We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Ranked #3 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We decided to stay here because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and we really liked our room, the Pacific View, which had a large deck with views of the ocean, and the trees and grounds. We had great massages in the nice spa. All in all a very nice stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank greendreamtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    42
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
165
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband, and I stayed in the Pacific View room and couldn't be happier. The room was light, airy, quiet and comfortable with a nice view of the ocean and forest. The grounds were nicely landscaped with beautiful local flowers. The staff was very helpful and my dog was welcomed with a nice dog bed and treats. We had breakfast each morning at the Circa 62 restaurant and enjoyed every meal. All in all we had a very relaxing stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Windybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
je23
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay in the Fushia cabin and would absolutely stay here again.

- The staff was incredibly warm, helpful and welcoming -- really a pleasure to interact with everyone there. They helped with everything, including a reservation for canoeing.
- The property is in a great location -- close to things you want to see/do, but still a bit isolated for quiet.
- The cabin was very comfortable -- the main room and bedroom in particular. The bathroom was fine -- only minor gripe is that the shower is tricky for anyone over 5'10 (and I'm 6'0). Nice porch out-front to hang out on in the sun and watch the sunset.
- The breakfasts are seriously terrific. I'm a food-guy and all 3 breakfasts we had were outstanding. Have the hashbrown waffle at least once.
- We used the fire pit once for s'mores. Very fun.
- We had our beagle with us -- great property for dogs. I'd brought his bed along with us, but he preferred the one the inn had provided. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank je23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was difficult to choose a place as there are so many and I am so picky about where I stay, it must have many dimensions and check off 90% of my boxes! We loved The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek

We went over Labor Day weekend with another couple and it was perfect. If you are into stuffy, sterile, uppity, elitist, 5 star Ritz type places, or charming Victorian Bs and Bs, this may not be the best fit for you. If you like a small community with warm and friendly staff, ocean view in front, flowers and a private mini woods and creek, outside firepit and hot tub, this is for you.
We were a little concerned before going after reading about the dog friendly aspects. We have a dog and cat but chose not to bring them so was a bit worried that dog smell and evidence would abound. Well, the place is immaculate, no smell or physical evidence of dog anywhere, the owners and dog owners are very respectful, and dogs all very friendly and not in excess. All of Mendocino is very dog friendly, so much so, it's like Doggie Disneyland.

Anyway, our cabins were airy and clean, a bottle of wine and personal card greeted us, the size makes both privacy and socializing possible so not isolated like renting a big house on the bluffs and not compressed like a hotel. We loved wandering on the grounds, walking to Buckhorn Cove and seeing fresh abalones, using the outdoor jacuzzi and fire-pit every night, sitting in the wooden swing overlooking the creek, etc. The breakfasts are so delicious. One receives a 10.00 voucher per day towards breakfast which means you can get an amazing breakfast for only 3 or 4 dollars, Only downside as we love physical activity is that there are no long hikes directly from Inn due to small road shoulders. However, Van Damme Beach and Park is one minute by car and Mendocino 5 minutes. Our trips to wineries, Glass Beach, sea kayaking, etc were all very easy. Contact me for details, the staff and place are wonderful,

Room Tip: Every room has a special quality and view. We stayed in Rose as I like separate cabins best. Rose...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green and clean. Loved the lovely grounds and ocean and homemade breakfast foods,
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here with mother-in-law, one dog, and one cat. The proprietors are super helpful with everything and the entire property is delightful. Our cabin was very comfortable for the whole entourage. The dog was treted very well, and loved every minute of it! Everything was clean and in good repair. The breakfast was superb, and the granola was absolutely the best any of us had ever tasted! It's a short drive into Mendocino, and there is a nice walk down to the rocky beach area that was short and easy. We have nothing negative to say about this Inn, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We came here for our first family trip to Mendocino county. Did some wine tasting on the way up and scenery is gorgeous.
The property is right across from the ocean so the views are spectacular. We stayed in the Forrest View room which had a huge patio and yard which would be great for those traveling with pets. Although my husband and I are dog lovers we don't actually own one so we were a little taken aback by the dog smell in the room. The innkeeper promptly came out with scented candles though and was very attentive to our needs.
The breakfast is hands down one of the best I've ever had! Everything is fresh and local and the service is superb.
You feel like the people that work there are genuine and really want you to enjoy your stay.
We will definitely be going back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This grouping of "cabins" is on a relatively busy highway. Our cabin faced the highway, yet we were not bothered by noise. The room was pleasant and clean. There is a little "beach" area, but getting to it requires crossing the highway and once you arrive, it amounts to a little grotto with not much to explore. If you get in your car and go north a short ways, walking paths are to be found overlooking the ocean; very lovely. In the room we found a "breakfast voucher" entitling us to $10 off per person for breakfast in the dining room. The dining room is in the same complex, an attractive room with good service and tasty, but very pricey, breakfast items. The voucher did not quite cover it for us, and we ordered minimally, a continental breakfast with additional fruit. There is a spa in the complex where you can purchase a massage with royal treatment. We enjoyed staying there, but not raving about it. By the way, they accept pets, and there are pet treats at the reception desk to welcome your furry companions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesliej88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Schoolhouse Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Schoolhouse Creek

Property: Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Address: 7051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Schoolhouse Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek on the Mendocino Coast provides a unique experience on the Northern California Coast with cottages and rooms spread out over 9 acres of lush gardens, meadows and forested land as well as our cliffside cottages with amazing white water ocean views.Come escape to the coast and discover our distinctive Inn’s cottages and rooms offering all the amenities you are looking for to relax, unwind and get away from it all--ocean views, fireplaces, cliffside cottages, hot tubs, Jacuzzi tubs, bountiful breakfasts, spa services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Schoolhouse Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Schoolhouse Creek Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing