We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage House Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent two days at the Heritage House this week. When I phoned for reservations and made our room selection, I was just about to provide credit card information when I was put on hold. For a very long time... When the agent came back on, she was very apologetic for the wait (even though I had not complained). She made sure we received the AAA rate, and gave me as well an additional discount for the delay! Our newly renovated and very attractive and comfortable room had a stunning view over the ocean. The property is beautiful and inviting. Be sure to walk around and enjoy the coastal views. The bath has a luxurious rain shower - but has one glitch. There is a fitting for a handheld unit - but the unit is missing. Many of the units are still in construction, but the workers don't start until 9, so even though the building next door was being renovated, we were never disturbed by noise.

I would give this a five star were it not for a number of issues with our restaurant experience. When we checked in on Sunday, we made reservations for the following night. The reservation book was empty, so we were promised a window table with a view of the sunset. When we arrived - right on time - we were told that no tables by the window were available "because some walk-ins came in just before you got here and just sat down...." It took the waiter at least fifteen minutes after we were seated to offer us a drink. We had to ask twice to receive a bread service. The menu itself is short. "Eclectic" would be an overstatement. The range went from hamburgers, to a salmon entree, as well as a bizarre and unappetizing sounding "lobster with mac and cheese." We had the salmon which was very ordinary. Finally, after placing our order, nearly an hour passed before we received our meal. Wait staff is clearly inexperienced and nervous.

Bottom line - go to stay - but not to eat. There are much better dining choices, including those with wonderful views.

Room Tip: All the rooms are purported to have great views, though overgrown trees may block some it seems to m...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djastiz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We appreciate your positive and constructive feedback. We invite you to give our restaurant a try once again during your next visit. Based on your specific examples, we have already taken steps to retrain our restaurant team to ensure a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Heritage House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is our first time back (Oct 2013) since they opened. If you had visited the Heritage House before they closed you will find some things different. No more wood burning fireplaces. No more great free breakfast. The rooms are nice and out last visit before they closed we had stayed in a remodel unit. It is very nice. The atmosphere is the same.(Outstanding) The view is the same. (Outstanding) There were some restaurant service issues. We were given a menu to review at check-in for our up coming dinner at the Inn. When we got to the restaurant half of the items on the menu were not available due to the kitchen was not completely renovated. It just seemed that the Resort and employees was just not ready. We will go again next year and I hope that it will become the place we grew to love.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We have revised and redesigned our menu based on your feedback. We hope you will enjoy our wood-burning fireplace in the restaurant during your next visit with us. We look forwarding to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are in heaven again. For the past few years Heritage House has been closed. We are so grateful they are finally open again. Only 25% is open as the balance is under remodeling but what is open is wonderful!
It is still the most romantic place on earth even though they have added flat screen TV and WiFi so you aren't completely isolated from the "real world."
Rooms are elegant and updated in an Asian Modern look. The rain shower is amazing!
Gas fireplaces instead of wood burning (new laws) but balcony is so romantic and sunsets just as wonderful as ever.
They still serve breakfast and the dining room is available for dinner. Where the game room was is now dining room as well as the regular dining room. The main fireplace is cozy and still there in the main house.
Hopefully they will pin up the photo history of the Heritage House down the long hallway.
After coming to Heritage House for over 40 years, it is once again the place to visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SH4Kinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are pleased to announce that about half of our guest rooms are now fully renovated and open, with many more opening soon. Our complimentary WiFi has certainly been a hit with our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am so happy Heritage House has finally reopened. This is an excellent hotel but since it has only be open a few weeks, it has some items to be worked out.

The positives, location, location, location. Our room was beautiful and I loved the heated floor in the bath and the view from the tub. We have a wonderful ocean view also from our private deck, sofa and bed. I also enjoyed the large flat screen TV. I know some people have complained that there are TV's in the room now, but I figure if you don't want a TV do not turn it on. The staff will go out of it's way for you, wonderful service. Good wine selection in the bar, and dinner was very good. They are still working with a limited menu, which I feel is a smart thing to do, but more than enough items on the menu to make anyone happy. My husband had breakfast in the morning and he said it was very good. He was looking for a newspaper and when there wasn't one, someone went out and got him one and brought it to the table, what service.

Cons, our room #47 was newly opened. It needs weather stripping at the front door, there is an inch gap which can make it chilly and will also allow little critters to enter the room. We stuffed a towel under the door. Bathroom has no blinds, while it make for a wonderful view while bathing or showering. When work men can see in the bathroom, it makes it embarrassing. Why hotels insist on putting the almost always noisy refrigerators in the room is beyond me, we had to turn it off to be able to sleep. These are very minor things that I am sure will be worked out in the next few weeks.

There is one major concern, when sitting at the bar or outside on the deck by the bar, there is a pronounced sewer smell, that makes it so you do not want to sit on the deck, and it sometimes comes into the bar. This is something they must rectify.

We will be back, we love the place and the staff will do anything to rectify any of your concerns. I am so a happy they are open again, and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We apologize for the maintenance issues that you experienced. This has been addressed with our team and will be resolved very shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you may enjoy an improved experience based on your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AOstrowski, General Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kamer 40 heeft een prachtig uitzicht
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waquispel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AOstrowski, General Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank davealexandrejasonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AOstrowski, General Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
4.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
13.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
4.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
489 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
716 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Resort

Address: 5200 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: £154 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations embody their surroundings as wonderfully as The Heritage House Resort. One of the most luxurious hotels in Northern California, and one of the rare properties located directly on the Mendocino coast, our unspoiled 37-acre sanctuary is a cliffside haven where the extraordinary happens every day. For nearly a century and a half, guests have come to our sheltered cove to encounter a setting so private, with views so dramatic and an ambiance so enchanting that mind and body achieve complete harmony. Following a meticulous five-year renovation, The Heritage House has re-emerged as the perfect blend of romantic seaside charm and contemporary sophistication. This is, quite simply, the Jewel of the Coast. We welcome you to slip away from the busy, everyday world and disappear into ours. From beautifully remodeled rooms with gas fireplaces, private oceanview decks and handcrafted Duxiana beds to locally sourced, farm-to-fork cuisine at 5200 Restaurant & Lounge, nothing stands between you and an unparalleled Pacific Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing