We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun stay at this special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun stay at this special place”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Andiron is located in Little River about 3 miles from Mendicino. We stayed in the Write Cabin #6 - a one-room cabin with a comfortable king bed, refrigerator, coffee maker, bathroom, electric fireplace, deck, free Wi-Fi. Pretty cool place with theme rooms and a great hot tub in the woods. there is no cell phone service which completes the relaxed mood of this place

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stopped at the Andiron on our way to Northern California based on a recommendation we followed in our travel book which praised this place in full swing - after checking-in we were greeted by the very friendly owners with some welcome drinks, cheese fondue and various snacks. Our cabin was absolutely fantastic and unique - not only are those furnished and designed with all personal furniture of the owners but also feature a great deal of personality and character which one rarely finds in establishments of that sort. The place was neat and spotless. We loved the home-made whoopie pies baked by the owners and the great DVD collection for in room entertainment. A must stop if you touring the Northern California coast!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for the first time on our way up the California coast to Oregon. We really enjoyed the unique funkiness of the cabins- each one decorated in a specific theme- ours was "Beauty school dropout" decorated like a 50's style beauty salon, complete with old barber chair, hairdryer, wall coverings, packs of bobby pins in their original packaging amongst other unique items. Great fun! Happy hour was a really nice way to meet the owners and fellow guests. I wish we could have arrived earlier to enjoy it to the full. Oh well...there'll definitely be a next time. Thanks for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKTiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here on Friday of Labour Day weekend. We met a number of great people at the Happy hour, graciously hosted by Madeline and Scott. Our stay on the theme room "Make" was great! We loved all the vintage crafty games, the paint by number wall mural, the furniture. It was fun to recall some of the games from our youth, and to be reminded of what it was like to skip the tv and internet (though that's available for free).
Once we arrived, we asked to stay an extra night, but it was fully booked. Next time we plan to stay at least 2 nights min. and recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We love the charm and unique arrangement. Perfect location of the cabins and hot tub in the woods. Especially the total privacy during the length of our stay. Check out their new addition, 2 goats named Peanut Butter and Jelly... Too cute.

Room Tip: The Bill and Milly suite is a romantic and a living tribute to the owners parents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

After reading the reviews on The Andiron, I thought this place may be a bit too quirky for my husband and I. Rooms get scarce on the Mendocino coast on weekends so I grabbed the cabin " PLAY" , while I could. Talk about adorable, with the classic games stacked all over the room chalkboard wall and word game wallpaper. I need to know where the sheets came from they were sooooo soft and comfortable. My only disappointment was the gum machine filled with puzzle pieces and lil toys was not working (I left my quarter behind).. Happy hour was on the house with wine beer fondue and local tasty mustard . Fun conversation with the other guests and the doggies. Would like to have stayed longer and will return. Thanks Scott and Madeline!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonitagranville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here in early September and encountered near perfect weather to compliment our experience at The Andiron. In case you haven't read about this place yet, each of their 11 rooms has a different theme. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with the "Make" theme which was outfitted with retro craft supplies, paints, catalogs, etc. Guests are encouraged to make art projects (according to their information packet), and supposedly the wall is paint by number which you are encouraged to add to. Our room was clean, cozy, and looked well-maintained. There were 2 chairs out on the deck as well as a charcoal bbq. It was incredibly peaceful to sit outside and listen to the breeze rustle through the leaves on the surrounding trees. There is an outdoor hot tub "in the woods" with a lighted path for night use - brilliant. You can also borrow board games and movies from the office - they have a huge selection. On Saturday, we enjoyed complimentary local beers, wine, and delicious homemade sangria during their happy hour. They also made quesadillas on this particular day. The owners, Scott and Madeline, are very personable, hospitable, and made our stay very memorable. We actually ran into them at a local restaurant while getting dinner during our stay, and they went out of their way to ensure that the staff got us seated quickly. Who are these people??!! To round out our experience, there were 2 cute greyhounds (Cotton and Scout) in the office/ bar and 2 goats (Peanut Butter and Jelly) that you can pet outside! This is the kind of place you stay at and have fond memories of for years to come.

Room Tip: Check out their website for descriptions and pictures of the rooms (it also tells you which rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Property: The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing