We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family of 3 stayed in Read/ Write and ZOMG it was awesome. Super comfy beds, nice hot tub, fun decor ( and not that awful pseudo- victorian crap), sense of humor and quiet. We got food from the store and had a great breakfast when we wanted to! AND they left us with coffee beans to grind. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The rooms are nice, clean, host was very helpful and fun to talk to. The "toast and jam" breakfast was a great experience. The two goats on the property were fun for the kids to see.
However, the "meadow" the website mentions is just dead, dry closely mowed grass. But, a good place for the price.

Room Tip: This is just a down-home type place with no frills. But a good value for the money. Most rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The grounds were lovely, the rooms were nice, and accommodation was great for our dogs.
Just make sure you stay in a room that is furthest from the freeway, since a fast dog can easily run into the road since there are no fences to stop them.

We loved the deck and my husband said the whole unit was nice, novel, and relaxing! The staff is very thoughtful and proivded sheets so dogs can sleep on the bed. Wow.. the dogs were in heaven and we'd go back again. Only reason for not 5 stars is that it's less than 50 yards for most units to the busy road, and it's expensive. But this whole area is quite expensive so relatively speaking, it's reasonably priced. We rented both adjoining units since each unit has one bed only. It was about $560 for both units but my child was in HEAVEN!!! feeling independent having his own unit and a little t.v... he even became poetic in the "write" room, which was charming w/ a typewritter and a wall that is all chalkboard : )

In this area, it's very difficult to find a place where you can "walk" to anything. Andiron was similar, you cannot walk to anything but you can do a small hike, almost a 1/4 mile hike up a road in the back where homes are nestled in the forest.. was really interesting to see people living in such remote areas!

My dogs, small and relatively not that fast, and listens to us somewhat... were able to go leash free and it was really nice to have that freedom.. so if yours are like this.. this place would be 5 stars for you!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway if you have a pet.. read and write rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueSeekingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross Ca.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very clean and comfortable cabins. The prices were just fine compared to all of the other Inns in this heavenly traveled area. On can cook in some of the cabins.the check in process was easy and efficient. Nice stay on the way home to Pt. Reyes.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

OK, right out of the cage, let's just admit that the Mendocino coast is a splurge for a family. We stayed at another property on a Thursday on our way to Shelter Cove for the weekend. But it's just so freakin' beautiful, we decided to try to stay again on the way home Sunday night. Aforementioned property was already booked. Found the Andiron on Tripadvisor and gave them a call. They have several adjoining cabins that you can rent either side, or both, which is great when traveling with the kids. Sometimes, you just want to shut the door, if you know what I mean. Managed to secure the Read and Write cabins(s). Yay!

The property is clearly fun and funky. That can go either way - there is a fine line between retro chic, and old and dingy with and with that distinct thrift store odor that can never be washed away. I'm happy to report the Andiron accomplished fun and funky in the good way. Whew! The Read cabin had a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker (with coffee beans and a grinder!), and a two burner stove. It's tiny, you're not going to be whipping up any gourmet meals there, but good for re-heating leftovers and keeping the beer cold. Being a bit of a hippie, Momma appreciated the natural shampoo and soap products, and the lack of the cleaning supply odor upon entering the property.

The Write half was for Boy #1 and Boy #2. Chalkboard paint covered one wall and the back of the door, with chalk provided. What?! We can write on the walls and the 'rents won't yell at us? It was just too good to be true! But to Primo and Segundo, nothing was more fascinating than the old school typewriter, complete with paper. Momma showed them how it worked (A! S! D! F! J! K! L! ;!) and soon realized her finger dexterity wasn't what it used to be back in the day. Sigh.

Boys and Big Poppa headed out to the firepit to beat their chests and make fire. Manly bonding accomplished, complete with smores (Momma had the foresight to stop at Safeway for supplies). Two weeks later, Primo and Segundo are still referring to the masculine contributor to their DNA as "Caveman Daddy", generally while grunting and scratching themselves in unseemly manners. Again, sigh.

I guess the final stamp of approval comes from Boy #1. You see, each summer, we go away for a long weekend as a family (all four of us), then we take turns for the following two weekends switching off Boy #1 and Boy #2 for some one-on-one time with the boys. Primo declared at the Andiron that for his weekend with Momma (that would be moi), he didn't want to go to San Francisco anymore, but wanted to come back to the Andiron. Guess I'll be calling you in the morning to check for availability.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShesaBadMammaJamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I'm almost afraid to rate this place highly, because if everyone experiences it, I won't be able to book a cabin any more :)

First off, visit the hotel's website. It's incredibly accurate.

If you are looking for a boring, run of the mill posh hotel, then look elsewhere.

If you are looking for an awesome, interactive (!), quirky place that just screams MENDOCINO, then yes, stay here.

Don't miss the Saturday evening happy hour (5-6). The owners are great to talk to...as are the other guests who wander in. Oh, and the owners make the BEST sangria ever. Just sayin'.

From the personal touches in every unique room, to the hot tub under the trees, to the marshmallow roasting pit (with marshmallows provided for roasting under the stars...) WOW.

Oh, and check the book in the room. You simply MUST visit the "secret" they mention in there.

Yes, there is no "ocean view" from your room. Who cares? You can feel the love! :)

I will DEFINITELY be staying here again. And again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Won't waste time-agree with all the other 5 star reviews. Do not miss happy hour, or breakfast. Scott and Madeline were indeed great hosts, and I enjoyed petting the goats too! Hot tub at night under the trees was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duomi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Property: The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing