We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch”

Little River Inn Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Little River Inn Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Little River Airport Road
Description: Family hospitality meets fine cuisine at this landmark coastal resort. Looking out upon magnificent ocean and garden views, the Little River Inn Restaurant is well known for its comfortable atmosphere and enticing fresh local fare. Executive Chef Marc Dym creates dishes that are at once familiar and modern, while the friendliest staff on the coast makes you feel like part of the family.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I'm in the area with my family and stopped by the Little River Inn dining room for lunch. The bar was open for lunch as we arrived just after brunch had finished. We ordered two of the roundman burgers, the asian salad with flash fried calamari, and the chicken sandwich. All of us liked our food and would go back again.

The night before we had gone to the Albion River Inn which in the past, I'd always liked and we thought this was better for lunch then the dinner at the Albion River Inn had been.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    116
    54
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Point Richmond, CA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

With the understanding that there are far better dinner restaurants within a short distance (e.g., Cafe Beaujolais in Mendocino and Albion a River Inn in Albion), you can't go wrong for breakfast at the Little River Inn's dining room, which is open to non-guests and conveniently located right on Hwy 1 with plenty of parking. The several variations on Eggs Benedict (particularly the one with Dungeness crab) are worth your consideration as are the hot cakes. Coffee comes from the Thanksgiving Coffee Company and is the Inn's own blend. My only criticism is that they do not serve real maple syrup or offer marmalade as a preserves choice. Of course, that is offset by having the bar open early and ready to make you a killer Bloody Mary.

BTW, in the "old days", this was the place for a fresh Abalone dinner. Mysteriously, they always seemed to have it on hand, even when out of season (which may be part of the reason why it was nowhere to be found on today's menu :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoy your meal at another restaurant !”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Chippino was awful! Sauce swimming in oil/grease,overcooked seafood,tiny shrimp and did not seem to have any fresh fish,all tough and tasteless,probably frozen.Plenty of good restaurants in the area.Do your self a favor and eat at a place that has fresh food and good flavor!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwileeds4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner. I had the scallops they were prepared perfectly and so yummy, my husband had the sole and it was excellent. Little River has a great wine list and great drinks at the bar. We'll go back without a doubt.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank betsy9814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a must stop if you are in the area!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

After having two couples tell us how great this restaurant was we decided to try it out for dinner. We got there about 5:30 so we were seated in the bar. (dining room opens at 6). We were seated quickly by a very nice waitress. The bar was chucked full of history about the Inn which is still run by the original family. The main dining room was lovely. Several gorgeous painting by a local artist. My husband and I both choose the Prix fix dinner for $29. Along with a bowl of steamed clam chowder. The chowder was amazing and full of whole baby clams, I was sorry I had to share. Next came our Cesar salad followed by our main course of beef Bourguignon served with broccollini with a grand finale of two huge slices per person of bread pudding with caramel sauce and fresh whipped cream (I had mine to go). I have to be honest here this was one of those meals were each bite was better the the first and when the final bite was inevitable you were sad it was just that good. My hat is off to the Little River Inn chef what an incredible meal at a very reasonable price. Thanks you, can't wait to return!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wknmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little River Inn Dining Room also viewed

Little River, Mendocino County
Albion, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Little River Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing