We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage House Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I and our longtime friends stayed two nights in adjoining very large rooms with views of the Pacific waves pounding the rocky coast, even with the fog. Although the fog rolled in and stayed, the property is charming and will be spectacular when the renovation is completed (new owners). We really appreciated the gas fireplace, the large walk-in shower, the comfortable king, the toiletries, towels and luxurious robes. The staff is friendly and knowledgable. The bar for "happy hour" and the large (original) wood-burning fire-place are inviting, warm and comfortable. Our dinners were wonderful and the Alexander Valley wines (Navarro, Paradoxx) were perfect pairings with our entrees. We celebrated Vance's birthday and hope to return in February to celebrate Jack's!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faithm625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband, Rick Harding, and I were thrilled to learn about the 'reopening' of our favorite hotel near Mendocino, CA, the Heritage House Resort! We recently celebrated our birthdays with our brother and sister-n-laws, Drs. Victor and Deborah Harding and were thrilled that we were able to stay in the same Sea Cliff rooms that we have enjoyed for many years! The views of the cove are spectacular!! After 5 years, this breathtaking resort has re-opened with completely remodeled units! Once again we were able to enjoy and savor our long strolls along the coast, wonderful fireplaces and relaxing oversized bathtubs and amenities! This is by far one of the most picturesque resorts near Mendocino and the ultimate romantic 'get-away!'

Room Tip: Every room and 'cottage' have spectacular views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have been long time visiters of the Heritage House, since the late 80's. This is our first visit since the new owners took over. They are doing an excellant job keeping as much of the wonderful
relaxing feeling that was there in the past. The little buildings spread out on the property that are the rooms are completely restored to their original look and interiors are all new and modern. The help was wonderful. Very welcoming and friendly.
Even though they are still under construction, they took great care not to be disruptive.
The ocean and coast line can't be changed. Our opinion is it is one of the best pieces of the northern calif coast.
Limited meun for now till they finish all the rooms but the food was fabulous. We stayed 4 days and ended up eating breakfast and dinner there every day.

Room Tip: depending on how much you want to spend all rooms are good some have better ocean views than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our room was perfect with a whitewater ocean view and the sound of waves to lull us to sleep. I've never had a bathroom with a heated floor.....very nice on cold mornings, that and a cozy fire. I appreciated the toiletries that were provide and the big fluffy towels. The two dinners we had were so good I almost wished that a scale had not been provided in the rooms. We love to hike around the headlands in the morning and pick up a New York Times in Mendocino so we didn't sample the breakfast menu. Will definitely try it next time. A fitness center is in the building stages and that will be something both my husband an I will use.

Room Tip: We liked the serenity and lack of road noise with the proximity to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I and our two Beagles stayed four nights and really enjoyed our stay. We are excited it is pet friendly! The room was very spacious with an awesome view of the Mendocino coast. It was wonderful to have a microwave and a refrigerator in the room. It would complete the package if there were a small table and chairs at which to eat. The bathroom was amazing, with a
soaking tub with a view. The rain shower was lovely and the overall space was great. We really liked the bath amenities as well. We missed the wood burning fireplace but understand complying with the new laws. The resort is still in a startup phase and therefore has some room for improvement. There seems to be a disconnect between the resort and the restaurant. The service at the resort was wonderful and friendly, at the restaurant they seemed disorganized. We had one breakfast and one dinner there. The food at dinner was very good, the appetizer was the best, but the wait staff spent time visiting with each other in the bar area rather than getting the drinks or bread to our table. Dinner was fine. Breakfast, not so much. We arrived about 9:40am on Sunday morning, they only serve until ten, and the buffet was on the bar, ice cold. The egg dish and the potatoes and bacon/sausage all ice cold. Breakfast is not included in the price of the room and 14.00 is a bit pricy for cold cereal and coffee and rolls. We were told they had no way to keep the food warm. We saw no juice either. We would suggest that breakfast be discontinued until it could be cooked to order.
Our over all score is only a four out of five because of the restaurant, the resort itself was wonderful and the staff very pleasant. The place is still " under construction" but I must say we were deIighted at how quite the workers were. We barely heard them and they are to be commended for this as construction noise could ruin a great stay.
We loved the private deck as did our dogs. They saw a deer walking thru the meadow and really enjoyed that. We will use the deck more next visit as the weather was overcast and cold most of this stay. We will absolutely return and look forward to the continuing improvements as the resort finishes it's re opening phase.
We look forward to our favorite room being open soon, Vista, and also the improvements we are sure will occur at the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and the WiFi worked best at the bathroom sink. All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtotrvl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We love pets! We feel that guests' pets are just as important as guests' children. It's important for both children and pets to feel comfortable, safe and valued. Next time, we invite you to enjoy the wood-burning fireplace in the restaurant. Thank you for the feedback; this allows us the opportunity to address specific concerns to ensure an even more memorable stay when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first trip to Mendocino. A friend suggested The Heritage House Resort. It is undergoing extensive renovations after being closed for 5 years. They are about 45% through the renovation process so their are a lot of workmen on the property. Our room had been newly renovated and up to date, clean and perfect. WiFi internet access and big screen TV were working fine and as well as the gas fireplace. The property is simply beautiful with spectacular views of the rugged Pacific Coast from our room, our deck and most places around the Resort. The staff is welcoming, courteous, friendly and provided great service. We ate 2 dinners and one breakfast and found the food to be good. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 441PAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in a newly refurbished unit for two. Room was great, shower and bath fantastic, bed was way comfortable. Breakfast buffet nice with view. Friendly helpful staff. Wish the heater worked better, never got warm. Hopefully they'll be tweaking all the new stuff. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knowsfoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Almost every guest tells us when they check out how much they love our Duxiana beds... We're glad you feel the same! Thanks for the tip on the heater issue. Our Engineering team is on it and we will ensure that you stay warm the next time you visit. Hopefully, before same time, next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
13 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
634 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
4.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
496 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Resort

Address: 5200 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9509
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: £108 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations embody their surroundings as wonderfully as The Heritage House Resort. One of the most luxurious hotels in Northern California, and one of the rare properties located directly on the Mendocino coast, our unspoiled 37-acre sanctuary is a cliffside haven where the extraordinary happens every day. For nearly a century and a half, guests have come to our sheltered cove to encounter a setting so private, with views so dramatic and an ambiance so enchanting that mind and body achieve complete harmony. Following a meticulous five-year renovation, The Heritage House has re-emerged as the perfect blend of romantic seaside charm and contemporary sophistication. This is, quite simply, the Jewel of the Coast. We welcome you to slip away from the busy, everyday world and disappear into ours. From beautifully remodeled rooms with gas fireplaces, private oceanview decks and handcrafted Duxiana beds to locally sourced, farm-to-fork cuisine at 5200 Restaurant & Lounge, nothing stands between you and an unparalleled Pacific Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing