We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken coop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My sister and I stayed in the converted chicken coop of the Victorian Farmhouse last year. The entire trip was magical. The food spectacular, the location perfect and the atmosphere to die for! I can't say enough about the people who run the show! Fred and Jo work hard to make every aspect of your stay enjoyable. I recommend this to everyone. Best to take someone other than your sister to a romantic place like this.

Room Tip: The renovated Chicken Coop was fun, cozy and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in this beautiful, tranquil spot. If you're looking to escape the rat-race for a couple days, this is the spot. The rooms at the Inn are cozy and comfortable, and the service is spectacular. Its in a great location too, with great hiking or walks on the beach nearby, not to mention its just a couple miles drive from the shops in Mendocino. We've been to many B&Bs and this place truly takes the "breakfast" part seriously. The presentation and quality completely exceeded our expectations. We'll definately be going back to Dennen's Vicotrian Farmhouse next chance we get to escape.

Room Tip: To maximise your enjoyment of this location, ask for a room that has a view of the ocean from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_M1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is the perfect place to put a smile on your face and warmth in your heart. We couldn't have been more pleased. It was like the warm embrace of a long missed friend. Jo creates breakfasts that are not only pleasing to the stomach,but also to the eye. She and Fred have not missed a single detail. (This is a first for us.) Breakfast delieved to our room made us feel "Special." The property is reminiscent of a gentlier time and has been the subject of a number of artists. One of which was Thomas Kinkade. A great place to escape the hussel and bussel ! In all a pleasant experience that lingers.............Toby and Tom Pacifica, Ca

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this "paradise made in heaven"! We stayed in the Mendocino suite, a 2 room suite equipped with a huge air jet bath tub for two....unbelievable! The hosts, Fred and Jo, are so friendly and knowledgeable about the area, including the best restaurants in town. We were served a gourmet breakfast, in our room, every day and it was so delicious, Jo must be a 5 star gourmet chef! The room had incredible views of the beautiful garden and ocean...we didn't even want to leave our room! We had the best honeymoon ever, thanks again, to the GORGEOUS Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse. And a very special thanks to Fred and JO! You are forever in our hearts!

Room Tip: The Mendocino Suite is incredible ( :
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

- from the antique furniture to the thunderous belch of "Igor," the pull-chain toilet, to the absence of TV and telephone, the stay was simplistic and relaxing. We even gathered the set of Dominos in the lobby and had ourselves a friendly game or two. When was the last time we even took the time to play any game? Breakfasts were exquisite and brought right to our room. Well done Dennon's! Just a side note- we weren't totally out of the 21st Century. We took advantage of the free wi-fi and brought our laptop.

Room Tip: The Dennen's website is accurate. Look at the pictures and descriptions. Very user- friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent two nights at Dennen’s Victorian Farmhouse as we were lucky enough to find a vacancy just a couple of days before our stay.
You can reserve your room quickly and safely from their internet website as we did. The day later Jo called us to inquire about our arrival time and see if everything was OK. The B&B is in Little River, just 2 minutes by car south of Mendocino and faces the beach and coastline. The property also has access to the beach, the owner will show you the way if you ask.
The B&B is a Victorian cottage-style house with a wooden main building and some units scattered in the garden but all adjacent to the main building. They also have an in-site parking area which is very convenient as you’ll probably arrive by car like we did.
Joe and her husband are wonderful! We checked in late after 6 pm and she was so kind as to inquire about our breakfast preferences and prepare a separate vegetarian breakfast just for me. She explained everything about the property and the county and practically created our day itineraries for the next two days. We love Straying at B&Bs and seldom have we found such hospitality.
Every day breakfast changes and is delicious.
They call their property not Bed & Breakfast but Breakfast in Bed as they actually bring it to you every morning so you can enjoy it in the sitting area of your room in all tranquility.
We chose Dora’s room which is in the main building on the upper floor and faces the ocean. Unfortunately in August the coastline is very misty and we were able to experience the view only once but it was a good choice.
The room provides heating and also an electric feather blanket and feather mattress. The house is all built with redwood and this keeps it warm for a long time even if nights were kind of chilly.
Thje property also offers a free telephone in the lobby for local calls and 800-numbers.
By car you can easily reach Mendocino and Albion for good dining restaurants. Ask Joe for recommendations she’s always updated about all latest menus.
Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Upper floors rooms offer ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Dennens is a nice place. It is about a 5 minute drive out of town, which isnt too far - but knowing I had to drive even a couple of miles put a small dent in the evening. This is wine country, after all... If you are looking for a fancy B&B with big ocean views like you see in the movies this probably isn't your place, but if you want a simple, quiet place with good service and a very good breakfast, this could be the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_hermit_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 8 in Little River
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: £150 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing