We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Nearby Hotels
Little River Inn(Little River)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn & Spa(Fort Bragg)
US$111
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Cottages(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel and Gardens(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Dolphin Inn & Mini Golf(Fort Bragg)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Lodge Motel(Fort Bragg)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
233
46
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
46
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater towerhot tubcaptain's watchbottle of wineheather cottagecirca restaurantpacific viewgranolafire pitquailshort hikehandwritten notemain propertycoffee makerwedding anniversaryfirst morninggreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a wonderful property overlooking the ocean south of Mendocino. The owners are fantastic and very interested in you having a wonderful and relaxed time. One of the most dog friendly hotels I've found. Lots of space for the dogs to run around and have a ball. The spa is another fantastic part of this whole scene. And breakfast was to die for! You won't regret a trip to this heavenly place!

Room Tip: An ocean view was great! They also have a beautiful building at the back of the property with spectacular views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My friend from England had a house swap in Redwood City but wanted to see as much of California as she could during her 3 week visit. After heading south down the coast for a while we then ventured up north of San Francisco along the rugged coast and happened to get the name of the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek for a one night stay. What a find! I have never stayed at a place that was so accommodating and just plain fun! We didn't have animals with us, but as my friend dipped into the cookie jar on the reception desk and was about to consume the "doggie treat" she was assured it was home-made and good for humans too! A bottle of wine, a postcard addressed to me with a welcome message on it, were waiting in the room, as well as a speciality coffee with fixings. The room had a deck with a view of the ocean, a log burning stove and wonderful toiletries in the spacious bathroom. Wifi and cell phone connectivity were processed by June, the receptionist. We loved the wine so much I asked to purchase a bottle and was supplied with one for the asking, a parting gift. A voucher for breakfast was included and the food was amazing! Homegrown ingredients that melted on the tongue.
My only concern is that I live so far away in Louisiana and may not have the opportunity to visit this oasis again. It would certainly be on the top of my list!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, we stayed in the Van Damme.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIDeBusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the inn for a short honeymoon with our rather large dogs. The staff was fantastic and super accommodating. We had a late checkin, but our key and info was waiting for us when we arrived, so we could get settled. The dogs had two bowls, beds, and other goodies waiting for them as well. The grounds are perfectly accommodating for traveling with our without pups. The breakfast at the restaurant was terrific. We had a terrific time! So relaxing.

Room Tip: We had one of the cottages with nice chairs out front where you could sit and see the ocean. Quite a treat.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelbelle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at one of the satellite locations - The Albion House. Our two night stay was fantastic - solitude, beautiful scenery, and the food served for breakfast was exceptional! The property is about a 10 minute drive south of Mendocino, and also north of some wonderful boutique wineries! We had the pleasure of meeting Sandy VanderBes, the owner, and she was most gracious and very welcoming! We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We chose to stay here based on location and availability of a kitchen, and of course the excellent reviews. Over a 5-night stay, it exceeded all of our expectations. The service is very attentive, the location quiet and convenient to everything in the Mendo area, and the facilities charming and well appointed. An unexpected advantage is the in-house breakfast cafe, operated as Circa 1862, which has phenomenally good food. We stayed in Fuchsia cottage, which has a deck, ocean view (albeit a little distant), living/dining room with a well-equipped kitchenette, and spacious bedroom.

There's also private access - bit of a walk, but worth every step - to a secluded cove ("Buckskin Gulch") with a rare wooded sea stack in the center riddled with wave tunnels, and incredible surroundings including at least 4 sea arches (see photo) visited by sea kayakers. Be sure to get directions from the staff.

Details;
Design - (based on Fuchsia) sympathetic, restrained and relatively fresh upgrade of 19th c. workers' cottage, tastefully furnished (mission-esque) with trundle bed and easy chair in living area. Kitchenette has small round table with 4 chairs, small 4-burner stove/oven and full refrig/freezer, very complete utensil set (if basic - as usual, cutting board very rough from serrated knives; if you bring anything, this is a good choice).

Storage: dresser in bedroom with vanity mirror; no closet but nice armoire with plenty of hangers (8). Quality cabinets in kitchenette.

Plumbing: Low water pressure, except (oddly) for hot water, and plenty of that. Big tub, if you like that sort of thing, but also great separate shower with best adjustable low-flow head I've seen and very good pressure-balanced control.

Heating: Gas-fired "fireplace" with sensitive digital thermostat; quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Cottages on middle tier ("second terrace" as they say around here) - Fuchsia, Heather, Rose - seem to have best views, except maybe for upper-story units at top of hill (Whale Watch, etc.). Water Tower has own elevated deck (as described elsewhere) but it's a climb. Size, decor and amenities vary - study website info and ask if in doubt.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerBogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews