We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing meal”
Review of The Restaurant at Stevenswood - CLOSED

The Restaurant at Stevenswood
Price range: US$30 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Gordon Lane
Stockton
2 reviews
“Disappointing meal”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The room is too dark and seems somber. White wine was served room temperature, and I was not asked if I would prefer it a bit chilled. The warm mozzarella appetizer had great potential but was cool on the inside. Mashed potatoes are served with each entree and I would guess they are from a box or package. Vegetables, salmon, lamb and cheesecake were quite good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StocktonCaroleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

For this area, I would say well done. We stayed at hotel for 2 nights, and ate there once. The food was good, not exceptional. Very quiet, great for a romantic, slow dinner. Service was fine. Their wine corkage fee was strange, a sliding scale, up to $25. Guess what we paid - $25. Their house wine - not so good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J_PBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We happened upon this restaurant as we were staying next door and didn't want to get back into the car and drive. It was very quiet for a Saturday night, so we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! The dining area was quiet and nicely decorated. The service was outstanding!! We ordered the baked brie appetizer to share (indulgent!) and each ordered an entree - beef for my husband and fish for me. The food was amazing- perfectly prepared and delicious! The prices were pretty much standard for fine dining restaurants in this area and they had a good wine list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The food was sufficient but not even above average. It was good average fare which is less than I expected for an inn with this reputation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fathack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankee in the South
Level Contributor
219 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Four of us enjoyed a lovely evening of wonderful food, quiet conversation (many thanks because too many restaurants seem to think diners don't mind having to shout to their dining companions) and a tasteful surrounding. Quiet background music - excellent experience.............

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Stevenswood also viewed

 
Little River, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing