel. Liked the EO amenities too.

There is a full stock of DVDs you can watch, games to use, and on some summer nights they do a movie in the woods. Very pet friendly for considerate owners.

Do yourself a favor and stay here if you're going to visit Mendocino.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you want atmosphere without having to put up with overly-precious bed and breakfast "doll house" decor, this is your place! It's fun. It's convenient to Mendocino, and it's a bargain. The staff provides a personal touch, but doesn't smother you. We loved it.
We came at a "slow" time and were fortunate that there weren't people in the adjoining cabin. Not sure if the noise level of having such close "neighbors" would be annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wordslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Comfortable beds, really cute and interesting retro decor, friendly hosts, lovely location on the Mendocino coast. We stayed Monday-Saturday, and during the week there are few other people around. We had the hot tub to ourselves the day we chose to use it, and relaxed on our shared deck by our selves while sipping beer and playing upwards. We chose several movies from the hosts' extensive DVD collection and watched a different movie every night! We spent the daytime hours exploring beaches, parks, museums and galleries up and down the coast. The owners hosted happy hour on Friday night (wine and raclet), at which it was fun to meet them and other guests, and again a "toast buffet" for breakfast on Saturday. Best place to eat nearby is the Little River Inn (very close).

Room Tip: Look online for a good idea of each cabins unique theme. Most of the rooms are pet friendly, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthbayA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
12.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 8 in Little River
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Little River
Price Range: £58 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing