We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be sure to have reservations”
Review of Wild Fish

Wild Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 100% Local & Organic The culinary team at Wild Fish procure produce locally from farmers, fishermen & women and foragers - the fish is always wild and fresh. Everything is made from scratch and in house.
Hayward, ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“be sure to have reservations”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

tiny restaurant---maybe 9 tables....right next to the store in Little River....they serve lunch and dinner almost every day....very elegant. big wine list.....lots of local fish, and local produce....chef is creative, and meals are served in a lovely manner, and are delish.....spouse had black cod, I had sole and we shared a salad and carrot soup.....I also had a homemade limeade......would have that again....dessert was a tart with rhubarb and peaches I think.....nice finish...

run by husband/wife team.....very personable

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alcojunkyarddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    89
    31
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
326 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Had to go back!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On a visit to Mendocino, we discovered this place based on a recommendation from a local. We enjoyed it so much we had to go back even though we were in town for only four nights. The fish is very fresh and the service is great. Other dishes were also delicious. The carrot soup (even though it doesn't sound exciting) is a special treat.

Very small place so get a reservation ahead of time. On our second visit we could not get a reservation, but they worked us in at their extremely small bar when we decided to go and try anyway. Very friendly owners and staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You won't get it fresher unless you catch it yourself”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Of course if you catch it yourself you'll never pull off the preparation like here. Excellent fresh fish options, the service has in past visits been at times spotty but they have got their act together and things are much smoother now. In four visits to the restaurant in the past couple years we have never had anything other than an excellent meal. This is a small hidden gem in a beautiful spot. The room is small and can be noisy if there are any groups.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickSantaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
506 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great things come in small packages,a must to try,great food....”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A most unusual location and minute interior with as small tables,this is my second visit in a year and finally got to see the owner a Brit like myself and his wife who served us this particular evening,Three of us could not choose from the menu as it all read wonderfully and excited the palette before even arriving,Three different types of oysters,caesars salad with shrimps and added anchovy by request and a lovely fillet of rock cod for a main,my fiends indulged in salmon the other swordfish each presentation was masterful and delicious and a plentiful portion as well,we tried their recommendation of a fruity and slightly acid local white which seemed to pair perfectly with all the dishes,the dessert menu was also impressive as was the filtered coffee,wines only sadly no cocktails or spirits in this establishment.The seating arrangements are small and cramped and a two seater with a one foot flap served as our table for three,there is a stunning view from the main window and watch the sunset nightly...............Never mind the cramped surroundings as the food and service are excellent,however give them more room in a nearby location and it would be superb,thats just an observation as what they have now they have turned into a little gem,a must to try when passing by..............................Give me a yes as I know you will enjoy it like we did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal with a view and character !”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great food in a charming spot. At first glance it doesn't look like too much, tucked behind a gas station and post office. There were very few open tables and it took a bit to figure out how it worked. The host, who turned out to also be the owner bustled around multitasking and seemed a bit scattered but we did get seated and our water was delivered right away. The server was the wife and co owner, and both are transplants from England. It took a bit to order our wine and then to get it but it was super. Their selection is all from the Mendocino area, a nice touch. The owner explained how all the fish is caught and purchased locally and as fresh as could be. We both ordered the king salmon and it was served very quicklyand was beautifully grilled with skin on served over roasted fingerling potatoes, green beans and cherry tomatoes. It was absolutely delicious and the perfect portion. We were going to sip dessert but the lavender blueberry brûlée sounded enticing and we had to try it. We were not disappointed ! The owners were charming once things settled in and it felt like you were visiting with friends. A visit next trip is definite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailey1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Fish also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
Albion, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wild Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing