We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous in many ways, weird in a few ways” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage House Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
los
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous in many ways, weird in a few ways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel and grounds are outstanding. The rooms are large with unbelievable views of the ocean from every one, even those high on the bluff. We booked through Expedia and the rates were completely reasonable. The rooms have all (we were told) been totally redone and they are beautiful and gracious. Ours (and I think most or all) had a private deck overlooking the grounds ad the Pacific. The rooms have a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and, best of all, a gas fireplace. Your are only about 10 minutes south of the hub-bub of Mendocino but feel like a million miles away. The bedding is excellent (though they said they do not have turn down service even though the in room booklet says they do).

But there is a lot of room for improvement. For such a high end hotel room, it is surprising that there was no water in the room (not necessary but would be gracious); no electrical outlets at desk height or on the bedside table or in the lamps (really, in recently renovated rooms in 2014?????), but plenty of outlets on the floor in front of the picture window which are useless; light bulbs that are insufficient for reading at night in the bed or on the sofa (but recessed ceiling lights that appear to have been placed before the furniture arrangement was designed so they don't light the sofa or the bed); a coffee maker installed over the microwave that is too high to fill with water and no outlets near any place where you might want to carry the coffee maker after unplugging it from where it sits (we finally used the small shelf space in the bathroom); automatic light switches that didn't turn on and off as they apparently are supposed to do; and a very posh shower area with controls that are impossibly far from where you need to be to adjust them; and the amenities in the room were not the high end products listed on the hotel webpage, were not replenished every day, and we had no soap at all when we arrived and had to call to ask for it. Overall, we had the impression that the renovations, though quite beautiful when you walk in to the room (truly so) were designed by an architect who never designed for a hotel before and apparently never traveled much him- or herself. The current management acknowledges how weird some aspects of the renovations were - apparently the result of changed ownership and changed and fired architects.

Having said that, however, the hotel is very comfortable (but do ask for bigger bulbs for your room if you read at night on anything other than a tablet or lighted Kindle) and do move the coffee pot to the bathroom for your morning in room coffee. If it weren't for the careless design features, which seem to be permanent, this would be a five star review. You will love the views, the grounds, and the feel -- if not the practicality -- of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    160
    49
    22
    23
See reviews for
51
444
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The new rooms are wonderful, with private decks and magnificient views! The restaurant had fabulous food and the dining room is beautiful. The lounge, with its fireplace, is a lovely place with games and books. Best of all, is the setting! A totally unique experience!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 391mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
321 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel (or should I say resort) it difficult to judge. You have to keep in mind, that it is really far, far away and other choices in this neck of the woods will not have the same standard.

Pros:
- Excellent and breathtaking location overlooking the Pacific
- Tranquil and peaceful setting
- Newly renovated rooms
- Asian inspired modern, sleek and contemporary furnishing
- Highly comfortable Duxiana beds with egyptian cotton sheets
- Tatami mats as flooring
- Lot´s of space in the suite and the bath-room
- Slate tiles in the bath-room with floor heating
- Walk-in shower in the bath-room
- Open gas fire-place in the suite
- Kitchenette with Lavazza coffee-maker and microwave
- Private patio with breathtaking views of the Pacific (if there is no fog)
- Lively bar

Cons:
- All this comes with a very high price tag
- Service is almost non-existing (we had to schlep the luggage on our own, no concierge, stressed staff at check-in)
- No honor-bar, no water in the room
- Property looks somewhat rundown (some might say it ads to the experience)
- No silverware in the kitchen
- Already some signs of wear and tear in the renovated rooms
- No welcome amenity (would be appreciated as a nice gesture)
- Mediocre breakfast at the restaurant

Overall no big deal, but therefore only 4 stars instead of 5 and IMO there is still a lot of room for improvement. Nevertheless I recommend this hotel and hope to come back sometimes in the future and see the development. For sure you can not beat the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Heritage House Resort ("Next Year" cabin; Room 43) for the first time. It was part of a trip to California I took with a friend to celebrate my 50th birthday. Like many, I imagine, who have stayed at the HHR, pre-and-post renovations (new owner in March 2012), the initial attraction was the beautiful location I first glimpsed in one of my favourite movies, "Same Time Next Year" (1978) with Alan Alda and Ellen Burstyn. Unable to compare the old HHR ("first opened in 1949 after Lauren Dennen converted the original 1877 New England-style farmhouse into a small Inn (that) grew over time to include dozens of cottages and was rated among the best resorts.") to the newly renovated HHR, which reopened in the Fall of 2013 and has approximately 35 units ("70 units when the last phase is completed"), all I can say is that the resort is a hidden gem. The drive up the cost was spectacular and led to this magnificent resort along the Pacific Coast. The initial entrance off the highway provides a warm and cozy feeling, with 300 foot tall eucalyptus trees lining portions of the property, along with majestic views of the ocean bordering the rest of the property. The staff are equally warm and welcoming, and have the unique ability to make you feel like a pampered guest at a 5 star resort, as well as a cherished member of the family. When we asked for ice or anything, the service was quick and friendly. The food was delicious (Grilled Flat Iron Steak was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth .... I'm getting hungry just thinking about it!) and all the staff could not have been nicer (Jim, Betty, Monica, Bill, Sarah, Jason, Sue (masseuse who provided in-room massage), everyone). The HHR was definitely the highlight of my trip to California.

While I live in Toronto, Canada (GTA), the trip to this magnificent resort was well worth the airfare and, one I plan on making again. I thank the new owner, Jeff Greene, for investing in this hidden gem ... the renovations are lovely! I also thank the staff for making my 50th birthday, which I celebrated at HHR, truly enjoyable and, one which I shall never forget!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debby_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Heritage House Resort from 7/23-7/26. It was a fantastic stay. The room was newly remodeled and was clean and comfortable. The heat comes from a gas fireplace and heated floors in the bathroom. Both add not only comfort but a wonderful ambiance also. Each room has an ocean view with a deck. We spent every evening sitting on the deck enjoying the sunset and a glass of wine. The property is gigantic and hosts many different walking trails. There is also a small, rocky beach that is private to the resort. Overall this is a wonderful resort for couples. I'm not sure I would recommend it to families as we never saw anyone under the age of 35. We can't wait to return next year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mjogg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for our honeymoon couldn't be happier with our room. It was breathtaking. The views were so beautiful the beds were so comfortable. They have a good size refrigerator in the room as well as a microwave. We bought food and stocked the room and never left. The deck we had was super private with amazing views of the ocean. The bathroom was first class I'm super impressed. We slept with the sliding door open every night I listened to the waves crash. We felt like we had our own slice of heaven while we stayed there. Can't wait until our next trip back

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Norcalitrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great room, great service, contemporary, fresh and clean. Delicious food. Lovely property views.

Just to give you an idea of the service, they have a veranda room where dogs are welcome to sit with their parents. For our dinner reservations, they set a place setting for our Great Dane with a bowl full of biscuits, water and blankets next to our beautifully set dinner table. Definitely won our hearts with such thoughtfulness!

Another night, there was a wedding party and the dining room was too chaotic, they were very apologetic and offered room service dining to compensate. Normally there isn't room service for the cottages, but they went out of their way to make us comfortable. They brought hot dinner to us where we could enjoy the gorgeous view. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoFan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
4.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
13.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Resort

Property: Heritage House Resort
Address: 5200 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations embody their surroundings as wonderfully as The Heritage House Resort. One of the most luxurious hotels in Northern California, and one of the rare properties located directly on the Mendocino coast, our unspoiled 37-acre sanctuary is a cliffside haven where the extraordinary happens every day. For nearly a century and a half, guests have come to our sheltered cove to encounter a setting so private, with views so dramatic and an ambiance so enchanting that mind and body achieve complete harmony. Following a meticulous five-year renovation, The Heritage House has re-emerged as the perfect blend of romantic seaside charm and contemporary sophistication. This is, quite simply, the Jewel of the Coast. We welcome you to slip away from the busy, everyday world and disappear into ours. From beautifully remodeled rooms with gas fireplaces, private oceanview decks and handcrafted Duxiana beds to locally sourced, farm-to-fork cuisine at 5200 Restaurant & Lounge, nothing stands between you and an unparalleled Pacific Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Heritage House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing