We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Won't waste time-agree with all the other 5 star reviews. Do not miss happy hour, or breakfast. Scott and Madeline were indeed great hosts, and I enjoyed petting the goats too! Hot tub at night under the trees was terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duomi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was without doubt the best place we stayed (and was also one of the most reasonably priced). The quirky cabins are full of the most exquisite details because the owners have really thought about how the theme of each cabin can be conveyed as a whole. We stayed in the "Read" room and were extremely impressed with all the vintage book related touches in the cabin; but perhaps more importantly is how many of the details are designed to provide home comforts. There are, for example, BBQs for each cabin and the owners have thoughtfully provided tin foil to make it easier to cook. There is also a fantastic hot tub and the opportunity to borrow vintage board games as well as DVDs.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The area itself is gorgeous and I would go back to The Andiron in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Andiron again for a combined birthday/anniversary celebration. There was a large group of us and Scott and Madeline were so helpful in getting things set up, reservations made and figuring out details.

Once again, the stay was wonderful and the cabins are still super fun and super clean! Already wishing I could go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This property is made up of about 10 duplex cabins well spread across 5 acres. Each duplex is paired in theme and decor. "Read" and "Write", "Nature and "Nurture", etc.

We occupied both sides of "Here" and "There." Two adults "Here", and two children "There." Both units had queen beds and each had a private bath. Communicating door (lockable, though we left it open) between the two sides and a large shared deck. Small BBQ is available. Each room was equipped with small flat panel LED TV/DVD player. Cable TV as well as a large DVD library (in the office) are provided.

"Here" was themed with the Mendocino Coast It had a Kitchenette, supplied with basic cooking and eating utensils best suited for breakfasts. Baseboard heating was augmented by a wood-burning fireplace.
"There" featured travel posters form the 1960's, globes, old valises serving as a nightstand, and even those old Living Language records (and a record player). The kids loved their room (though they were puzzled by the "record machine."). This room does not have a Kitchenette, but has coffee service and a mini-fridge. Heating is by gas fireplace.

Both rooms were very charming, quite original, and funky in the best sense. We loved the house-made whoopie pies that welcomed us to the cabin and the well-thought out provisioning of the rooms.

There is a hot tub/spa on the property (extra towels are provided), set in a small grove. Very nice in the evening. The kids loved feeding and grooming the resident goats, Peanut Butter and Jelly. The open sloping lawns gave us a great place to play catch, Frisbee, and horseshoes (we brought that stuff ourselves).

Finally, let me mention host Kate. She is terrific. The entire property reflects her out-going friendliness.

We liked this place. A lot. It's very "California", if you know what I mean. We intend to return this summer for another family vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms are well described on the website (theandiron.com). Can be taken individually or as an ent...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

With most hotels on the north coast being very pricey, we decided to book here instead! We had a great experience! Each cabin is decorated in a different theme, but they are all warm and cozy and clean. The couple that own the property and warm and welcoming! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingfool33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I have been visiting The Andiron annually for the past three years. Our first experience with the Inn was for our wedding reception. The owners, Scott and Madeline were very accommodating- we were able to rent every cabin for family and erect a large tent for the band and guests. Scott and Madeline were so kind and helpful when we needed them. And let us play and enjoy until the wee morning hours.
Our subsequent visits have been much more subdued- anniversaries and love reconnections. We rent the William and Mildred suite, 2 rooms with 2 fireplaces, jacuzzi tube, kitchen, and a lovely comfy bed. We always feel well taken care of at the Andiron. We barely speak up and Scott is there to help. Local wines, beers and retro snacks with fellow visitors on the weekends are wonderful. But the best part is, is that when we go to the Andiron, we know we can cozy up in our room, without a bother in the world, and just enjoy this most peaceful spot on earth (and never see anyone until the day we leave, if that's what we want). It truly is a magical place. Almost forgot, our dogs always travel with us, and are welcomed guests, arriving to treats, and everything needed to enjoy a trip to the coast. Every year we say we are going to visit one of the other "themed" rooms, but William and Mildred have us by our heartstrings.

Room Tip: Check out their website for a list of the themed rooms. Everyone of them has character. No bad roo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It's true. This place is very very special. Every little detail was taken care of, from the moment you drive up. Each cabin has something going for it. We stayed in Curious - one big science experiment. From the telescope near the 1950s fabric curtains, to the painting of the moon and stars on the wall, it was just plain old fun to be here. The location is great - just down the road from hippy town Mendocino, near to the secret beach, a fab fish restaurant across the street, and a massage therapist who'll come to your cabin.

The Andiron is great mid-week (best price), for groups (retreat, reunions), and romantic weekends (book ahead!). Have fun out there.

Room Tip: Each room has its niche. Read through them all, see what's available, and pick!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
31.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
23.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
487 reviews
34.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 8 in Little River
251 reviews
33.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
35.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Little River
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing