We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Different - Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
312 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very Different - Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The rooms here are two-room cabins built in the 1950s. The rooms are decorated from that time period. The place is well maintained and clean. Nice hot tub and a convenient location also.

Owners are there on the weekends and host a happy hour and small plates reception on Friday and Saturday evenings. They and the staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and local restaurants. Would recommend the Andiron!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Aww, thanks Doug! Very different and very enjoyable? That's a-okay with us. Glad you liked it. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A simply wonderful place to spend a few days. My wife and I stayed in the 'Read' cabin, which we loved. The decorations make it feel like a little cottage and there is a little kitchen to make breakfast or what have you. Each cabin has a little deck to sit out on and have a drink. There is also a nice hot tub.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
No, YOU rock.

We really like it when people like our place. Thank you for saying so on the internet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed one night but should have stayed for two. Very comfortable ,quiet and friendly. The hot tub was great after a day of driving the beautiful coastal highway. We had the MAKE cabin and it was quite nice .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! And... you definitely have to stay two nights next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The cabin is located in Little River on HWY 1 and it is about 4 miles from Mendocino and a very easy drive. I enjoyed staying here rather than Mendocino.

We were a bit skeptical when we pulled into the property as the cabin looks pretty rustic. However, once we opened the door, we were greeted by the soothing music playing in the background. We have an adjoining room with 2 beds and bathrooms. The cabin also has a patio and sitting area that overlooks HWY 1 . Since the property is tucked in you don’t’ really get any of the traffic .

Each cabin is unique and has its specialty. You are transposed back to the 40-80 depending on the rooms of your choice. The owner also hosted a happy hour from 5pm-6pm with wine and beer. We took the beer back to our cabin and couldn’t’ be happier to sit down and chill out after a day of walking and driving. The hotel also has a hot tube although we didn’t get a chance to use it but definitely a good way to wind down your day. The cabin we got is also equipped with a refrig, microwave, coffee, tea and plenty of glassware for wine and beer.

The (2) friendly goats, peanut butter and jelly are an attraction by itself. Your kids will be happy to pat them. Breakfast is very simple with just bread with jelly/butter/cheese and coffee.

I will return and stay here again to explore the areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie-Oreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
So glad you gave us a shot and had fun! And...we're glad we surprised you when you ventured inside. We totally agree: There really is nothing like sitting on the deck with a cold beverage and watching the world pass by.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We love, love, love this place!

Booked again this year for our birthday stay, then decided at the last minute to come up a day early. Kate was awesome and got us booked for an extra day and even had the room set up with a birthday greeting for me and a welcome back for our dog. What a nice birthday surprise!

This is doggie and people heaven. Very quiet and peaceful stay and we love the new fire pit for the guests!

The stay here truly made a great and relaxing birthday. I just wish we could stay longer!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Awwww. You guys. Thanks. SERIOUSLY. So fun having you, always. Loved catching up. Keep coming back, mkay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Pet friendly - you read the literature in the room and they have a stated aversion to barking dogs. Yet when I checked in, Kate had two dogs in the office, one of which first growled and then barked for a while.

The cottage was okay, a little overly cute/ precious in decoration. Seem to be trying a little too hard. Loved the Adirondack chairs on the deck. Refrigerator but no microwave in standard queen. No housekeeping service for short stays. The bed should be replaced. The springs are unevenly supporting the mattress. Didn't go into hot tub - not hot enough for my taste. It's heated from 6 to midnight. If you go after dark, you should have a flashlight.

This was not a bargain. We knew we'd be a distance from Mendocino, but there's really nothing near here. The rate was more than we've paid in Santa Fe, Pacific Grove, San Francisco and the room wasn't any nicer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear people - I'm so sorry you didn't dig staying here! I gotta say, some of your comments...ouch! It's absolutely true that my husband and I try hard. Too hard, according to you! But, I guess it's better than not trying hard enough, right? Every cute little detail, every precious little nuance - they are who we are. And *we* are not for everyone, and clearly not for you! Better luck in your future travels!

A couple little clarifications for those reading:

- "Aversion to dogs barking"? Umm, seriously, how could we be pet-friendly but not allow dogs to bark? That's nuts! Dogs bark. It happens. We're good with that. However, our literature DOES say that we don't allow people to leave dogs in their cabins alone - sometimes that's when they bark non-stop. That's what isn't cool!

- Price Schmice! You know, what a room costs is a weird thing. It doesn't make any sense. You can stay in a four star hotel in San Francisco for $89 a night or a fleabag in DC for $200 (I've done both in the last month). It's about the market. I encourage you to check out *our* market. We're right in there, on the lower end, actually. That's the truth. We bought our place five years ago and have raised our rates by exactly $5 a night once.

- Nothing around here...you got that right, reviewer! And that's how we like it! Nothing but stars, games, hikes, books, ocean, headlands, deer, croquet, beaches, and peace. We'll take it.

Listen, we hope everyone does their research when they stay somewhere. Go visit our web site, read the reviews here, and figure out what floats your boat. An inn like ours isn't one-size fits all. It IS perfectly fit for some. Us, and maybe some folks reading this. That's all we're going for.

Happy travels to this reviewer, and all reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We got in and unpacked the car to find personalized touches for my husband and I and the dog. Coffee beans to be ground in the morning, biscuit for the dog, whoopie pies for us, music playing. I could see the ocean from our bed, or on the porch in relaxing chairs. Spa tucked away, a firepit ready to go with marshmallows and toasting sticks Our dog is used to sleeping with us and we wondered how we were going to convince him to stay off that wonderful bed. They have a cover for the bed if you want the dog on it, special towels just for the dog and his own "toiletries". Spa towels for us, a fire set ready to light in the fireplace. Scott was welcoming in both the Happy hour and morning toast. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: we stayed in "here" - good view, comfy check out their website for pics of all the cabinet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom0maj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAndiron, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Oh yay! We are so glad you found us! And, that you liked what you found - you two AND your dog. We wouldn't dream of kicking our four-legged family member off the bed...and we don't expect you too either.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Property: The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing