We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and peaceful Inn”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly and peaceful Inn”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Conveniently located a few miles south of Mendocino, run by the most friendly and hospitable folks. Although the facility is a bit dated, the rooms are comfortable and quiet and it looks like the majority of the rooms have a view of the ocean. The facility has a bar as well as a decent restaurant.

There is a golf course on the premises for golfers. My daughter and I (non-golfers) enjoyed walking over to the pro shop and getting a couple of buckets of balls to hit at the driving range before having breakfast at the restaurant. Also recommend just watching the sun set on a rocking chair outside your room.

Pros: Relaxing facility run by great people.
Cons: No AT&T cell phone reception. Free Wifi is quite slow.
Unknown: Whether situation would still be the same during the summer vacation months.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexx_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    157
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
462
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Loved the fireplace and balcony view of the ocean. The restaurant was great, especially sunday brunch. It was close to Mendocino, Fort Bragg and several parks. We took a great walk in the park nearby and saw something that I had never heard of before - pygmy forest!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A lovely place that we will not miss, Anniversary of the year we will be there, I have been to this place more than 6 times, to me that is the heavenly place, we have been to many part of the world, but Mendocino is the place always take my breathe away.

Choosing Little River Inn, as we love the peoples there, the breakfast crew is friendly & awesome! Room is cozy with fireplace. Ocean View and you have many chance to see the wheel. worth for the price, as it is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose the room with Fire place and definitely ocean view... as the scenery is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We know from our lovely first visit to Little River Inn last year, as well as reviews from others here on TA; that this Inn has a pretty good reputation. Sadly our second, longer visit there was ruined. It’s been a few months since then; we’re so disappointed to be writing this review but feel it should be posted here.

We booked well ahead for six nights, so were not spending an insubstantial amount of money when you also include all meals, drinks and room service breakfasts we had whilst there. But we ended up cutting this second visit short by one night.

During this stay there was a succession of parties/groups. We felt bad for the guest next to us, who was not with the last and worst of the groups. His room was even closer to the noisy group/party (who were also smoking on the communal non-smoking balcony). A call to the front desk seemed to put an end to the smoking but those group/party guests just got louder and more inconsiderate. I was glad we weren't travelling with young children as the group/party language was foul. One other night, we were wondering just why a different group in the rooms below ours had to shower at 2.30am and move furniture around while talking at the top of their voices?

We’d only had two nights of uninterrupted sleep during the previous five nights. That last night was the final straw. After complaining to the front desk and being told there were no other rooms available to move to as there was a big group booked in, we knew that we would get no sleep that last night if we stayed. There was however a sign outside on Highway 1 offering rooms there for that night, so we guess the management didn't want to accommodate us as we were due to leave next morning anyway. Whatever.

The Inn did write to apologize after we left and eventually refunded us a small amount.

It seems that if you want peace at Little River Inn, you probably have to pay a lot more for a stand-alone suite elsewhere on the property. It’s too bad as we really liked the traditional rooms with shared balcony. During both stays we met some really friendly guests while out on that balcony and also in the Inn's bar and restaurant.

Over a period of few days, room service breakfast orders were inconsistent - sometimes correct and other times not. Not a big deal in itself but just added to our disappointment. We had surly service at times in the bar as well. A decent single malt scotch in a glass crammed to the brim with ice, is really pointless. We were told in no uncertain terms that they always serve it like that, though we’ve never experienced that anywhere else - or the attitude that went with it. Most other staff we encountered seemed fine and the food was great.

We came away feeling very let down by our second experience at the Little River Inn. The Inn needs to tread very carefully if they wish to retain repeat customers and should seriously re-consider avoiding group bookings to minimize situations like this in future. We can’t imagine we would return to Little River Inn to take that chance again.

Room Tip: Consider picking a stand-alone suite for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

For less than $200 a night, it has just about everything. Totally clean, with a front row view of the ocean. We would recommend you try to stay in the Van Damme section which is 4 rooms with very private decks and unobstructed views of the ocean. Also, a private and very clean hot tub.

Really, one of the best hotel values we've seen in a while. The view alone is worth the money.

We could even park our car right by our door.

Room Tip: Get a Van Damme room. Any one of them. We had room 242. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Spent 2 nights at Little River Inn during our first trip to the Mendocino County. The outside of the property is pretty basic and not very impressive. Reception area is small and old. But it is central to everything Mendocino has to offer.

The inside of the room is better than outside. The room is updated and cozy. Feels very new. Heating works very well which is a huge bonus considering it gets very cold in the area. Every room has an ocean view with a shared balcony and rocking chairs. Really cute!

What I was not impressed with is the bathrooms. They seemed old and dingy. It seems as though it has not been updated for a very long time. Floors were green tile and did not seem clean. Also I noticed the toilet bowl was dirty. Not sure if it was not clean or just old. But I was not pleased with this. You pay a pretty penny to stay at this hotel and I feel as though the bathrooms should be better.

Also, room service ends before 9pm. Which is a bummer. Breakfast at the restaurant was good though. And Sue at the bar makes killer cocktails.

Good stay, just wish the bathroom was more attended to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QBee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, IL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here and we loved it. We visited the Anderson Valley wineries during the day and this was the perfect place to end the day with a bottle of wine and a beautiful sunset. We stayed in room 132. The sunset was lovely. It is a great place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing